We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful, Cozy B&B Stay!”
Review of Inn on Mill Creek

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Old Fort
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Inn on Mill Creek
Ranked #1 of 1 Old Fort B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Pikeville, North Carolina
2 reviews
“Beautiful, Cozy B&B Stay!”
Reviewed October 11, 2011

My husband and I got married and spent the weekend at The Inn. The innkeepers were wonderful, helpful and very accommodating for not only our wedding, but for anything and everything. The place is absolutely beautiful and the place itself very cozy and refreshing. The location was outstanding! We felt like we escaped it all but yet were close to wherever we needed to go. It felt like staying at a friend's home. Lots of places to retreat, beautiful artwork and decor, landscape to admire, and comfy rooms to stay in. We both totally recommend this B&B and plan to go back!

Room Tip: Top floor, Lakeview Room, outstanding view, cozy private porch, nice hideaway within a hideaway. Fo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Amy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

116 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    103
    12
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
17
85
5
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Charlotte, NC
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 31, 2011

We traveled here in June 2011 for a wedding weekend with our big dog Sadie. We appreciated the welcoming attitude towards us and our dog. Not many innkeepers are under the age of 55, but it was refreshing to have Brigette and Dave who were active young adults nearing 40. They were so helpful with us asking a ton of questions on where to go/cycle, etc.

The house is way up a gravel road, which seemed longer than it was, so it wasn't super convenient to go out and back and out and back like we were, but it was quite close to I-40 and Black Mountain. It was a haul to get to Mt Mitchell, but I guess that's the point. I would not advise going up Curtis Creek unless you're camping there! :) The remoteness provided great star gazing!

Anyway the breakfasts were delicious (and I have very high standards!) and the bedrooms were attractive. They had wifi and lots of games, and even a guest fridge which was a nice touch. We were in a dog friendly room which had our own external entrance which was great! The bathroom was plenty large, though I wish the bedroom was slightly larger so they could fit a King sized bed. We just can't sleep in a Queen. It even had a separate room with a big jacuzzi tub!

One night we wanted it to be a little cooler and so we opened the windows to hear the crickets and cicadas. Much to our surprise, the railroad tracks we saw on the map are active and a train came by at 3ish in the morning and the wheels "sang" on the curvy tracks. I couldn't tell if the aliens were coming to get us or playing a symphony. Needless to say, we kept the windows closed the next night. I don't know if any of the other rooms were more insulated from the train noise.

We would definitely return for the service and food and maybe check into a King room.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jewelz22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, NC
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 7, 2011

Wife and I enjoyed our stay here. Location is perfect and feels like you are really away from it all while still being fairly accessible to I-40. This is mostly because it's a fairly rural exit you must take which puts you on a small paved road that quickly places you on a dirt/gravel road where you drive a few miles before getting to the inn. Once you go past a few homes near the interstate, the Inn will be the next dwelling, but not until you enjoy your scenic drive to yourself. The road is well maintained and shouldn't be a problem for passenger cars and larger. We actually drove our Chevy Volt out there with no problem.

The owners were wonderful and shared a lot of info on the local history and hikes you can take right from your rooms doorstep. Their was even some nice RR tunnels you could walk through on your hike. Further down the dirt road is an actual geyser you can see and picnic beside. The location is also very accessible to two local towns with great restaurants and shops - Black Mountain and Old Fort. From there it's less than a 30 minute ride to downtown Asheville. Not bad at all.

The rooms were very clean and nicely appointed. We stayed at the Lake House building which has a nice deck that wraps around a large pond with a dam. Oh and the breakfast was great with a little variety each morning. I appreciated the advice from the owners as I was very inquisitive about starting my own business and they were more than helpful. Would definitely would return to again.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank panzer948
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Carolina
Level Contributor
169 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
Reviewed April 25, 2011

We stayed one night in the Mountain Laurel room - it was comfy, clean and spacious. Breakfast was very nice and plentiful. The owners were friendly and helpful and the location is just so unique - it was a great "one time" experience. We frequently stay in B&Bs/Inns and considering 1)the remote location and 2)the rate/value, I doubt we will return. But we don't regret it and we do recommend you try it!

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LoveBandBs_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
allover
Level Contributor
34 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed February 3, 2011

Dave and Brigette Walters have a passion for travel, nature, history, food and comfort. Their beautiful Bed & Breakfast nestled within the acreage of the Pisgah National Forest shines true. We spent two restful nights in the North Terrace room with our dog Bailey in tow. The InnPugs were very respectful, the breakfast tremendous, and the room restful and homelike. This Bed & Breakfast is not in the center of downtown action and that's why we picked it. We loved being surrounded by nature. Thank you again and again Dave and Brigette!

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wildbirdseed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Asheville, North Carolina
1 review
Reviewed September 29, 2010

Me and my new bride took our honeymoon at mill creek It was fantastic the accomidations were fabulous and the inn keepers were great

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank stevemary97
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 28, 2010

This was our second stay at The Inn on Mill Creek, and we loved it. Dave and Brigette Walters, the Innkeepers, do all they can to help their guests feel comfortable and at home. They are warm, helpful and available but not intrusive. They make provision for people who have dietary restrictions and preferences. They made appointments for two marvelous massage therapists to come to the Inn to give us treatments. We stayed in the Lake View Room again and we love its spaciousness, its view, the king-size bed and its comfort, the seating and lighting available in the room for reading, and the attached screened-in porch. We enjoyed watching the birds and butterflies and gazing at the flower gardens and trees. Breakfasts are delicious and abundant. This enabled us, vacationing on a budget, to need only one other meal each day. The great room was available to us for reading and resting (and pug-adoring if desired). We are grateful to Dave and Brigette for a wonderful week of restoration and the lovingkindness they offered us.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SugarWafer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Old Fort
4.2 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#1 of 4 in Black Mountain
123 reviews
3.6 mi away
Super 8 Black Mountain
Super 8 Black Mountain
#4 of 4 in Black Mountain
501 reviews
18.5 mi away
Skyline Village Inn
Skyline Village Inn
#2 of 2 in Little Switzerland
198 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Asheville - Biltmore East
4.4 mi away
Arbor House of Black Mountain
Arbor House of Black Mountain
#1 of 8 in Black Mountain
227 reviews
4.2 mi away
Monte Vista Hotel
Monte Vista Hotel
#4 of 8 in Black Mountain
199 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inn on Mill Creek? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn on Mill Creek

Property: Inn on Mill Creek
Address: 3895 Mill Creek Rd, Old Fort, NC 28762-7658
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Mountains > Old Fort
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Old Fort
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Inn on Mill Creek is a Bed & Breakfast and a site on the North Carolina Birding Trail, near Black Mountain and Asheville, North Carolina. Located on seven private wooded acres two miles inside Pisgah National Forest, the Inn features six guest rooms, an orchard, access to hiking/biking trails, and plenty of space to relax. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing