We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Great place at a great price” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Edwards of Ocracoke

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Ocracoke
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Edwards of Ocracoke
Save
You added Edwards of Ocracoke to your Saves list
Ranked #3 of 9 Hotels in Ocracoke
Certificate of Excellence
Shelby, North Carolina
Level Contributor
20 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great place at a great price”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

We stayed in the efficiency room. It was perfectly clean and comfortable. There are no hotel or motel chains on Ocracoke so individually owned places like this are all there are to choose from. Edwards was completely fuss-free and quiet. The 10pm to 7am posted quiet times seemed to be fully complied with by the other guests. The shower was not "too small for a child" as one reviewer claimed. The TV is small and hard to hear from its location across the room but that is nit piking for a place that I can say little against. All that and we only paid $90 a night in season. You can't really ask for more. I would definitely come back, but I would rent one of the rooms with a frig and microwave because the restaurants on Ocracoke were very hit and miss. (see my other reviews). The only other thing I can remember wishing for was a place to prop my foot in the shower so I could shave more easily. Again, nit picking to even think of any complaints. There's really no reason to even consider another place to stay.

Room Tip: If you do choose an efficiency room, note the lack of any appliances. No iron, hair dryer, coffee po...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Romelle B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

191 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    135
    39
    9
    3
    5
See reviews for
38
103
16
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Greensboro, North Carolina
Level Contributor
70 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013

We rented a cottage(#19) for a week and really loved it. Our cottage was like a small apartment with 2 bedrooms, bathroom, living room with dining area and kitchen. If you stay in this unit(not sure about the other units), bring fans for the bedrooms as the A/C doesn't quite cool off the bedrooms like we wanted. Other than that and the very small shower it was wonderful for us(2 adults 2 kids). We really loved the very large screened porch on the front of our unit. There was also a grassy area in the rear of the units to play games or sunbathe. Underneath our unit we parked the truck and there was a hammock and a clothes line for us to use. There was an excellent restaurant across the street(Back Porch Restaurant). The cottage was decorated with 60-70's style furniture which was neat. The beds were very comfortable, which we did not expect. We will definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Deborah E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
newcastle uk
Level Contributor
24 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2013

Hi

My wife was a little put of by the basic retro nature of this place but by the third night she was willing to throw away a booked ferry to stay another couple of nights..

We stayed in a queen bungalow which was very clean and pleasantly furnished with a 60's feel to it there was no refrigeration but plenty of ice either gratis or for $1 kept our drinks cool. The A/C was more than adequate.

The family were friendly and promptly came to my rescue when I could not open the bathroom door (small button which can be pressed when the door is open will lock it when it is closed)

altogether a nice place to spend a few days.

I would recommend the back porch for dining although we were disappointed with Dajio and the Pizza at Jason's. There was good entertainment every night we were there at the local bars and the fried oysters at Howards pub are great for a snack.

Room Tip: all looked good to me
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank splodgie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Level Contributor
48 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

We stayed in one of the bungalows and had a pleasant evening. They are very " 50's motel", which is fun, very, very basic and super clean. The bed and remodeled bathroom were great. In this price catagory you will be very pleased. At other places when you pay such a reasonable price you are afraid of what you will get--not so with Edwards. The owners obviously take good care of this older property, and most importantly, keep it very clean.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank kjoann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blacksburg, VA
Level Contributor
24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2013

Many years ago I passed through Ocracoke during a mosquito invasion and could not even get out of the car. Now, I've just spent two nights at Edwards and can't wait to go back! I stayed in one of the bungalow rooms. It was spotlessly clean and delightfully furnished with vintage 50s era furniture with super comfortable bed. The bungalows are "no frills", i.e. no coffee maker, hair dryer, pool, etc. however there is a TV, which you won't really need.

Head out in the morning for a three minute stroll to Ocracoke Coffee and bagel to get ready for what the day brings!

Room Tip: The bungalow is the best value, especially in the off season. There are other types of units with mo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank LittleSpeckledTrout
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
McDonough, Georgia
Level Contributor
52 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2013

What a gem! We looked at several of the bed/breakfast inns on the island, but who needs a B&B when you can fix your own breakfast and enjoy it on your screened porch or out in the beautiful little courtyard -- and for about half the price! Cleanest place I have ever stayed -- absolutely spotless, and an incredible value for the money. Cottage had 2 full-size beds, flat-screen TV, well-equipped kitchenette w/full-size fridge and stove, and bathroom w/rain-head shower. Cottage had screened-in porch and opened into courtyard with comfortable chairs, picnic table and benches, and wonderful wooden swing hung beneath a shade tree. Have bicycles and charcoal grills for rent. Office staff were extremely friendly and helpful. Very convenient location. Just a wonderful, comfortable, relaxing place loaded with lots of charm and character. SO much nicer than the standard hotel/motel.

Room Tip: We stayed in their "efficiency courtyard room", which was absolutely perfect, but they off...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank aburarcm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amissville, Virginia
Level Contributor
28 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013

If your looking for more then just a room at a room price ask for this cottage . Has 2 small bed rooms ,tub in the bathroom not just a shower stall a nice living area ,a porch and a yard you can relax in . I was just there it is very nice. I will ask for that place whenever I go.

Room Tip: Ask for the Sunny Cottage
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank fish_oinc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ocracoke
17.6 mi away
The Breakwater Inn
The Breakwater Inn
#6 of 13 in Hatteras Island
4.0 of 5 stars 124 reviews
18.3 mi away
Sea Gull Motel
Sea Gull Motel
#10 of 13 in Hatteras Island
4.0 of 5 stars 41 reviews
17.5 mi away
Village Motel
Village Motel
#5 of 6 in Hatteras Island
4.0 of 5 stars 2 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.0 mi away
Hatteras Harbor Marina and Motel
0.0 mi away
The Burrus House Inn
The Burrus House Inn
#6 of 10 in Manteo
4.5 of 5 stars 72 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Edwards of Ocracoke? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Edwards of Ocracoke

Property: Edwards of Ocracoke
Address: 216 Old Beach Road, Ocracoke, NC 27960
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Coast > Outer Banks > Ocracoke
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 9 Hotels in Ocracoke
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Edwards of Ocracoke offers a classic island facility located in the heart of Ocracoke Village and is convenient to shops, restaurants and Silver Lake Harbor, on a quiet, less traveled street. The accommodations are modern, exceptionally clean and very reasonably priced, while retaining the original charm and ambiance of the quaint fishing village atmosphere. Edwards offers a variety of options for vacationers and travelers: single rooms, double rooms, apartments and cottages which can accommodate couples and families. The facility is family-owned and operated and provides charming accommodations in a tranquil setting. It's like going back in time - you can relax and enjoy life like you're suppose to. We welcome you to our vintage facility and hope that you discover the charm. Our guests like to walk and bike to shops and restaurants or gather outside in the courtyard to visit, grill, barbecue or clean their fish catch. Many of the guests return annually to their favorite units and often bring others to share in their vacation tradition with us at Edwards of Ocracoke. The facilities consist of 8 motel rooms, 3 efficiency rooms, 6 cottage apartments and 2 private cottages. Most have private screened porches while others offer open porches and decks, providing a room outdoors as a part of the relaxed atmosphere that is offered at Edwards. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Edwards Of Ocracoke Hotel Ocracoke
Edwards Hotel Ocracoke
Edwards Motel Ocracoke

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing