We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Awesome brunches!”
Review of Flying Melon

Flying Melon
Ranked #3 of 33 Restaurants in Ocracoke
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Special occasions, Business meetings, Local cuisine, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
New Bern, North Carolina
Level Contributor
108 reviews
79 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Awesome brunches!”
Reviewed June 7, 2014

The brunches here are the best on the island. The sweet potato pancakes with orange butter are moist and yummy and don't even need syrup. My husband had the corned beef mash, which was made with slices of real corned beef on yummy potatoes and topped with poached eggs and just enough Hollandaise sauce to flavor it without overwhelming it. We've had great brunches in their old location, too. Their new building is charming and spacious, and the wonderful carved chickens look perfectly placed in their new home. We'll be back!

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Kathylsails
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

567 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    375
    125
    40
    15
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Best on the island”
Reviewed May 31, 2014 via mobile

After having been very disappointed elsewhere on the island our experience at the Flying Melon was exceptional. A wonderful surprise. With white table cloths, excellent service and wonderful food it's not your typical beach restaurant.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Louise K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia Beach, Virginia
Level Contributor
38 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“The "New" Flying Melon”
Reviewed May 31, 2014

My wife and I recently spent a relaxing week at Ocracoke in May. The last time we were here, The New Flying Melon was being built, so we were really looking forward to dining there again. We weren't disappointed. The restaurant featured five different kinds of fresh daily caught fish. While I'n not a big fish fan, the selections were really well done with creative toppings. Steaks were available and very tasty. We had two appetizers which were outstanding: one was Caramelized Onion Terrain with toast, and the second was a Mushroom cheesecake-both were to die for.

Needless to say, we'll be back for a repeat performance.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank RedskinRod38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ocracoke, North Carolina
Level Contributor
38 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Fantastic brunch”
Reviewed May 30, 2014 via mobile

My mother, her fiance, myself and my daughter all ate brunch at the new location near our house. The building itself is immaculate. Beautiful wood work and spiral staircase. Very attentive hostess and waitstaff. My mother and i had the crab and bacon omellete with potatoes, hers with wheat toast mine with biscuit. The crab was succulent, the bacon just the way i like it, the onion and bell pepper cooked perfectly and all with melted cheese and egg! Potatoes were great. Not a big fan of bread but the biscuit was good too with real butter and strawberry jam. My daughter had the grilled cheese with hand cut fries. She devoured it and i assume she was pleased as she didn't throw it(she's 15 months). My mothers fiance also enjoyed his meal. And the orange juice was also great! Its family friendly as thy have a kids menu, highchairs and crayons to color the paper placements for brunch. It is pricey but well worth it. I had been once before at the old location for a friends birthday and had the smoked salmon patte and it was heavenly. Tables are a bit close together but it adds to the charm of this quante little diner. A must stop!

Helpful?
1 Thank lakilucid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Orange, New Jersey
Level Contributor
25 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Nice breakfast”
Reviewed May 29, 2014

Very good breakfast with fast service with that southern hospitality! French toast is amazing and they are one of the places on the island with a full bar!

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Travelrasta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Flying Melon also viewed

Ocracoke, Outer Banks
 
Ocracoke, Outer Banks
Ocracoke, Outer Banks
 

Been to Flying Melon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing