We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely porch to dine on!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Back Porch

Back Porch
Ranked #11 of 33 Restaurants in Ocracoke
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Families with children, Special occasions, Romantic, Large groups, Local cuisine
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
olyphant , pa
Level Contributor
123 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Lovely porch to dine on!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2013

We arrived on a Tapas night. Luke, our wonderful server, explained the choices. We opted to try two as appetizers. The shrimp and grits and carne quisada were excellent. My husband seafood platters was so fresh and the pecan encrusted bourban chicken was really good! Sweet tea was perfect....not overly done. No dessert after this meal!

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank mimikk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

428 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    245
    94
    56
    30
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Chester County, PA
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Best meal on the Outer Banks”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 7, 2013

We ate at this restaurant while touring the entire Outer Banks from top to bottom. We enjoy fine dining and for our trip to the North and South Carolina coasts, we found that the dinner at the Back Porch was definitely the best dinner of our trip. Everything from appetizer to dessert was absolute perfection. Make sure you order the sinful key lime pie. This restaurant is upscale without being pretentious, and the relaxed atmosphere almost belies the exquisite food. But visiting Ocracoke is relaxing, and you do not have to do without great meals, so visit this wonderful restaurant.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Honorette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia Beach, Virginia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Still wonderful”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 6, 2013

My wife and I had fond memories of dinner at the Back Porch some years ago. We returned and can report we had a terrific dinner. The Crab Beignets were as delicious as we remembered and it brought back fond memories as it was with this wonderful appetizer that our daughter at age 5 fell in love with eating crab. These were followed by the crab cakes, which may have even been tastier than our beloved beignets. The house salad was fresh and generous. The fried flounder and the fried scallops completed a wonderful meal and were delicious and very generous portions. We were delighted that the Back Porch is still the best restaurant on Ocracoke.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank scstjohn52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great place for Dinner,would definitely dine there again.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 2, 2013 via mobile

Great atmosphere on the back porch. Wonderful dinner, had the seafood platter and it was excellent. I would recommend that everyone dine there at least once during a visit to Ocracoke.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Vincent G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Havelock NC
Level Contributor
177 reviews
146 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“Dinner”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 19, 2013

Went here for dinner after a full day attending the events of Ocrafest. Crab cake appetizer was excellent, even my husband liked it and he never eats crab cakes. Dinner was excellent, food was good and great service and they had one of our favorite wines. We enjoyed it very much and will go back on our next trip over.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank donlar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Back Porch also viewed

Ocracoke, Outer Banks
Ocracoke, Outer Banks
 
Ocracoke, Outer Banks
 
Ocracoke, Outer Banks
 

Been to Back Porch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing