We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Thanks for a Terrific Thanksgiving Get Away!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Edwards of Ocracoke

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Ocracoke
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Edwards of Ocracoke
Ranked #3 of 9 Hotels in Ocracoke
Certificate of Excellence
Garner, NC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Thanks for a Terrific Thanksgiving Get Away!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 8, 2012

We love Edwards of Ocracoke. The owners and staff were both friendly and helpful. Our most recent vist was over the Thanksgiving holiday. My son's single room was clean and very cozy with a surprisingly large bathroom. Our efficiency room was also clean and spacious, and it had everything we needed to prepare family meals (full size stove/oven, fridge, and table). We really love the 50s decor (lamps, clocks, melmak mixing bowls), the screened porchs, and the courtyard area with fantastic seating under live oaks and Carolina jasmine to toast the days end. The beds are firm enough for a great nights sleep. Edwards' location is off the main highway, so it's quiet and away from the ferry traffic. And the price is RIGHT compared to other places on the island. We have been coming to Ocracoke for holidays and family vacations for more than 40 years - camping and staying in a variety of the older motels. Now we have found our home away from home at Edwards of Ocracoke.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank MWPAnnie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

200 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    141
    42
    9
    3
    5
See reviews for
38
108
18
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Monroe, North Carolina
Level Contributor
49 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 22, 2012

We took the ferry from Hatteras and arrived late. I hadn't called to tell them but they had a note for us with our room keys! It is not a fancy hotel but a family run place with small cottages. We were told in Nags Head that there would be no cell phone service or wifi at the hotel but that wasn't true. We had great signal for both!

Shopping and restaurants are close by. Well, it's a small island! Lol

I also went for a 10 mile run in the morning and felt very safe.

Great place to stay! Our friends stayed in a cottage near us and they had a small kitchen which was convenient. I'd definitely recommend staying here! You won't be disappointed!!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank kbrown7k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 8, 2012

Stayed two nights. Was like a motel from the 60s. Clean. Owners were nice and helpful. Mattresses were firm giving a good nights sleep. Will definitely stay here again. Direct TV. WiFi. Screened porch. Three beds in our room. Refrigerator.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TA50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kitty Hawk, North Carolina
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2012

Again...clean room, friendly welcoming service! Simple...we look to get away from it all and it's so easy to slip into island as soon as walk in to the office at check-in. We LOVE Edwards! Wont stay anywhere else in Ocracoke!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bnhoward
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hope Mills, North Carolina
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 27, 2012

Edwards of Ocracoke is a Motel that takes you back to the 1950' & 1960's with updated rooms. The motel has a good location one street back from the harbor and is in easy biking distance to all Ocracoke activities. We have stayed at Edward's four times and every time the rooms have been clean and the furniture has been in good condition. The rooms are "upbeat" not having the depressing feeling that an all cedar wood room has, that are common in this area. The room cost is very reasonable compared to other motels in the area. It is one street back from the harbor that may account for some of the price reduction. The Bungalow room is our favorite, but note some only have a shower. Very nice motel that we recommend.

One note: We made a reservation to stay on the Oct-26/27 weekend and paid one night's deposit. We understood that if we cancelled we would lose our one night's room deposit. A tropical storm headed up the coast and Edward's issued an e-mail message warning us that the storm was approaching and that we should have a Ferry reservation, we appreciated the head's up. As it turned out, the storm was going to be pretty bad and the island may be isolated for a couple of days, so we canceled our reservation and lost our deposit. Trip insurance may have covered this situation so you should consider the trip insurance in future stays. But a note to remember, my sister was also staying on the island but at the Harborside Motel. The Harborside sent her an e-mail that requested her not to visit this weekend because of the weather and refunded her deposit even though she did not have trip insurance. They also allowed her to make a one night's reservation instead of the two night's reservation that Edward's required. The Harborside just asked her to return to their motel on her next stay. This is more like the family owned motels that we are used to on the outer banks. Just one thing to consider when scheduling your next visit.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Hatterasjoe1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jtgonzo
Level Contributor
39 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 10, 2012

We try to make a trip to Ocracoke once or twice a year, and Edward's is our current favorite place to stay. It is a short walk to Ocracoke Coffee and to the village. We stay in one of the efficiencies and cook some of our meals in the room. The rooms are simple and clean, with a small screened porch and a courtyard with adirondack chairs and a picnic table. And the price is very reasonable.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank jtgonzo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
88 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 242 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 25, 2012

Positives were huge room, great location for walking into town (more on that later), nice parking, natural, almost park, setting, nice people at desk, good bed, great lighting, and shower was a great one. Negatives are a tiny TV (really a 17" or so computer monitor), no shampoo which is surprising for this type of place, but the main problem in addition to the very small TV screen is that IF it rains, it floods the streets everywhere. That is not this motel's problem but you pay for it I can assure you. Apparently, Ocracoke has decided that evaporation is good enough to dispose of rain and they are horribly wrong. Even the next morning after no rain during the night, the streets whether it be by Edwards, Blackbeard, or Anchorage had water standing from sidewalk to sidewalk (oh yeah, they don't have much in sidewalks either).

Room Tip: Once again, pray it doesn't rain because Ocracoke has 0 drainage!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank tfberry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ocracoke
17.6 mi away
The Breakwater Inn
The Breakwater Inn
#6 of 12 in Hatteras Island
4.0 of 5 bubbles 128 reviews
18.3 mi away
Sea Gull Motel
Sea Gull Motel
#11 of 12 in Hatteras Island
3.5 of 5 bubbles 43 reviews
17.5 mi away
Village Motel
Village Motel
#5 of 6 in Hatteras Island
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.0 mi away
Hatteras Harbor Marina and Motel
Show Prices

Been to Edwards of Ocracoke? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Edwards of Ocracoke

Property: Edwards of Ocracoke
Address: 216 Old Beach Road, Ocracoke, NC 27960
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Coast > Outer Banks > Ocracoke
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 9 Hotels in Ocracoke
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Edwards of Ocracoke offers a classic island facility located in the heart of Ocracoke Village and is convenient to shops, restaurants and Silver Lake Harbor, on a quiet, less traveled street. The accommodations are modern, exceptionally clean and very reasonably priced, while retaining the original charm and ambiance of the quaint fishing village atmosphere. Edwards offers a variety of options for vacationers and travelers: single rooms, double rooms, apartments and cottages which can accommodate couples and families. The facility is family-owned and operated and provides charming accommodations in a tranquil setting. It's like going back in time - you can relax and enjoy life like you're suppose to. We welcome you to our vintage facility and hope that you discover the charm. Our guests like to walk and bike to shops and restaurants or gather outside in the courtyard to visit, grill, barbecue or clean their fish catch. Many of the guests return annually to their favorite units and often bring others to share in their vacation tradition with us at Edwards of Ocracoke. The facilities consist of 8 motel rooms, 3 efficiency rooms, 6 cottage apartments and 2 private cottages. Most have private screened porches while others offer open porches and decks, providing a room outdoors as a part of the relaxed atmosphere that is offered at Edwards. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Edwards Of Ocracoke Hotel Ocracoke
Edwards Hotel Ocracoke
Edwards Motel Ocracoke

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing