We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved it!”

Beachcomber Campground
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Ocracoke
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Beachcomber Campground
Reviewed June 27, 2012

Stayed there for 5 nights, had a blast. Really laid back, relaxing place. I definitely plan on going back. Owner is a super nice guy who really wants everyone to have a good stay. Clean bathhouse/restrooms, well kept grounds, nice size lots and convenient location.

Room Tip: As with any campground, the mosquitoes are out there so bring plenty of repellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
6  Thank Tammy K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (28)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

24 - 28 of 28 reviews

Reviewed June 21, 2012

Sean, Laurie and Jackson are the ultimate hosts. Just returned from a short vacation with great friends...had a truly wonderful time. The entertainment was a nice touch, along with Laurie's pizza. Ladies room was well kept. Had never stayed on Ocracoke before.....we are going back again this summer for 10 days....Paradise has been discovered! The owners know how to treat their guests!!

Stayed: June 2012, traveled with friends
5  Thank Denise T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 17, 2012

Sean and his wife are wonderful and want you to enjoy your vacation! One night they brought out pizza from the store and offered it to everyone. The food is good, the campsite is comfortable and they have entertainment some nights. They will do whatever it takes to make your trip a success.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Ann T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 1, 2012

First off, I'll preface this review by saying that I've stayed at every campground on Ocracoke, and have been vacationing at the Beachcomber for 8 years now. If you are looking for an inexpensive and convenient place to stay in Ocracoke, this is the place (particularly if you have a camper). The previous management let maintenance slide a tad, but the new management (Laurie and Shaun) have done quite a bit to spruce the place up recently. While I was there (May 2012), they installed a new set of wireless internet access points in the campground (wifi had only worked before inside the store), so now you can check you can surf the web from the comfort of your camper/rv. They have also been laying gravel in the driveway, which helps cit down on the water pooling when it rains. I've been told they now have live musicians who occasionally play during the summer, which is a nice touch.

It's also great to be able to walk to the front of the place and pick up beer and food from their grill. The have inexpensive dinner specials that are worth a try. For everything else you need, the variety store is next door, as is the hardware and ABC store. They only have two seasonal campers, which really helps it retain the feel of a campground. Their main competitor (Teeters) has a lot, and it feels like you are camping in a trailer park (all the confederate flags flying doesn't help either).

The advantages of Beachcomber are that it's right in town, and is a short walk (few hundred meters) to Howard's Pub and other hotspots, and it's close to the beach. The access to NPS inlet is the same distance away, so it's a quick trip to the beach if you have a 4WD permit. Otherwise, the bike path to the beach also starts right there. I guess my only complaint is that the men's bathroom could use a fresh set of paint, but it certainly isn't a deal breaker. I guess what keeps me coming back is the convenience, the value (I don't know how I could afford to stay for 10 days on Ocracoke in season otherwise), and the nice people who work there.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Stephen K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 1, 2012

We made a single night visit to the Beachcomber campground on Ocracoke last week. We were delightfully amazed to see new management in place. According to Laurie (the new management) they have only be operating under her new management since Feb 1st 2012.

The interior of the store is already being transformed to a more friendly inviting place. They reopened the Mens room and the Womens room. They have brought back lunch specials and even have a TV on the wall set to the Travel Channel. A full lunch for only $5.99 on Ocracoke is all but unheard of!

We wanted to stay longer once we noticed the changes but were on a schedule and were just passing through.

Things are looking very nice Laurie, we love what you are doing with the place and look forward to our week there this summer.

Keep up the good job you two!

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank AgDavis2008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Beachcomber Campground? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beachcomber Campground

Address: 990 Irvin Garrish Hwy, Ocracoke, NC 27960
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Coast > Outer Banks > Ocracoke
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 4 Specialty Lodging in Ocracoke
Number of rooms: 30

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing