We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great get away”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Ocracoke
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Cove Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 7 Ocracoke B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
NVA
1 review
“Great get away”
Reviewed August 25, 2007

Such a pleasure, one of the best B&Bs in the area. Felt like I was going to our own OBX house with old friends. Both the hosts and visitors made the visit feel like a reunion. Wonderful breakfasts and relaxing wine happy hour each night.

  • Liked — very nice room and deck, very private and quiet
  • Disliked — no phones
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank JackHNva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

264 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    188
    53
    15
    8
    0
See reviews for
13
210
6
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Michigan
1 review
Reviewed August 20, 2007

We stayed at the Cove for a week and would never stay anywhere else on Ocracoke! Kati and John have created a warm and unique atmosphere at the Cove, and we felt like old friends. When we got in the car to leave, my husband and I were embarrassed to admit that we felt odd leaving the Cove without hugging everyone goodbye. The daily wine reception and cozy quarters for breakfast builds a strong sense of community among guests. It was fun to re-encounter friendly faces as we all traveled about the Island during the day, and then re-joined forces in the evening. Our trip would not have been the same if we had stayed somewhere else.

In addition, Kati and John permit guests to use their refrigerator and microwave, so we were able to store lunchmeat and fruit and make our own lunches -- saving quite a bit of money. We also enjoyed borrowing books and DVDs and stealing from their seemingly-endless supply of Tootsie Rolls.

I literally never heard a complaint from anyone, and I would return in a heartbeat. In fact, I've never seen so many warm and "blissed-out" guests!

  • Liked — Great room, excellent hosts, warm atmosphere
  • Disliked — No complaints!
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank young_and_married
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Georgia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 30, 2007

From the moment you arrive to the moment you leave, you feel as if part of a family. The Innkeepers were informative, sociable and a delight to spend time with. The Inn was clean, well stocked and spacious. The room's private balconies were a great retreat and the views were spectacular. The use of the Inn's bikes helped when charting daily adventures and everything is within walking or biking distance. This being our first trip to Ocracoke, you can bet it won't be our last, and that's thanks to the hospitality we received at "The Cove".

  • Liked — Friendly Innkeepers and guests
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Happy-camper111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Carolina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 29, 2007

First stay at The Cove but won't be the last. Already have another trip scheduled for November's Murder Mystery. My wife and I celebrated our 15th anniversary and purchased the package and this helped narrow the choices of where to eat and what to do to the best on the island. John and Kati made the stay feel like we were visiting old friends.

  • Stayed July 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank TChester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waldorf. MD
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 22, 2007

This is the second time we have stayed at the Cove and we will be back. It is such a relaxing and comfortable time and in such a beautiful place. John and Kati are wonderful hosts!

Stayed July 2007
Helpful?
1 Thank NR3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Carolina
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 22, 2007

I had stayed at The Cove once before but this was the first time with John and Katie as inn keepers. It is a lovely place and rooms are large with balconies. It is very clean and well kept. The hosts are wonderful people. The breakfast is great!!

The only negative I have is the Lighthouse room has constant plumbing problems. Toilet almost always needs plunging. Obviously this is known since there is a heavy duty plunger next to the toilet. I stayed in the Dolphin room on my first stay and did not have this problem.

  • Liked — Breakfast and wine reception
  • Stayed July 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Zoo55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Carolina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 12, 2007

We enjoyed the Cove very much and would retun again. Our hosts were gracious and we would highly recommend the Portsmouth suite.

  • Liked — Peaceful
  • Disliked — can't think of anything
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank travelinRay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ocracoke
19.2 mi away
Sea Gull Motel
Sea Gull Motel
#8 of 11 in Hatteras Island
46 reviews
18.3 mi away
The Breakwater Inn
The Breakwater Inn
#6 of 11 in Hatteras Island
130 reviews
0.3 mi away
Castle on Silver Lake
Castle on Silver Lake
#4 of 7 in Ocracoke
160 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.3 mi away
Village Motel
Village Motel
#4 of 5 in Hatteras Island
3 reviews
18.1 mi away
Hatteras Sands Campground
Hatteras Sands Campground
#10 of 16 in Hatteras Island
70 reviews
18.7 mi away
Hatteras Harbor Marina and Motel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Cove Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Cove Bed and Breakfast

Property: The Cove Bed and Breakfast
Address: 21 Loop Road, P.O. Box 1300, Ocracoke, NC 27960-1300
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Coast > Outer Banks > Ocracoke
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Ocracoke
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
After an hour ferry ride you'll find yourself really able to unwind. Four rooms and three suites, a scrumptious full breakfast (such as Eggs Benedict, stuffed French toast, pumpkin pancakes and others) can make lunch optional. You'll love our fig preserves, made with our very own figs. Our complimentary evening wine and light hors d'oeuvres reception and bikes, together with water and sunset vistas like none before will embrace you. 14 Miles of undeveloped beach, charter fishing, charming shopping or just doin' nothin' will have you coming back! See you soon? ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Cove b&b
The Cove Hotel Ocracoke

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing