We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location.”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Ocracoke
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Ocracoke Harbor Inn
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Ocracoke
Certificate of Excellence
Hilton Head, South Carolina
Level Contributor
52 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Great location.”
Reviewed May 12, 2009

This inn is right on Silver Lake harbor. Get at least 2nd floor room as the main inn is across the street from the lake. The rooms are basic but very comfortable. Unfortunately, I had quite a few ants running around the vanity.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vinman47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

539 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    385
    111
    28
    9
    6
See reviews for
130
291
9
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (198)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
kitty hawk nc
1 review
Reviewed October 6, 2008

This was our 4th year staying at the Ocracoke Habor Inn. As usual it was a wonderful weekend! The rooms are clean, comfortable and affordable. They also offer an excellent view and a dock for your boat. The staff is friendly and professional. We would and do highly recommend you visit Ocracoke and stay at the Ocracoke Habor Inn!

  • Liked — Clean, boat access, close to everything beautiful view
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank elttihw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Research Triangle Area, NC
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed September 16, 2008

My wife and I have been staying at OHI (and their properties) several times a year for about 6 years now, and really find it the best on the island. The staff is friendly, the lodgings are clean and spacious, and the location is the best on the island. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed April 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Syfr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
Level Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed August 25, 2008

We just got home from a weekend at the Harbor Inn. The lady that runs the front desk was very friendly--check in was so easy. Our room had a private deck that overlooked the harbor. Beautiful view! Very clean room, very private. Just what we needed to relax the weekend away! Breakfast was good, pastries, fruit, bagels, cereal , coffee and juice...what more could I ask for?
The only complaint I had was we were gone from 8 am until 1 pm and had a note on our door to have the room serviced,It was not. On our way into the room at 1 , my husband mistakenly flipped the card on the door and when I realized it an hour later I called the front desk and explained what had happened. I asked for some clean towels and told the very nice man at the desk we were not worried about the room being cleaned. He told me someone would be up shortly. Well, my husband got into the shower, then out...and without knocking, the housecleaner walked right in--and my husband was not fully dressed. I think she should have knocked first.
Other than that our stay was fantastic--I would stay again!

  • Liked — the location
  • Disliked — nothing!
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank beach4meVirginia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed August 9, 2008

We had a good experience with this hotel right from the time we booked and we weren't disappointed when we got there. The reasonably-priced (high season) suite was immaculate with an incredible view (see below), hotel reception staff were friendly and helpful at all times (and my husband is one of those people who constantly calls or walks down for "information"...).

The view from the deck was beautiful - right onto the harbor where pelicans often sit on the jetty posts. Breakfast was way above average for hotel breakfasts and you could eat it outside by the water's edge or stay in the a/c lounge. There were lots of little thoughtful touches around the hotel like outdoor and foot showers, and strategically-placed Adirondack chairs. We were never bothered by noise, either outside or from fellow residents. Basically it was a very easy, (family-)friendly and pleasant place to stay in, in keeping with the ambiance on the island, and we would thoroughly recommend it.

  • Liked — Friendliness, good facilities, ease of access to village, harbor and beach
  • Disliked — Nothing...
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank rr4444
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kentucky
Level Contributor
29 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed July 12, 2008

After much research checking accomodations via the internet, my husband and I selected the Ocracoke Harbor Inn. We were pleasantly surprised when we arrived at the inn and found it to be just what we were looking for. We stayed in a regular harbor front room, and the view was incredible. The inn is in a more residential section of the harbor, but it is still within walking distance to the shops. They have bicycles available for rent, and we enjoyed riding bikes around the island after breakfast. We wanted to stay away from the activity and enjoy the beauty of the island, and this location provided us with exactly what we hoped for. We had a wonderful stay there, and we could not have asked for better service. We arrived around noon and were told that our room was ready, and we could check in. I'm glad I read the web site reviews about the balcony door locking because we made sure we had our key everytime we left the room. I can see where this may be a problem for guests, so the owners may want to post a sign or advise guests of this issue upon arrival to the inn. The room was exceptionally clean when we arrived, and we also had daily maid service while we were there. A continental breakfast was available with plenty of tables and chairs at the dock to enjoy your breakfast while watching the harbor activity. At the back of the inn, there was a patio and grill area for those who wish to utilize this service. We did walk around the island and observe other accomodations, but I think we definitely made the right choice to stay at Ocracoke Harbor Inn.

  • Liked — Cleanliness of room and harbor views
  • Disliked — Everything was perfect
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank LynnKentucky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia, SC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 6, 2008

We spent 3 nights in Ocracoke in late June and stayed at the Harbor Inn. The inn was in a great location, and harbor view was very nice. The suite we reserved was very clean and appealing; large bathroom with separate jacuzzi tub and shower. We did have some problems with service, however, and was less than pleased with our overall stay. The sleeper sofa had an inflatable mattress that did not work properly, and after two attempts, was not fixed during our stay. We were given a room discount for what we were told was a "dispute" about the sleeper sofa; however, management acknowledged the mattress was not working properly! Cleaning service skipped our suite, and we had to contact the office for towels.

First Time Visitors from SC

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — sleeping accomodations
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
5 Thank SCVanessa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ocracoke
18.9 mi away
Sea Gull Motel
Sea Gull Motel
#8 of 11 in Hatteras Island
46 reviews
18.0 mi away
The Breakwater Inn
The Breakwater Inn
#6 of 11 in Hatteras Island
130 reviews
17.9 mi away
Village Motel
Village Motel
#4 of 5 in Hatteras Island
3 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Castle on Silver Lake
Castle on Silver Lake
#3 of 7 in Ocracoke
160 reviews
17.8 mi away
Hatteras Sands Campground
Hatteras Sands Campground
#9 of 16 in Hatteras Island
70 reviews
18.4 mi away
Hatteras Harbor Marina and Motel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ocracoke Harbor Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ocracoke Harbor Inn

Property: Ocracoke Harbor Inn
Address: 135 Silver Lake Road, Ocracoke, NC 27960
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Coast > Outer Banks > Ocracoke
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Ocracoke
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Ocracoke Harbor Inn overlooks picturesque Silver Lake Harbor in the heart of the Village. Enjoy the scenery from your private deck or relax at water's edge on the docks. The Inn's beautifully appointed 16 rooms and 7 suites provide for a delightful and relaxing vacation surrounded in uncompromising luxury. Enjoy complimentary continental breakfast on the waterfront deck and watch the fishing boats depart for the day. Then kick off your shoes and enjoy the laid-back atmosphere of the Island. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Ocracoke Harbor Hotel Ocracoke

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing