We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Conch Fritters”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Howard's Pub

Howard's Pub
Ranked #8 of 33 Restaurants in Ocracoke
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Bar, Seafood, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Dining on a budget, Bar scene, Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Drinks, Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Norfolk, Virginia, United States
Level Contributor
27 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great Conch Fritters”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 23, 2013

Howard's Pub was a very good lunch experience. Our party of four ordered calamari and conch fritter appetizers. The calamari was very tender, but could have used more seasoning in the coating. The conch fritters were very good. The fried scallops were cooked perfectly. The shrimp salad was filled with a generous portion of shrimp. All of the portion sizes were generous and the food was good. Very friendly and efficient service. We sat on the screened in deck and were very comfortable with the ceiling fans and fresh air! Howard's is also very family friendly.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kelli M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

966 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    335
    345
    169
    72
    45
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Middletown, Ohio
Level Contributor
71 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Great Place”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 21, 2013

My wife and I spent the day on Ocracoke and opted to have lunch at Howard's Pub. The selection of beer is fantastic (Almost overwhelming) It was pretty busy when we arrived and I was told that there would be a 15 minute wait, so I told the hostess that we would be at the bar. After about 20-25 minutes, I went to the hostess and asked how much longer and she replied that she had been looking for us...The bar isn't THAT big! LOL We got our table and I had the fried shrimp basket and my wife had the fish bite basket. It was typical "bar food", okay, but nothing to write home about. Nevertheless, we had a great time.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Rick R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fredericksburg, VA
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Disappointing!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2013 via mobile

We've been here several times over the course of our Hatteras travels. After not having been since 2010, we were sure to hit it this year. It was really disappointing for everyone! The kids meals were really overpriced, service was slow and our server had the personality of a barnacle. My husband got the "make your own seafood platter" (which isn't cheap). His fish was completely flavorless, as was the shrimp breading. The crab cake was just ok. Soooo not worth the price. I got BBQ and it was just eh as well. The bush puppy portion was half of other restaurants, and again, nothing great at all. This was the worst meal we had in the 5 days in hatteras/ocracoke, and the most expensive. The atmosphere and experience are great... And that's about it.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank meseck1029
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lititz, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Always the place to go”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2013

If you ever get to Ocracoke, NC, then you need to stop in and have a bite to eat at Howard's Pub. By far and away the best place on the island to enjoy food, fun, and friendly service. We always get the Buffalo Shrimp as an appetizer, the amount of shrimp has been reduced lately - the only negative. The food was hot and delicious and one of our orders was done wrong and they fixed it quickly and gave us the wrong order free. The staff is great and if you get there during live music night an even better treat. The last time we were there the singers had great voices and played songs that just about everybody knew. Just a tip, if you are going, get there early because the place can fill up quickly in the evening, but it is worth the wait and we've waited in years past because it is so good.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank GW_Hoffman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wood Dale, Illinois
Level Contributor
62 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Excellent Conch Fritter and Burgers”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 17, 2013

We ducked in here this afternoon for a quick beer, some conch fritters and a quick bite to eat. The conch fritters reminded me of the Bahamas. Yes, many places have 'em. Very few can come close. These guys must have a Bahamian chef. Will come back again!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Boathouse98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Howard's Pub also viewed

Ocracoke, Outer Banks
Ocracoke, Outer Banks
 
Ocracoke, Outer Banks
 
Ocracoke, Outer Banks
Ocracoke, Outer Banks
 

Been to Howard's Pub? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing