We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Blackbeard's Lodge
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation but we can search other options in Ocracoke
See available hotels
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Breakwater Inn(Hatteras Island)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Village Marina Motel(Hatteras Island)
View Hotel
Reviews (184)
Filter reviews
184 results
Traveler rating
65
56
23
19
21
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
65
56
23
19
21
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsgame roomsgraceful bakerygreat morningquaint hotelbells and whistlesfront porchmain buildingchain hotelrocking chairsunique placea nice place to staymini fridgeback porchgolf cartwalk or bikememorial day weekendvisited ocracoke
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
113 - 118 of 184 reviews
Reviewed June 28, 2012

We were thrilled to find this place on Ocracoke Island. The staff were all very friendly and accommodating. The front porch in front of our room was very relaxing and a nice place to hang out and meet some of the other visitors. The room is not fancy, but was nice enough for a beach trip. The best part for us was that they had dog-friendly rooms. We like to travel with our miniature dachshund and this was the perfect place. We never heard a peep from any other dogs on the property, but there were several people with dogs there.

The lodge is also located near several great restaurants and the dog-friendly Ocracoke Island Coffee Co. which is also on Back Street. It is easy to walk the village from the lodge. We never went to the pool since we had our dog with us, but there is a pool there.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travelhound3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 18, 2012

Location and staff were great, but rooms left much to be desired. Entire property was poorly maintained, floors and decks were borderline unsafe (sagging/sloping floors and splintering deck), finish of room was like an older rundown motel. Loud window unit AC, small tv with only a handful of viewable channels, dark moldy bathroom, and rippled (not securely laid) stained carpet in our room. There have to be better options on the island.

Room Tip: "Bridge" rooms require lots of stair climbing. Wouldn't be good for anyone with mobility issues or heavy luggage
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Julie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 16, 2012

My husband and I stayed here 1 night 3 years ago and I fell in love with this quaint hotel hidden off the beaten path of highway 12. The rooms are as nice as The Griove Park Inn; clean, comfortable and quiet.
That one night led to a vacation here last year for 10 days and again this year. Chris, Helena and Casey are great, hospitable and informational.
The coffee smells great in the mornings. Bikes are available and we used them everyday to exercise.
I LOVE THIS PLACE!!!

Room Tip: We like the back rooms. Less traffic.
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nola R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 24, 2012

Quirky is the right word. Every room has a different design, set-up, and decor. We stayed in two different rooms, by choice. The room we wanted was booked the first night but they moved our bags for us to the second room for the next night. Both were nice rooms, just hadn't been really modernized. They do have mini-fridges in them and the TV's weren't that great, but who goes on vacation to watch TV? The hotel is located off the main road, so little traffic, and you can't see the water from it either. The floors were warped, and you had to go outside on the second floor to get to the third, but that just made it more interesting. We stayed in 'Bridge 2' the first night, and if you're over six feet tall, this is not the room for you. You might hit your head! Beautiful wood paneling over the entire room, but only one small window in the corner. I did sleep well in there as I like it dark. The second night we stayed in 'Bridge 3'. It was a more secluded room with french doors, and a single person tub with jets in it. Much larger, roomier and brighter than the first. The staff was very nice and helpful. We rented bikes from them, $3 an hour or $15 for the day, best way to get around the village. Just make sure to bring your bug spray. It was only April and the mosquitos were out strong already. Overall, I would stay here again.

Room Tip: Look at the description & photos of the rooms first. They are pretty accurate.
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sharon M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 21, 2012

It was bad timing more than anything, but we were there the same weekend as a wedding party that rented out most of the hotel. The walls are thin, and some of the rooms on the second floor have windows that open right to the patio. It was alright for the price though, and I'm sure if we had sprung for more than the queen room it would have been nicer.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joshua C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews