We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable and great rates”
Review of Pony Island Motel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Ocracoke
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Pony Island Motel
Ranked #3 of 9 Hotels in Ocracoke
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 2, 2014

Stayed in early April on our way back north. Very dependable motel, clean with good beds. Got two rooms with kitchenette facilities that were very useful. Location is great, easy to get around village from there. Will plan on staying there again.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lesley A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (203)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

89 - 95 of 203 reviews

Reviewed April 30, 2014

We stayed here in March and liked it a lot and will definately be back. The room we had was on the second floor, like others have said it was very clean and spacious. We like to look for shells on Ocracoke so we don't spend much time in the room and this was perfect. We had stayed at another motel and it was nice but we did feel like the room was verrry small and it felt cramped. I am a light sleeper and had no problem sleeping here and could not hear any noise from other rooms. Good experience with the people that worked here and very easy to check in and out. I really like the beaches at Ocracoke and look forward to coming back.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank frenchies_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 29, 2014

We planned a quick trip over to Ocracoke, however the weather turned rough and the ferry stopped running for the night. We had to rent a room. We stopped at the first hotel we came saw. The desk clerk was very pleasant and informative. The room was very clean. There was a small refrigerator in the room. Very reasonable rates at $75 a night.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ltlmrmd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 23, 2014

My family of four stayed in the new section of the 2nd floor. We were able to check-in early. The room was clean and spacious. Parking was right out front. We did have to walk-up steps, but they were wide and well constructed.

We rented bikes from the motel, which may not have been the best choice. They had seen better days--we were told they were scheduled to be replaced soon. The pillows were a bit flat and no extra's were provided. We didn't ask of more pillows.

The location of the Pony is ideal. Its close enough to the harbor and shops on back road, while just a short walk or bike ride from the grocery store, Howard's Pub, and other destinations on the way out of town.

I hadn't been to Ocracoke in almost 10-years and golf carts have become very popular. I prefer the bikes and wish the town would limit the number of golf carts. I can't imagine what its like during the summer.

Room Tip: We stayed in the new section, on the 2nd floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank agabuxton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 20, 2014

Rooma are always clean and they will always go out of their way for you! Also have bikes you can rent. Yes the pony is a little more than some on the island but you get what you pay for. They also have a pool for the days you don't want to go to the beach! I have never had an bad stay at the pony and you should not!

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank josh95350
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 20, 2014

Enjoyed the stay. We were there in the off season so the rate was great. The room was very adequate, as we just needed a place to sleep and shower. It was clean, updated bathroom. Slept great. They had bicycles, would have liked to have got to use one of them, but ran out of time.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ce I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 14, 2014

We stayed here in Dec. Will have to agree that the walls are a little thin. Plus anyone moving early on the porch did make a lot of noise.We had a full Kitchen in our room. Room was very clean. Staff were only there part time due to it being winter.They do have a newer wing that has no porch.

Room Tip: Ask for the section with out the pouch
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cody2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ocracoke
17.7 mi away
The Breakwater Inn
The Breakwater Inn
#7 of 11 in Hatteras Island
136 reviews
18.5 mi away
Sea Gull Motel
Sea Gull Motel
#10 of 11 in Hatteras Island
52 reviews
0.4 mi away
Castle on Silver Lake
Castle on Silver Lake
#3 of 7 in Ocracoke
167 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.6 mi away
Village Motel
Village Motel
#4 of 5 in Hatteras Island
3 reviews
17.6 mi away
Hatteras Harbor Marina and Motel
17.4 mi away
Hatteras Sands Campground
Hatteras Sands Campground
#8 of 16 in Hatteras Island
77 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pony Island Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pony Island Motel

Address: Highway 12, 785 Irvin Garrish Hwy, Ocracoke, NC 27960
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Coast > Outer Banks > Ocracoke
Amenities:
Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 9 Hotels in Ocracoke
Number of rooms: 41
Also Known As:
Pony Island Hotel Ocracoke
Pony Island Ocracoke

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing