We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“best kept secret in Oriental” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Inn at Oriental

The Inn at Oriental
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Oriental
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Inn at Oriental
Ranked #2 of 5 Oriental B&B and Inns
Sanford, n c
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“best kept secret in Oriental”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 8, 2013

My wife and I love making a weekend trip to Oriental, and we always stay at the Inn at Oriental. There is no reason to stay at the other inns, which are more expensive, and have a two night minimum. The owners of the Inn at Oriental are very friendly, the rooms are extremely nice, and they provide a excellent breakfast. No need to worry that the Inn isn't located on the water, because everything in Oriental is within walking distance.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank PJG964
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

49 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    33
    11
    3
    2
    0
See reviews for
13
20
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level Contributor
71 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 17, 2012

Clean rooms, close to all Oriental shops. (limited). do call ahead so proprietors will turn up the AC in summer a few hours before you arrive. Nice people, rates high. Rooms not sound proofed. No pool. Nice shady outdoor areas to eat if you like. Walk to marina. One of only a few places in town to stay. Cute house dog. Homemade breakfast. A little pricey.

Room Tip: Stay here if you're quiet or need quiet. Rooms are not sound proof and are close to each other
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank jonandshelby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level Contributor
34 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2010

Oriental is about the size of a postage stamp - but it's a very cozy little sailing village and the Inn at Oriental is located right in the middle of the "action." The hosts were lovely, breakfast was simple but hit the spot. In 100 degree NC heat, that AC unit was cranking pretty hard and kept the room icy cold and lovely. Great night's sleep, hot showers, and affordable. Can't ask for more.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Angelinas74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raeford, North Carolina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 3, 2010

My mother and I stayed one night and were very pleased. Charming, yet updated, our room with two twin beds was very comfortable. They had new carpet and everything was clean even though we were drop in guests without prior reservations. We were served a full breakfast with our choice of menus and exchanged pleasant conversation with other guests. The inn is located in Oriental which is on the Neuse River. We highly recommend it.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank LynnHendrix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
east coast
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 21, 2010

No one was there when we arrived at 5 pm, yet the check-in time is not until 4 pm so it's not as though we were running late. A barely readable note was left that we should call when we got there and someone would come check us in. We had to wait 15 minutes after an exhausting day.

The room was not clean, particularly the bathroom (hair) and the toilet (stained). The whole house, including the bed linens, smelled of smoke and mildew. No chair except a straight-back so the only way to read was in bed. The mattress was awful with no support whatsoever. We both rolled to the middle with the least little move. We both woke up at 2 a.m. freezing with no blankets in the room except one tiny throw.

The room was very small although the website shows pictures of larger rooms. We were one of two couples staying.

Breakfast was adequate, but not of B&B quality. The coffee was good.

No wi-fi in this B&B, but we did latch on to the B&B next door with no problem.

Owners have a dog who is friendly. Owners were not overly friendly and could be heard arguing in the kitchen as we waited for breakfast.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EarleW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hillsborough, NC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 18, 2009

We recently stayed here for five nights while our 9 year old son attended one of the sailing camps in town. We found the Inn clean and comfortable and the inn Keepers very friendly and helpful.
It is a relaxing Inn in a relaxing town. A very pleasant stay

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank csmcl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 6, 2009

We stayed for the night and found the owners very helpful and friendly. The house was old and could use some updating. But overall it was a very pleasent stay with a good breakfast.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank David_Annette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Oriental
20.1 mi away
Courtyard New Bern
Courtyard New Bern
#3 of 10 in New Bern
4.5 of 5 bubbles 283 reviews
14.0 mi away
Core Creek Lodge
Core Creek Lodge
#3 of 4 in Beaufort
4.0 of 5 bubbles 86 reviews
20.6 mi away
The Captain's Stay
The Captain's Stay
#4 of 11 in New Bern
5.0 of 5 bubbles 75 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.5 mi away
The Aerie Bed and Breakfast
20.1 mi away
Hanna House Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Inn at Oriental? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Inn at Oriental

Property: The Inn at Oriental
Address: 508 Church St, PO Box 726, Oriental, NC 28571-9294
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Coast > Oriental
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Oriental
Number of rooms: 12

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing