We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great breakfast”

Pony Island Restaurant
Ranked #7 of 33 Restaurants in Ocracoke
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $4 - $16
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Reservations
Asheville, North Carolina
Level Contributor
414 reviews
341 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
“Great breakfast”
Reviewed September 18, 2013 via mobile

My wife and I each had a Great breakfast of pancakes with ham and bacon. Simple but with quick service on a very busy morning. The Pony has been serving for many years on the island so you get a little Ocracoke island history also. Definitely worth a drop in if you are on this wonderful little island. Prices are very reasonable also. We will most definitely be back.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank WCUcody
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

345 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    169
    123
    37
    9
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Johnson City, Tennessee
Level Contributor
85 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“As near as I can tell, the only "plain eating" place on the island”
Reviewed September 12, 2013

We chose this place because we had a hankering for basic fried seafood plates and this looked like it might come through. It did okay, but was expensive for what you get. I made the mistake of ordering the small plate ($11) because I can't always finish a regular plate and found out that small is one piece of fish (with 2 sides). It looked very lonely on the plate. I snitched some of my partner's clam strips, then felt bad because he had so few left. Next time we'll scratch the fried food itch before we arrive, maybe in Sneads Ferry if we've got time.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank JennyBees
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
Level Contributor
131 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“54th Anniversary - Serving since 1959”
Reviewed September 12, 2013

Best sausage gravy on the east coast! Cheap too. We have been visiting Ocracoke for over 20 years, and the Pony is a great place for breakfast or dinner. They post nightly specials on a chalkboard right inside the door so you can check it out at the beginning of the week and know in advance what might be worth coming back for. In the past, they would could your fish if you brought in for a small fee. The folks are great and most have been there for years. The service is quick and food comes up in no time.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Dolphindelight
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Another Great Breakfast!”
Reviewed September 12, 2013 via mobile

I can't say what dinner is like here since I haven't tried it. However we've had breakfast here many times. Best breakfast on the island! Eggs your way, grits, toast, biscuits, omelets, sausage gravy, all of your fabulous southern breakfast favorites. This is an older building but clean and quaint. Fantastic service and they also do takeout. A good option for quick food before the ferry are some breakfast sandwiches via takeout.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank berry_blossom9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“OK food, server was not pleasant..”
Reviewed September 9, 2013 via mobile

Expected friendlier service! Our server shooked the floors as she stampied throughout..food was nothing special..has potential!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank abcwhitley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pony Island Restaurant also viewed

Ocracoke, Outer Banks
Ocracoke, Outer Banks
 
Ocracoke, Outer Banks
 

Been to Pony Island Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing