We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect meal !”
Review of Back Porch

Back Porch
Ranked #11 of 34 Restaurants in Ocracoke
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special occasions, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night
NC
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Perfect meal !”
Reviewed September 18, 2013

We haven't eaten here in a couple of visits but we couldn't have had a better experience than we had tonight. We had cordial and attentive service from the moment we walked in until we left. The food went beyond expectations. The drink and food service was timed perfectly. The staff really seemed to go out of their way to make it a memorable experience. We look forward to coming back on future trips.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank catvahine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

458 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    259
    106
    57
    32
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Asheville, North Carolina
Level 6 Contributor
432 reviews
356 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
“Great brunch”
Reviewed September 18, 2013 via mobile

This was our first time at the new location and the breakfast was wonderful. The French toast ordered by my wife had to be shared as it was an excellent dish and others wanted to try it out. The other dishes were great also.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank WCUcody
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berkeley, California
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Our favorite”
Reviewed September 11, 2013

We liked this restaurant best of all those we visited on Ocracoke. Best atmosphere and decent food. Good service and nice bar area.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank margaret0c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swansboro, North Carolina
Level 6 Contributor
139 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“DELICIOUS!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!”
Reviewed September 10, 2013

Not our first trip to Ocracoke, but our first trip to Back Porch. Incredible meal. I had the seafood platter with speckled trout, scallops, shrimp and a crab beignet that was unbelievable. My wife had a shrimp with fettuccine dish with a smoked tequila cream sauce that was out of this world. Our server was attentive and the meal came quickly despite being a little busy. Great dining experience on the "Back Porch!"

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Dennis B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lewisburg PA
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“AHHHH-MAZING!”
Reviewed September 8, 2013

We had dinner at the Back Porch following a wine tasting event at Zillie's ~ It was around 7:30 and not crowded. They offer indoor and outdoor seating. It was a bit muggy and so the mosquitoes were out and about (they keep repellent available for all guests to spray on as desired) but we elected to remain indoors.
I had the seafood empanadas and scallops in butter and cream. Simple and divine. My husband had the Crab Beignets and the burger. Also sublime, but I felt my empanadas were definitely better than his crab beignets...the crab was blended into a mixture and so the texture was more homogenous and not as distinctively crab-like but anyway....we never had a tastier meal and the service was terrific. I had a mojito with dinner and it was well prepared, with lots of lime and fresh muddled mint...truly authentic. Love it. Would love to go back and if they were closer to me here in PA, I'd probably be there every week!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Patricia A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Back Porch also viewed

Ocracoke, Outer Banks
Ocracoke, Outer Banks
 
Ocracoke, Outer Banks
Ocracoke, Outer Banks
 

Been to Back Porch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing