We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! You come to us for reviews — now you can book your hotel right here on TripAdvisor.

“Great stay!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Pony Island Motel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Ocracoke
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Pony Island Motel
Save
You added Pony Island Motel to your Saves list
Ranked #4 of 9 Hotels in Ocracoke
Certificate of Excellence
Elizabeth City, North Carolina
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great stay!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2013

We stayed one night in April 2013. Rooms are clean, comfortable, and very affordable. Will definitely stay here again. The front desk staff were very pleasant and offered dining suggestions. Close to Howard's Pub.

Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Patsy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

175 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    87
    57
    24
    7
    0
See reviews for
68
62
6
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Kill Devil Hills, North Carolina
Level Contributor
59 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

We stayed there in April, 2013. This place is a gem. Clean rooms, nice beds and easily accessible to Howard's Pub, Jason's restaurant and Downtown. We rented Bicycles w/locks at the hotel and rode them for 24 hours for $10 each. The front desk doesn't have any of the modern conveniences, but our check-in was not hindered and the staff actually wrote information on paper. We were on the third floor and there was no elevators, so we got plenty of exercise. Great value, and friendly people.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank David W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodridge, Illinois, United States
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

If you are looking for a fancy place,this is not it. If you are looking for a clean, friendly, affordable place to spend a few days with a pool this is it. Check in was a breeze, pool was nice, location was great. If I was in Ocracoke for a few days I wouldn't hesitate to stay here again.

Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Ava83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hickory, North Carolina
Level Contributor
25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

We stayed here in April, 2013; and were delighted with the cleanliness and modern updates to the efficiency unit we had. The first night, there were guests nearby us who were being noisy after hours; and we called the owner at the number given. She phoned them and explained the noise restrictions; then, actually physically went by their room to be sure they complied. We were impressed that the hotel cared about guests in that manner! It's a great place and the staff member we met, Candy, couldn't have been friendlier or more helpful. Highly recommend this place to you!

Room Tip: The office side efficiency we stayed in was a wonderful value for the money. So clean, too...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Peg126
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essex, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
131 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2013 via mobile

Just got off the ferry after a long drive and pulled into pony island! Nice small p.ace in the middle of everything. Nothing fancy friendly clean walking distance to everything g we needed. Good water pressure, lots of hot water. Towels could be a little bigger. GREAT dollar value.

Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Lxrxaxcx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen
Level Contributor
77 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

Have stayed here before and decided to rebook for two nights. We appeared to be the only guests in the building we were in, then found that there was another couple in our building, in the room right next to us! The first night was extremely quiet, as the couple in the room next to us seemed to have left the island for the night. The next night was a different story. Out of the entire building, why did the front desk decide that the two reservations they had should be lodged side-by-side?! We think this couples room must have been equipped with a bowling alley, really, they were that noisy. Not the best night sleep! If not for this issue, we would have had a top notch stay. Room was clean, and bed was comfortable.
Only one choice for dining that we found while we were there, though we were told that the pizza place was open, we must have missed there open hours.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Keysin10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia Beach, Virginia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

Second year to stay..cleanest and comfiest with nice refrig. Microwave sink and dishes etc. we are here for a basketball trip and wouldn't stay anywhere else....great friendly people at the front desk...wonderful breakfast restaurant.

Room Tip: Room 135 was wonderful
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Margaret S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ocracoke
17.7 mi away
The Breakwater Inn
The Breakwater Inn
#6 of 13 in Hatteras Island
4.0 of 5 stars 124 reviews
18.4 mi away
Sea Gull Motel
Sea Gull Motel
#10 of 13 in Hatteras Island
4.0 of 5 stars 41 reviews
17.6 mi away
Village Motel
Village Motel
#5 of 6 in Hatteras Island
4.0 of 5 stars 2 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.1 mi away
Hatteras Harbor Marina and Motel
0.0 mi away
The Burrus House Inn
The Burrus House Inn
#6 of 10 in Manteo
4.5 of 5 stars 72 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pony Island Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pony Island Motel

Property: Pony Island Motel
Address: Highway 12, Ocracoke, NC 27960
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Coast > Outer Banks > Ocracoke
Amenities:
Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 9 Hotels in Ocracoke
Number of rooms: 41
Also Known As:
Pony Island Hotel Ocracoke
Pony Island Ocracoke

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing