We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Getaway” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Cove Bed and Breakfast

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Ocracoke
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Cove Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 7 Ocracoke B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Stallings, North Carolina
Level Contributor
25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great Getaway”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2014

Our second time at The Cove. Great experiences both times. The Plover Suite, with the screen porch, is definitely the best in the house in our opinion. The better views are upstairs but it is so nice to sit outside on the porch without the mosquitos!.

Gracious hosts and excellent service.. Can't ask for much more. We'll be back.

Room Tip: Get the Plover Suite with the porch!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CUTLGTN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

262 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    186
    53
    15
    8
    0
See reviews for
13
208
6
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Roanoke, Virginia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2014

We recently stayed at the Cove for 4 nights. We found the B&B to be clean, nicely decorated, private and very peaceful. Our host, Sharon was absolutely wonderful, very helpful and knowledgeable about the island. Breakfast was always prompt at 8:30 (although we weren't hehe) and she always accomodated our lateness. The breakfast was yummy and something new each morning. The Cove is very charming and we can wait to return!!! Best vacation ever!!!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kim R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 17, 2014

My husband and I stayed at the Cove B&B and before writing this review, I read a few others and I am very puzzled by some of the negatives. I thought the place was charming. Sharon the innkeeper was very pleasant and knowledgeable about the island. She encouraged us to ride the bikes, (haven't rode in 20 years) and the bikes while mayable needing a little update, were servicable and a hoot. Helmets are offered and encouraged as well. The room was nice, clean, bathroom was clean. We stayed in the lighthouse room. Not sure the price quotes I saw in the other reviews, but we paid 155.00 per night (maybe we were still off season), but reasonable considering if I came again, I would not have to bring, beach chairs, beach towels, bikes, etc. Sharon also served wine, cheese, and other neat little appetizers around 5pm. We socialized with the other guests and made a few nice friends along the way. Sharon and John are new innkeepers, so my only advise to Sharon is make sure you introduce yourself when a guest arrives, and try and change up breakfast the next day to something more different, we had an egg casserole both days and the second day I just want not into it. The coffee was ready in the morning and guests gathered downstairs for morning coffee and quick bread and sticky buns before breakfast was served. I would not want coffee in my room, if I did, I would stay in a hotel, not a B&B. The quiet porch is an awesome place to just sit and read a book, or listen to the sounds of the sound. We were able to walk back over to the lighthouse in the evening and took some awesome pictures of the lighthouse at night. All and All it was worth the price, food was good, company and innkeepers were very nice, and Ocracoke itself,,,,OMGoodness, what a wonderful place to kick back and relax. Go to Ocracoke and stay at the Cove, you won't be disappointed.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Beth G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 27, 2014

Last October my husband and I spent a weekend at the Cove B & B and it was not a good experience.
Everything about this B&B, except for the price ( we were charged $ 205 a day for our room ) is cheap. The breakfast was mediocre, the bikes were full of rust and poorly maintained, and our room was decorated with cheap furniture which looked like it had been picked up at a yard sale. The innkeepers were friendly, but the wine they served for the daily wine-hour was disgusting.
I am not overly fussy, but you can’t charge a premium price for a B&B that offers such poor amenities,
On our first day we were chatting with another couple when an older woman walked up and, completely out of the blue, started ranting about how evil the government is. The four of us looked at each other, not sure what to make of this. The woman became increasingly agitated (by her own tirade!) and then launched into a lengthy complaint about the Affordable Care Act.
We took it all in stride. Part of the B&B experience is meeting different people who are almost always pleasant. Inevitably, one day you will run into a fellow guest you’d rather stay away from.
But when we asked the innkeepers about the woman (after she’d left) they told us, visibly embarrassed, that she was the owner!

I have a suggestion for the owner of the Cove: people come to a B&B to relax and enjoy themselves. They do not wish to be subjected to angry Tea Party rhetoric. And if you are hell-bent on discussing politics with your guests, you might want to check their affiliation first.

Ocracoke is a beautiful island and well-worth visiting, but steer clear of this over-priced B&B and its unprofessional owner.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank WeLive2Travel74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fred W, Owner at The Cove Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, May 3, 2014
Thank you for your comments. We realize that those so inclined often allow perception to become reality, and that a good catharsis is the best path to therapy.
We ponder all comments equally, with some seen as more equal than others. People differ in their tastes, for which we are grateful. What we see described here (in a flood of superlatives) is unfamiliar to us, and we are curious a to what or who prompted the writer 6 months after the visit.
Nonetheless, we found food for thought here, and continue to strive for the best possible service to our guests.
It's been an unpleasant Winter, but it is now Spring.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Bern, NC
Level Contributor
56 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 10, 2014 via mobile

I had been a guest of this B and B when the original owners had it. Looks like not a thing has been done in upkeep in the 10 years since, yes they did replace the lovely furniture for uncomfortable wicker, added cheap rugs over carpet and never replaced the wallpaper borders in the room. Even the frig was old and did not make ice anymore. Tacky stuff on the walls and too much clutter. The present managers are a very lovely couple. The owners really should update that place, of course there are not a lot of choices on the island and I'm sure the managers are the cause of the high ratings on Triadvisor. Did I enjoy this visit, you bet I did, would I go back? Not unless they changed

Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
3 Thank Caylinsgranny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fred W, Owner at The Cove Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, May 3, 2014
As we have been the owners since 2002 we find the characterization of The Cove hard to reconcile. There has been extensive improvement on an ongoing basis; we have sold no "lovely furniture" and there never were wallpaper borders, leaving us quizzical. The ice maker was promptly repaired more than a year ago, thus not in play in March 2014. We do agree that the nice, tiny old oriental throw rug, an heirloom memento, was a bit long in the tooth, and it has gone to its reward.
Incidentally, Lola and Vincent.have properly and unceremoniously moved to the mid-West, and their successors are happily in place.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chilbolton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
183 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 28, 2013

We stayed here for one night and met the Innkeepers, all of whom were absolutely delightful people. We met the outgoing Innkeepers and also the incoming keepers, and they could not have been more friendly, helpful, welcoming and hospitable. Good luck to Vincent and his wife Lola, the new Innkeepers.

Sadly though, we would not recommend the B&B itself. In truth, it's the first time we've stayed in an American B&B, so maybe this is typical but, we found we were paying a high price for not ideal accommodation.

Negatives.... Bad plumbing (the sink and bath took so long to empty, you just did not feel you were using clean water as it took so long to empty). There was no coffee making facilities in the room (maybe this is typical of American B&Bs??). Having said that, it was available downstairs but these days in hotels and motels you're generally offered coffee making equipment in your room so, to have to get dressed and go downstairs to collect it, was a bit of a pain! The room was described as 'sunrise' but it was neither sunrise, nor sunset side.... it had windows north and south! Most hotels and motels these days have fridges, so we expected this and, as we were travelling throughout we had amassed a number of items like cheese, wine and olives which needed refrigeration. We were offered the use of a fridge in the kitchen to share with other guests but, again, one would need to get dressed in order to collect items from the fridge!

Our room was a delightful four poster but, the TV had been placed in a non moveable position where one post of the bed was right in front of the TV...!!

The worst thing for me, was the double glass doors to the bathroom! Being double doors, they of course covered most of one wall of the bathroom and directly opposite these double doors were double windows so, anyone naked in the bathroom was on full view from any other occupants of the room...! Not my idea of a relaxed bathing situation! My bathroom time is precious and also very private so, although there were thin see through voiles at these windows, they did not obscure the view of the person in the bathroom!

We had spent the previous night at The Cape Hatteras Motel. The fee for one night at Cape Hatteras was $120 and our one night at Cove cost us $225 for less conveniences and less privacy and for a much smaller bed. So you can understand our disappointment. At Cape Hatteras we had a fridge, private bathroom, toaster and tea and coffee making facilities in our room and a king sized bed!

Pluses at The Cove.... The room itself was delightful and we had a small private balcony. The two exceptionally good things about our stay were that the Innkeepers offered cheese and wine at 5pm, which was a lovely gesture and enabled us to meet other guests, who were interesting and delightful. Finally, the breakfast was wonderful, delicious and plentiful and served by the friendly and most hospitable Innkeepers.

In conclusion..... if you don't mind your travelling companion sharing your bathroom time, and if you don't require a fridge and don't want coffee in your room, and don't watch TV then, give this B&B a go, because it is otherwise a great place to stay.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sofisticat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 11, 2013

We had a wonderful stay at the Cove, it was my husbands birthday so Lola and Vincent were kind enough to upgrade us to a beautiful room. We were only there for one night but it was great. We also enjoyed using the bikes and the afternoon wine and cheese, great little extras. The breakfast was great too.. Would recommend staying here it's a great place, Ocracoke was neat..

Room Tip: The suite was amazing!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank D G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ocracoke
18.3 mi away
The Breakwater Inn
The Breakwater Inn
#6 of 11 in Hatteras Island
4.0 of 5 bubbles 128 reviews
18.3 mi away
Village Motel
Village Motel
#4 of 5 in Hatteras Island
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hatteras Harbor Marina and Motel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Cove Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Cove Bed and Breakfast

Property: The Cove Bed and Breakfast
Address: 21 Loop Road, P.O. Box 1300, Ocracoke, NC 27960-1300
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Coast > Outer Banks > Ocracoke
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Ocracoke
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
After an hour ferry ride you'll find yourself really able to unwind. Four rooms and three suites, a scrumptious full breakfast (such as Eggs Benedict, stuffed French toast, pumpkin pancakes and others) can make lunch optional. You'll love our fig preserves, made with our very own figs. Our complimentary evening wine and light hors d'oeuvres reception and bikes, together with water and sunset vistas like none before will embrace you. 14 Miles of undeveloped beach, charter fishing, charming shopping or just doin' nothin' will have you coming back! See you soon? ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Cove Hotel Ocracoke
The Cove b&b

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing