We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Homey Place to Stay”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Ocracoke
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Cove Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #2 of 7 Ocracoke B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 28, 2013

We loved our visit to the Cove - We've stayed at many B&B's and The Cove is one of our favorites. Chad and Erin make you feel at home and welcome. The breakfast is wonderful, the atmosphere relaxed, everything is clean and handy. My husband and I are very early risers and enjoyed being able to start the coffee when we were ready then sat on the screen porch and played cards and read - A wonderful way to start the day. I recommend exploring the island on a morning bike ride. Chad keeps the bikes in good condition and it's so nice to have them available for use. We were there in 2012 and have our reservations made for June of 2013.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Janie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (267)
There are newer reviews for The Cove Bed and Breakfast
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

107 - 113 of 267 reviews

Reviewed May 26, 2013

It was our first trip to Ocracoke and we wanted to stay at a place that was convenient, comfortable and friendly. Cove B&B was all 3. We originally booked only 2 nights - when we wanted to add a third, our room was not available, so Erin offered us the Plover Suite at a discount. I'm glad we took it because after walking all around the island the first day and then biking around the next, we were too tired to take the stairs to an upstairs room! Our suite had a large bath and a private screened porch and shower. We could also access the refrigerator in the kitchen easily for storing our own drinks (bottles of water provided by our hosts!) The breakfasts each morning were wonderful, and we also enjoyed the 5pm wine get-together with the other guests. Eric and Chad were great hosts, and we had a wonderful stay.Don't forget to check out the Springer Nature Preserve right down the street - a nature trail leading to a wonderful private beach on the Sound.

Room Tip: Plover Suite is great if you don't want to climb stairs and want plenty of bathroom space. We a...
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SusanHinCaryNC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 24, 2013

We arrived at around 3pm and found the whole island unique. The cove was the perfect spot for our stop over from
Hatteras to Wrightsville Beach. My only complaint was we just scheduled one night and would have stayed 2. Poor planning on my part. The breakfast was wonderful and everyone was so nice. Erin and Chad were super hosts and it had a laid back atmosphere. It was close to everything as is everything on Ocracoke. Would love to go back and definitely recommend to anyone.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RandJAsheville
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 20, 2013

We stayed in the Sandpiper room one night in mid May 2013. Very pleasant experience in a quiet section of the island and walking distance to nice restaurants. Breakfast was plentiful and held us until an early dinner.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BillG43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 12, 2013

This was a wonderful place to stay, we wish we had stayed longer than one night. The accommodations were great! Happy hour was fun and got to meet another couple staying. The breakfast was the best part. Erin served eggs benedict with a side of fruit and it was very delicious. It was one of the best meals on our trip in all of the outer banks!! We also enjoyed the bikes they offered and took a spin around town. Our room was clean and very comfortable. Highly recommend!!

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank OhMissO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2013

This was our first bed and breakfast experience and we were thoroughly pleased with the experience! Immaculate rooms! Great views! Wine reception is nice. We got to get to know other guests. Erin and chad are Friendly people! we will definitely be back! Can't think of anything to complain about!

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TwilsonRN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 5, 2013

Our stay at the Cove was a delight. The accommodation was superb and the breakfast was delicious. The inn keepers gave us a warm welcome and made us feel at home. We would have no hesitation in recommending the Cove as a brilliant place to stay on Ocracoke.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GERAINT H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ocracoke
18.3 mi away
The Breakwater Inn
The Breakwater Inn
#7 of 11 in Hatteras Island
134 reviews
19.2 mi away
Sea Gull Motel
Sea Gull Motel
#10 of 11 in Hatteras Island
52 reviews
0.3 mi away
Castle on Silver Lake
Castle on Silver Lake
#3 of 7 in Ocracoke
165 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.3 mi away
Village Motel
Village Motel
#4 of 5 in Hatteras Island
3 reviews
18.7 mi away
Hatteras Harbor Marina and Motel
18.1 mi away
Hatteras Sands Campground
Hatteras Sands Campground
#8 of 16 in Hatteras Island
75 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Cove Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Cove Bed and Breakfast

Address: 21 Loop Road, P.O. Box 1300, Ocracoke, NC 27960-1300
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Coast > Outer Banks > Ocracoke
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Ocracoke
Price Range: $125 - $225 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
After an hour ferry ride you'll find yourself really able to unwind. Four rooms and three suites, a scrumptious full breakfast (such as Eggs Benedict, stuffed French toast, pumpkin pancakes and others) can make lunch optional. You'll love our fig preserves, made with our very own figs. Our complimentary evening wine and light hors d'oeuvres reception and bikes, together with water and sunset vistas like none before will embrace you. 14 Miles of undeveloped beach, charter fishing, charming shopping or just doin' nothin' will have you coming back! See you soon? ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Cove Hotel Ocracoke
The Cove b&b

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing