We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“An old classic, revived” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Trawl Door - CLOSED

Trawl Door
Cuisines: Seafood, American
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level Contributor
59 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“An old classic, revived”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 1, 2012

Food was amazing. Had the Chesapeake sandwich, chicken breast topped with the best crab dip on sourdough bread, and it was fantastic . You can sit on the porch and look out to the water. Beautiful day, with awesome food and excellent service. Recommend you stop by for a great view and amazing food.

    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Patrick R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

22 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    4
    4
    6
    2
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Simpsonville, South Carolina
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Poor food quality; hard working wait staff”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 31, 2012

We had dinner here in June. It was terrible. We were in Oriental visiting as we do each year and decided to try a new restaurant. Bad decision! Fish was overfried, and cold, like it had been served once and then re-heated, grits stone cold, shrimp and scallops soaking in grease. Tuna was marginal at best. The wait staff worked hard but could not make up for the kitchen. When we settled our bill and told them of our total disappointment, they acted like they would adjust on our credit card---well it will be September tomorrow and no credit card refund yet! This is the only time I have ever written a bad review.. Our experience was that awful.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Martha L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Havelock NC
Level Contributor
170 reviews
139 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“Dinner with friends”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2012

We had reservations for 18. We were hoping to have good service and good food as we were considering having our Officers Installation there in October. However we were disappointed. We got our appetizer and salad and then it took a long time to get our main courses. My husbands' Steak was not cooked as ordered. Waitress never came back to see if I wanted more Prime Rib as it was an all you can eat special. Expected more as I had heard so much about it when it was opened it the past. Guess the new ownership doesn't meet what the previous owners had. Don't think we will go back.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank donlar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Good food, slow service”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 11, 2012

The Trawl Door used to be one of the best restaurants in the tiny, picturesque village of Oriental before it closed suddenly several years ago. Now reopened under new ownership, I was looking forward to going back to this fine establishment. We made reservations and were seated promptly. While the service was rather slow, the food was delicious although the portions were quite a bit smaller. We felt the waitresses were tending to more tables than they could handle. While the food was good but pricey and the service was slow, we will go back again in hopes that the service will improve with time.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Packman1984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
39 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“locals iv'e spoken to have been burned. big prices small food”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 20, 2012

took me a long time to get a beer at the outside uncrowded bar during a boat show weekend. i haven't been back as the other resturants in town offer better value and better service. minimaist food high prices have heard more bad stories from locals who don't go back a second time

  • Visited April 2012
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kkatz1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Trawl Door also viewed

Oriental, North Carolina Coast
Oriental, North Carolina Coast
 
Oriental, North Carolina Coast
Oriental, North Carolina Coast
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing