We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly and relaxing”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Castle on Silver Lake
Ranked #3 of 7 Ocracoke B&B and Inns
Reviewed November 13, 2009

My husband and I spent last April, shaking off the Northeast winter Blues. We had a wonderful and relaxing time at The Castle. Ronnie, as well as all of the staff, was friendly and very helpful. The southern breakfast was delicious, reminding my husband of his North Carolina roots. We're already planning to visit next April!
Kathie & Kevin Matsil

  • Stayed: April 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KathieNewEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oldobxer, Web Services Manager at Castle on Silver Lake, responded to this reviewResponded November 18, 2009

Always great to hear from a repeat guest--and even better when you let us know how much you enjoyed your time at The Castle on Silver Lake. Thank you for taking the time to post your review on Trip Advisor. See you next time!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (165)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

132 - 138 of 165 reviews

Reviewed November 13, 2009

We stayed in the Patti room which was very nice, large and the bathroom was excellent. The room was quiet, the inn offered use of a computer (so I could still keep in contact with doing business) and the breakfast was really good. They area surrounding the Inn is Great, you can walk to the lighthouse and downtown to shops. They offered bikes to ride and the feeling was very homelike. We look forward to coming back to visit.

Stayed: September 2009, traveled as a couple
Thank recruiterpatty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oldobxer, Web Services Mgr at Castle on Silver Lake, responded to this reviewResponded November 17, 2009

So glad you had a good time while at The Castle. That is what we love to hear. Ocracoke Island is a special place and we think The Castle is pretty special too. Thank you so much for your kind words and we would love to have you come back to our B & B.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 13, 2009

We have stayed at The Castle 4 or 5 times over the last 5 years and each stay was special. Rather than use the B&B we rent one of the Castle Villas -condos- and generally stay for a week. The rooms are always immaculate and the staff friendly and helpful. The grounds and the B&B area are beautifully maintained. We especially enjoy the heated pool. I like a dip in the before breakfast and my wife likes to lounge poolside when the wind or surf make the great beaches on Ocracoke less fun. The Castle provides bikes for the use of their guests. This is the perfect way to get around Ocracoke village, to shop, sightsee or ride out of one of the many great restaurants for lunch or dinner.

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bobxnc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 12, 2009

This was our 2nd stay at the Inn and we love it. It is an older home, with the older home charm. If you're looking for hotel luxury with room service, this is not for you. It's a B&B, not a 5 star hotel in NY. And as ANY B&B would do, breakfast is served in a "family style setting" which is very warm, cozy and welcoming. I will say the service was above and beyond what it was last year. I believe it was Mary who checked us in and she was kind, attentive and made us feel right at home.

Last year we were in Jeff's room on the 2nd floor and this year it was Sam's room on the 1st floor. If you are interested in sleeping, I recommend the 2nd floor as you can hear people walking around when you're on the first floor. Another recommendation would be to update the mattresses and bedding. Softer mattresses and more cozy bedding would put the cherry on top of an amazing dessert of a wonderful getaway spot.

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AnnaLC77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oldobxer, Web Services Mgr at Castle on Silver Lake, responded to this reviewResponded November 25, 2009

AnnaL, thank you very much for letting others know how much you enjoyed your stay. We want all of our guests to feel exactly as you describe--welcome and comfortable. Mary and the rest of the innkeepers love what they do and we think it shows. Please come back and stay at The Castle on Silver Lake again

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 12, 2009

We spent one night at the Castle and were very pleased with the room, location, delicious
breakfast and found the staff to be very helpful with recommendations for the area.

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank foodlover14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oldobxer, Web Services at Castle on Silver Lake, responded to this reviewResponded November 13, 2009

It is very gratifying for us when we hear how much someone enjoyed their stay at The Castle on Silver Lake. Thanks so much for the good review and we hope you come back to our little island soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 18, 2009

PROS: Gorgeous grounds, great proximity to explore Ocracoke via car, bicycle, and foot (we did all three), excellent and ample breakfast (only for guests in the B&B, not in the Villas) snacks in the afternoon, bikes on-site, pool, steam shower and sauna.

CONS: If you want any ounce of privacy, stay in any one of their Villas and not in the B&B rooms. Even though you might book the Lighthouse or any other room for that matter, it feels like a higher-end dormitory. The roof deck is gorgeous as are the antique decorations, however, the communal areas are open to everyone. From the patio next to the Ginny room, pool table in the lobby, and the lighthouse roof deck (even if you're not staying in that room) - everything is open to all guests during daytime to early evening hours. There is no guarantee that other guests will be respectful of privacy or quiet hours. The A/C-heater is another issue that needs to be brought to each guest's attention. While it was blistering hot and humid in our room, another guest thought it was "too cold" (it was 77-78 degrees outside!) and decided to turn the heater on - ignorant to the fact that it would heat everyone's room on the second floor. We booked the Ginny room for a quiet 2-day getaway and it was far from relaxing. The room itself was the size of a closet, though clean. The slightest noises permeate through the walls so you can hear footsteps, packing, talking, housekeeping etc. at all hours of the day. I concur with other reviewers that noise is prominent regardless of which B&B room is booked. Breakfast is served for only a very short period of time (60 min) - they could extend it to 2 hours to alleviate the breakfast rush.

The guests staying in the Villas seemed to be more energetic and relaxed likely due to having their own condo-type space. In summary, if you want to experience a B&B for the first (and short) time, book a stay in the B&B. If you want the quality that The Castle is known for and also want your own space/privacy/kitchen setup, book one of the villas. Even though it was not the most auspicious stay in a B&B, The Castle does offer many positive amenities which is why we'd recommend this to a friend - just choose your accommodations wisely.

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ReeseTM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oldobxer, Web Site Manager at Castle on Silver Lake, responded to this reviewResponded November 5, 2009

We appreciate your feedback. Our goal is to provide comfortable and relaxing accommodations for our guests and regret that you did not enjoy your stay as much as you hoped.

We do have a very relaxed atmosphere here and encourage our guests to make themselves at home in The Castle. Most visitors are very respectful of others but the large lobby and hardwood floors mean that noise can carry.

We do read each review and take into consideration all suggestions and comments--as well as complaints-- that are submitted. Again, thank you for taking the time post a review here and for visiting The Castle on Silver Lake.

We hope you will come back to our beautiful island and give us another try.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 28, 2009

I recently visited Ocracoke for the first time for a wedding and fell in love with the Island! However we were less than impressed with our choice of accomodations. The Castle on Silver Lake is a beautiful home, and our room (Sam's Room) was very spacious. Our friends' room was literally half the size of ours and they had no separation between the bed and their shower. The breakfast I will say was very tasty, however the stay was not relaxing.
Being on the first floor we heard anyone and everyone that was up (this starts around 7 a.m.) Housekeeping came by at 8:15 a.m. and after the first time, I placed my Do Not Distrub sign on my door and therefore my room was never serviced except once (even after we'd be out of the room by 10-11 a.m.) The housekeeping staff began to run the vacuum in the other rooms by 8-9 a.m. and we were kept awake. The pool table opens at 9 a.m. and we were kept awake also by people playing pool early in the morning literally on the other side of our wall.
My husband and I looked forward to sleeping in and enjoying the relaxing attitude we had heard so much about in Ocracoke, however if that is what you are looking for, the Castle is not for you. Especially for what you pay, I think there are many better B&Bs on the island with privacy and peace and quiet.

Stayed: September 2009, traveled as a couple
2  Thank pmrunc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oldobxer, Web Services Manager at Castle on Silver Lake, responded to this reviewResponded November 11, 2009

We are sorry that your experience at The Castle on Silver Lake on Ocracoke Island was not what you had hoped it would be.

We do want all of our guests to be comfortable and truly feel relaxed while they are here. Most guests are very considerate of the fact that others are at the Castle, especially during the early morning hours and at night. I do apologize that your sleep was disrupted.

Glad you enjoyed the breakfast ... and I agree that it is delicious!

Hopefully you will be coming back to Ocracoke Island again and we also hope you will consider staying at The Castle.

Thank you for your review. We use all comments to help us improve our services and the inn itself.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ocracoke
18.1 mi away
The Breakwater Inn
The Breakwater Inn
#6 of 11 in Hatteras Island
136 reviews
18.9 mi away
Sea Gull Motel
Sea Gull Motel
#10 of 11 in Hatteras Island
53 reviews
18.0 mi away
Village Motel
Village Motel
#4 of 5 in Hatteras Island
3 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.0 mi away
Hatteras Harbor Marina and Motel
17.8 mi away
Hatteras Sands Campground
Hatteras Sands Campground
#8 of 16 in Hatteras Island
77 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Castle on Silver Lake? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Castle on Silver Lake

Address: 155 Silver Lake Road, Ocracoke, NC 27960
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Coast > Outer Banks > Ocracoke
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Ocracoke
Price Range: $150 - $284 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Castle on Silver Lake 3.5*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Relax in comfortable, non-smoking rooms in this three-story inn. The rooms are tastefully decorated with antiques and each room has its own private bathroom. Other amenities include an outdoor pool, pool house with sauna & steam shower, a computer with Internet access in the lobby &wireless Internet access on the property. Enjoy a full buffet breakfast each morning. "Captains" enjoy complimentary dockage at the Castle docks with power hookups and a fish cleaning station. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz and Booking.com so you can book your Castle on Silver Lake reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Castle On Silver Lake Hotel Ocracoke

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing