We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Harbor Inn is our #1 Choice!!”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Ocracoke
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Ocracoke Harbor Inn
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Ocracoke
Certificate of Excellence
Virginia Beach, Virginia
Level Contributor
88 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“Harbor Inn is our #1 Choice!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 30, 2006

When we want an escape from our beach, we head to Ocracoke. We have stayed at the Harbor Inn 2-3 times times a season since they have opened. Through sunny days and hurricanes, the Harbor Inn has been home with the owners and staff like family. The accomodations are wonderful with a variety of room types to choose from. Exceptionally clean and modern. The view is one of the best in the village. There are decks on all but a few rooms facing Silver Lake. A favorite place is the extensive deck and dock right on the Harbor-wine and cheese in the evenings to watch the sunset and then coffee and complimentary breakfast in the morning. The Harbor Inn also offers dockage and bike rentals. The location is central to walking or biking the village. We always look forward to our next visit-counting the days till then!

  • Stayed May 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank LynnVB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

503 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    353
    108
    27
    9
    6
See reviews for
122
268
8
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (185)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Suffolk, VA
Level Contributor
25 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 132 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 29, 2006

My husband and I just returned from a weekend stay at the Harbor Inn and were very pleased with our accommodations. We stayed in a first floor room, facing the harbor. The office is right on the water, with the inn being across the street. They have a nice deck right next to the office, where you can lounge on the deck chairs and enjoy a beverage and the view...just take your bug spray. The Ocracoke Harbor Inn was built in 1998 so it is new looking, as opposed to some of the other outdated motels on the island. Our room was very clean, with a nice decor, and comfortable beds and linens. We were pleased to have a small refrigerator to keep snacks and drinks cold. Our room has a deck with two chairs to sit and enjoy the sunset. The location is great, with nice views of the harbor and biking or walking distance to the shops and restaurants in the village. They have bikes you can rent, but we just brought our own and locked them onto our deck railing and/or their bike rack. They offer a continental breakfast and we were pleasantly surprised with it. They offer coffee, tea, milk, juice, and water, in addition to fruit, cereal, muffins, and bagels. After viewing other accommodations on the island, we feel the Harbor Inn is the best choice for us and plan to go back soon.

  • Stayed May 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank SaraSuffolk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 18, 2006

This hotel is terrible, there were cockroaches and mouse droppings, the hotel housekeeping was terrible and left wet towels in the room. The hotel does not even resemble the picture, staff is not courteous, a real disappointment!!!!

P.S. continental breakfast is very poor.

  • Stayed March 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Manager at Ocracoke Harbor Inn, responded to this review, May 22, 2006
In response to the post "not to stay at The Ocracoke Harbor Inn" i cannot believe that this person ever stayed with us because all of the conditions listed are totally false.We pride ourselves in cleanliness and helpfull and courteous staff.Our cleamers are constantly praisd for the job they do our goal is for each guest to think they are the first person to have stayed in that particular room or suite.We offer one of the best and varied continental breakfasts on the island and our pictures on our website and all advertising are 100% representative of the property.In closing i belive that the person posting must have us confused with another property because as all of the other posts show it simply cannot be about The Ocracoke Harbor Inn.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 2, 2005

We made last minute reservations to stay from Saturday - Tuesday, we were able to get a suite, which is basically a 1 bedroom apartment. Everything was clean and nice, the staff was friendly, the breakfast was great. Views were awesome especially at night, a short drive to the beach gave me a grand view of the Milky Way, only the 3rd time I have seen it in my 33 years. Can't wait to come back to the island. The harbor inn will be my first choice next time.

  • Stayed July 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 16, 2005

We loved our stay at the Harbor Inn. Beautiful view of Silver Lake, extra clean room and very comfortable, friendly staff,continental breakfast (ideal for children as well as adults), bikes were in very good condition to ride. Watching the boats coming and going from our patio and watching the sun set sitting by the dock area was fantastic. What a view. This was our first time but it won't be our last.

  • Stayed July 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
12 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Ga
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 15, 2005

During my recent tour of the Outer Banks, we stayed at the Ocracoke Harbor Inn. The view from the balcony of the harbor (i.e., Silver Lake) was wonderful. The hotel is convenient to many shops and restaurents by foot. I had a great time.

  • Stayed June 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
13 Thank See_The_USA_2007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 27, 2004

Having lived in Eastern NC all of my life and being crazy about the beach, I have visited the island many times. The unspoiled beaches and warm ocean water are the best! The Ocracoke Harbor Inn is my favorite place to stay. The rooms are nicely decorated, comfortable and clean. The room over the office is perfect, rain or shine - the best view in the village especially from the 2 person jacuzzi tub! The grounds are well-kept and I love the dock and pier, particularly at sunset. The staff is friendly and accomodating. Continental breakfast is a nice touch. My only suggestion is to make the bikes complimentary.

Helpful?
12 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ocracoke
18.0 mi away
The Breakwater Inn
The Breakwater Inn
#6 of 11 in Hatteras Island
4.0 of 5 bubbles 128 reviews
18.9 mi away
Sea Gull Motel
Sea Gull Motel
#9 of 11 in Hatteras Island
4.0 of 5 bubbles 45 reviews
18.0 mi away
Village Motel
Village Motel
#4 of 5 in Hatteras Island
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.8 mi away
Hatteras Sands Campground
Hatteras Sands Campground
#9 of 15 in Hatteras Island
4.0 of 5 bubbles 68 reviews
18.4 mi away
Hatteras Harbor Marina and Motel
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ocracoke Harbor Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ocracoke Harbor Inn

Property: Ocracoke Harbor Inn
Address: 135 Silver Lake Road, Ocracoke, NC 27960
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Coast > Outer Banks > Ocracoke
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Ocracoke
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Ocracoke Harbor Inn overlooks picturesque Silver Lake Harbor in the heart of the Village. Enjoy the scenery from your private deck or relax at water's edge on the docks. The Inn's beautifully appointed 16 rooms and 7 suites provide for a delightful and relaxing vacation surrounded in uncompromising luxury. Enjoy complimentary continental breakfast on the waterfront deck and watch the fishing boats depart for the day. Then kick off your shoes and enjoy the laid-back atmosphere of the Island. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Ocracoke Harbor Hotel Ocracoke

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing