We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food at great prices”
Review of The Silos

The Silos
Ranked #2 of 15 Restaurants in Oriental
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Italian
Restaurant details
WV
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great food at great prices”
Reviewed May 13, 2013

I'm a local and I have no connection with the owners. The Silos was transformed, a year or so ago, from a 'decent' restaurant to a place I eat at at least 2 or 3 times per week. Great lunch sandwiches and dishes and, from what I've experienced, excellent dinners (I don't eat out for dinners as much...). I highly recommend The Silos.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank BizTravelerWv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

134 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    69
    48
    12
    3
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
North Carolina
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Fun place with good food”
Reviewed May 1, 2013

Excellent place with good food and good service. Very good pizza. Don't forget Thurday Night and dollar drafts !

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank dreaming63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hartford, Connecticut, United States
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Yummy!”
Reviewed April 19, 2013

We were looking for an early dinner. At this time of year (mid April) there is not a lot open at 4pm. The gentleman at the local gas station recommended the Silos. It is not much to look at on the outside, but the pasta is wonderfully fresh and flavorful, the waiter helpful in explaining the dishes and offering his recommendations (spot on) and the records on the wall were a hoot.
I would give it a five, but the salad was a little tired and the one small piece of garlic bread was barely buttered.
Overall, I would recommend it. On Wednesday nights they have music and there were several tables reserved, so if you plan to go on a Wednesday you might need one too.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Patti W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FL
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“"Friendly people, great food, a hidden treat"”
Reviewed January 15, 2013

It was an overcast, dreary day but once inside this hidden treasure, we enjoyed friendly company and good food. The nachos were topped with banana peppers, chili, tomato and black olives and were great tasting. The coffee was fresh and the hamburgers, although our party ordered different types, they too were very good. The prices were right and the decor relaxing. We will be going back.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank springblue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vero Beach, Florida
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Don't Pass This Place By!”
Reviewed December 12, 2012

When I first drove by The Silos, I sincerely thought it was a farm supply store. The area is surrounded by cotton and other crops, so it seemed reasonable.

The decor is unreconstructed grain silo. The inner walls are the backs of the outer walls (visually, at least). The decor is music focused, the seating is kitchenette four tops with linoleum and vinyl. "Vinyl," the musical kind, lines quite a few square feet of wall, and guitars of various stripes hover overhead like musical angels waiting in the unfinished rafters. And even more than half full, it was quiet enough to have a non-shouting conversation. This one heck of a pizzeria+++! They also serve other Italian items and have a pantry. We're talking friendly, funky, and scrumptious.

We arrived on "free cheese pizza with each specialty pizza" night. So, we went home with breakfast and lunch. Our specialty pizza was heavily garnished with the items we wanted and thin, thin, thin with limited sauce and cheese -- just the way we like it (but a thick crust is available as well as gluten free). It was a 12 inch pizza with every square inch baked to perfection (stone oven). The Cesar salad was OK, but we are really hard on Cesar salads, and few stand up to our reviews. [Here in Oriental, the best Cesar we had was at "Trawl Door." I would go back for one garnished with shrimp.]

We would definitely come back to The Silos.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank CJW999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Silos also viewed

Oriental, North Carolina Coast
Oriental, North Carolina Coast
 
Oriental, North Carolina Coast
Oriental, North Carolina Coast
 
Oriental, North Carolina Coast
Oriental, North Carolina Coast
 

Been to The Silos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing