We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful dining experience!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Back Porch

Back Porch
Ranked #11 of 33 Restaurants in Ocracoke
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special occasions, Large groups, Local cuisine, Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Newport News, Virginia
Level Contributor
86 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Wonderful dining experience!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 10, 2013 via mobile

We visited Back Porch on Nov 9th after most of the eateries in Ocracoke had closed for the year. It was recommended by friends back home as well as several folks on the island. We arrived early but the tables were already filled. We spent about 30 minutes at the bar enjoying a glass of wine. When a table became available, we ordered sashimi for an appetizer, Caesar salad filled by a broiled seafood platter and fettacinni with shrimp and spinach. Everything was awesome. Honestly, we could ordered almost anything on the menu and we would have been satisfied. The selection was amazing! The ambiance was also very nice and by the end of the meal, we were on friendly terms with several couples. Tonight, we head to Dajio, the other restaurant recommended by the locals.

Helpful?
1 Thank davidahrens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

427 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    244
    94
    56
    30
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Clemmons, North Carolina
Level Contributor
203 reviews
110 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“Very Good!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 6, 2013

We ate at Back Porch in Ocracoke, NC tonight and the food was excellent. My wife had 2 appetizers as dinner... mini crab cakes and crab biegnets and I had sautéed scallops with rice and vegetables.....wow both were fantastic.... with drinks and tip cost was $78.00. Even split an orange crème brulee. Excellent service. They close after Thanksgiving though until spring.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank C and L L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knoxville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
64 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Delightful, delicious, down home”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 1, 2013

My husband and I visited this restaurant in late October when the crowds who visit Ocracoke have largely gone home. We were immediately impressed with how comfortable and inviting the restaurant is. It is indeed a back porch. Our server was sweet and engaging. We both ordered one of their signature drinks to start .... the "Hot & Spicy" martini. It was both. Delicious! Everything is a la cart, which works well for us, as we're usually not big eaters, so we opted against an appetizer. We both went for the special fish of the day, speckled trout which was served with julienne veggies and a Thai lime sauce. Delicious. Bread came with the meal, fresh and slightly salty. Very good. We also had a bottle of wine with dinner. I ordered a desert to go, the Fig Cake with Cream Cheese frosting ..... a must if you eat here. Fig trees are a large part of Ocracoke history and charm. This cake was amazing!!! Light, delicious and I could not stop eating the very generous portion. Love this restaurant. It is a must if you're in Ocracoke.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ann A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
olyphant , pa
Level Contributor
123 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Lovely porch to dine on!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2013

We arrived on a Tapas night. Luke, our wonderful server, explained the choices. We opted to try two as appetizers. The shrimp and grits and carne quisada were excellent. My husband seafood platters was so fresh and the pecan encrusted bourban chicken was really good! Sweet tea was perfect....not overly done. No dessert after this meal!

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank mimikk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester County, PA
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Best meal on the Outer Banks”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 7, 2013

We ate at this restaurant while touring the entire Outer Banks from top to bottom. We enjoy fine dining and for our trip to the North and South Carolina coasts, we found that the dinner at the Back Porch was definitely the best dinner of our trip. Everything from appetizer to dessert was absolute perfection. Make sure you order the sinful key lime pie. This restaurant is upscale without being pretentious, and the relaxed atmosphere almost belies the exquisite food. But visiting Ocracoke is relaxing, and you do not have to do without great meals, so visit this wonderful restaurant.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Honorette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Back Porch also viewed

Ocracoke, Outer Banks
Ocracoke, Outer Banks
 
Ocracoke, Outer Banks
 
Ocracoke, Outer Banks
 

Been to Back Porch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing