We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best hotel on Ocracoke”
Review of Pony Island Motel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Ocracoke
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Pony Island Motel
Ranked #3 of 9 Hotels in Ocracoke
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 17, 2012

Second year to stay..cleanest and comfiest with nice refrig. Microwave sink and dishes etc. we are here for a basketball trip and wouldn't stay anywhere else....great friendly people at the front desk...wonderful breakfast restaurant.

Room Tip: Room 135 was wonderful
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Margaret S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (203)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

122 - 128 of 203 reviews

Reviewed November 12, 2012

We stayed here this past weekend after not finding anything that looked worthwhile in the B&B category. It turned out to be a pleasant experience. The front desk person was helpful. The room itself was very large, with small frige, microwave, coffee maker, etc. and two queens. Everything was clean and comfortable, and the price -- about $100 -- didn't seem out of line for Ocracoke at this time of the year. We rented their bikes for a few hours @ $2/hr.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bobhardync
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 25, 2012

Traveled with another couple to Ocracoke. We've been many times to the isalnd and always ate breakfast adjacent to the hotel but first opportunity to need a room on the island. Room was very spacious with amenities one would need, ie. microwave, fridge and table to sit and eat if needed. Very clean and comfortable.Prices were reasonable. Highly recommend!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ilv2trvlWilmingtonNc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2012

We stayed at the Pony Island Motel over a weekend in July. For an island motel I found the accommodations to be excellent – very clean and up to date. Their service was excellent as well – the owner picked us up from the local airport and dropped us back off. From what I could see, they have the largest swimming pool as compared to the other hotels / motels on the island. We liked Café Atlantic for dinners; the Flying Melon was so-so for breakfast.

Room Tip: Rooms on the west side of the motel have ample porches / seating for gatherings. Rooms on the east s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 340Traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2012

My family of four has stayed at the Pony for several years. We have a favorite 1 bedroom suite on the third floor so I can't speak to other floors, but the room is always clean and well-maintained. We like being on the third floor for the view of the sunrise from the back and fresh air all around. You can't see the ocean from the hotel, but that is true of most places on the the island. I also prefer the taller building at the Pony because we are a little farther away from the trees and the mosquitos when they are in season. You will need bug spray on the island, but mostly only when you are in the trees/bushes, not when you are sitting on the porch in the ocean breeze. The hotel has several buildings (only one is multi-story) but all have porches with chairs. They also have barbecue grills and picnic tables on the grounds because no cooking is allowed on the porches. The kitchenette has a stovetop, microwave and medium sized refrigerator and all dishes and towels. You do need to bring your own paper products and dish soap (or buy them from the store across the street). We don't have a car because we fly in, but the Pony always arranges for a ride to and from the airstrip on our travel days and we rent bikes for a reasonable rate from the Front Desk for the rest of our stay. Everything in town (stores, dining, activity rentals) is within an easy walk or bike ride from the Pony. Their restaurant is a favorite of ours for breakfast and is one of the fastest places to eat when you are really hungry. The restaurant also opens early (7am). The pool is always well-maintained and there are 2 showers and a hose near the pool for rinsing off, along with a foot level faucet near the stairs for rinsing feet and gear. The parking lot does get crowded when the hotel is full, but all the trucks and SUVs do find a space. A nice feature about reservations is that your card isn't charged at all until you get there. The hotel doesn't have an elevator but it does have ramps to get to first floor rooms, but I don't know how accessible interior areas are. The room we like also overlooks a bar/restaurant, but the noise was never a problem in the room. Only downside is that the room air conditioners can be noisy, but I have that complaint about a lot of hotels.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Klenox67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2012

Wonderful place for multiple families to stay. They have ample porch space which makes for easy get togethers at the end of a fishing day. Room are clean and organized. The staff is helpful and accommodating. Close to town, groceries, beach, and many good restaurants.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank novabrew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 27, 2012 via mobile

Basic hotel but good prices for the island and the front desk lady was very nice. Nice pool. Parking a bit tight but ok. Clean rooms. Walls a little thin but not too bad. Don't allow pets unfortunately. We will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jrmmphd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ocracoke
17.7 mi away
The Breakwater Inn
The Breakwater Inn
#7 of 11 in Hatteras Island
136 reviews
18.5 mi away
Sea Gull Motel
Sea Gull Motel
#10 of 11 in Hatteras Island
52 reviews
0.4 mi away
Castle on Silver Lake
Castle on Silver Lake
#3 of 7 in Ocracoke
167 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.6 mi away
Village Motel
Village Motel
#4 of 5 in Hatteras Island
3 reviews
17.6 mi away
Hatteras Harbor Marina and Motel
17.4 mi away
Hatteras Sands Campground
Hatteras Sands Campground
#8 of 16 in Hatteras Island
77 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pony Island Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pony Island Motel

Address: Highway 12, 785 Irvin Garrish Hwy, Ocracoke, NC 27960
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Coast > Outer Banks > Ocracoke
Amenities:
Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 9 Hotels in Ocracoke
Number of rooms: 41
Also Known As:
Pony Island Hotel Ocracoke
Pony Island Ocracoke

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing