We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Clean and affordable rooms with Southern hospitality too!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sand Dollar Motel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Ocracoke
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Sand Dollar Motel
Ranked #5 of 9 Hotels in Ocracoke
Certificate of Excellence
Chesapeake, Va
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Clean and affordable rooms with Southern hospitality too!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 28, 2013

Been going to the Sand Dollar for over 13 years and will go back again. The rooms are clean, well maintained and nicely decorated, it has a nice pool (although small,) and the staff is very laid back and personable. I had about 4 visits over the years and have never had a bad experience.
This motel is located off the main drag in a residential area so you'll have less tourist noise. WIthin walking and biking distance to everything if you chose to party it up and not bother driving. A really nice home-y Mom and Pop place that won't disappoint!

Room Tip: Rooms set away from the front of the motel are quieter. The studio apartment space located on the fi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank MIMIZ H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

111 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    70
    30
    8
    3
    0
See reviews for
38
46
6
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
dayton
Level Contributor
74 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 30, 2012

We had never been to The Outer Banks. Everyone was so friendly in welcoming us and telling us about the different restaurants. We had a lovely, clean suite - perfect for relaxing and reading. While it was not "on the beach" the location is nice and you feel as if you are in a neighborhood. A walk takes you wherever you want to go. We definitely hope to return - and for more than 3 days next time.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Viaggiatore0607
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 29, 2012

Very very clean, we enjoyed the pool, walking distance from good restaurants, the owner gave us good advice about the best restaurant for lunch or for dinner,we are going back next year.
make sure to reserve. Comfortable and nice decoration.
Suzanne and family

Room Tip: The night we were there it was really quit, not a place to party
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Suzanne L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tennessee
Level Contributor
26 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 27, 2012

I had never been to Ocracoke before but I would like to come back. The room at the Sand Dollar was a good value for the area. The room was clean and neat. The motel is located in a residential area but is close to activities. I had a small problem with the hot water in the sink. There appeared to be air in the line.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank JayTennessee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 2, 2012

Took an adventure to Ocracoke for the first time after staying in a timeshare resort in Kitty Hawk all week. Hope to return and would stay at Sand Dollar Suite with a pool again and again. Very private front porch, extremely spacious living room, full kitchen, dining room, king size bed, huge bathroom. Very clean and quite charming. Highly recommend. Planning to come off season too! Start a new tradition.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank cindyhoots
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Egypt, New Jersey
Level Contributor
57 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 28, 2012

This lovely little motel on a side street in Ocracoke Village is perfect for a family on a budget. The manager, Roger Garrish, is a nephew of Irvin Garrish (whom the main road in Ocracoke is named for), so you know you are in the safe hands of a local man with deep roots in the Village. Roger is Southern hospitality personified, a most genial, helpful and gracious host.

Our room was #11, the center room on the top floor. Although this is by no means a new facility, our 2-double bed room was spotlessly clean with a newly renovated bathroom. It had beautiful knotty wood paneling reminiscent of a hunting lodge, something you won't find in a chain motel. At a little over $100 per night, it is a real bargain in overpriced Ocracoke.

We had a scary, scary moment during the night when out of nowhere, a "tornado warning" was issued for Ocracoke Village after a violent storm. Our room was so quiet, we didn't even realize the storm was that bad until we got a text message directing us to hunker down!!Thankfully, the tornado fizzled out, and the next morning, everyone had a "tornado story". Roger confirmed that this was the first time in his memory that a tornado had threatened Ocracoke! He agreed that we are living in some strange times, weather-wise!!

Our only regret was that we only had one day to spend in Ocracoke, and so we didn't get a chance to take a dip in the adorable little pool in the back of the hotel. I did check out the bathers and can confirm that there was not a thong in sight. ; )

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MrsPine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NC
Level Contributor
48 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2012

We love staying here when we go to OBX. It has a cozy little but CLEAN pool. And we love to stay upstairs so we can over look the pool and hand out on the deck and grill. Great price and they are so friendly. Great location and not over priced at all. They have Wi Fi too. Lately this hotel has been very busy so make reservations ASAP. Seems like OBX best kept secret has gotten out! This is one of the cutest, and CLEANEST places we have been. Yes it is older but seriously, there is no Hampton Inn on the Island.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank leavingcomments
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ocracoke
17.6 mi away
The Breakwater Inn
The Breakwater Inn
#6 of 12 in Hatteras Island
4.0 of 5 bubbles 128 reviews
17.5 mi away
Village Motel
Village Motel
#5 of 6 in Hatteras Island
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2 reviews
17.9 mi away
Hatteras Harbor Marina and Motel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sand Dollar Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sand Dollar Motel

Property: Sand Dollar Motel
Address: 70 Sand Dollar Rd., Ocracoke, NC 27960
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Coast > Outer Banks > Ocracoke
Amenities:
Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 9 Hotels in Ocracoke
Number of rooms: 12
Also Known As:
Sand Dollar Hotel Ocracoke

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing