We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beauty, Serenity, Eclectic History, and a kick-a%$ breakfast!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Castle on Silver Lake
Ranked #3 of 7 Ocracoke B&B and Inns
Florence, South Carolina
Level 6 Contributor
369 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 170 helpful votes
“Beauty, Serenity, Eclectic History, and a kick-a%$ breakfast!”
Reviewed April 28, 2014

I have come away from the Castle on Silver Lake with plans to return ASAP. I'm a big fan of Ocracoke: it's beautiful and remote location, the tight-knit community, it's quirkiness, and the casual, calm atmosphere. We have stayed in the Ocracoke Harbour Inn next door to the Castle a few times, but our one night stay at the Castle left us wanting more.

The property is situated in a prime and beautiful location on Silver Lake Harbor. The staff are very kind and accommodating. The country-style breakfast included bacon, egg casseroles, homemade biscuits, orange pancakes, sausage, and cheese grits.

Our room was the last one available, Ginny's Room, which is a small room in the rear with a queen bed and a tiny bathroom. The sink is actually in the room. We were only there one night, so no big deal. The other rooms in the inn looked much larger.

If you are interested in the history of the Inn and it's eccentric original owner, do an internet search for Sam Jones, Ocracoke.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KelekeWahine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oldobxer, Public Relations Manager at Castle on Silver Lake, responded to this review, April 30, 2014
Loved your header! Made me smile right away. Thank you for your comments, it is always nice to read such a pleasant (and well written) review and know that our guests had a good stay. I hope you will be away to come back when you can stay longer. Thanks again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

161 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    106
    38
    12
    2
    3
See reviews for
24
101
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Cary, North Carolina
Level 6 Contributor
119 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed April 11, 2014

We planned a weekend getaway and chose the Castle on Silver Lake after seeing the pictures of the Net House. Ronnie is sweet as can be and very accommodating. We chose one of the villas over a room in the main building so we could be next to the water and have some privacy. The net house villa was perfect for what we wanted. Clean, well appointed with kitchenette, full view of the harbor and relaxing screened in deck. I cannot express how pleased we were with the management and condition of the properly. We had a wonderful, relaxing weekend and will definitely be back in the future!

Room Tip: The net house is our preference since it is located right on the water, away from the main house. Re...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tkcary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oldobxer, Public Relations Manager at Castle on Silver Lake, responded to this review, April 14, 2014
Well, what a nice review and it started our week of just right. It is always nice to hear that guests of the B&B and the villas enjoyed their stay here. The villas are a perfect choice for guests who want a little more privacy and room and The Net House Villa does offer great water views.
Thank you for choosing the Villas for your getaway and we hope you are able to come back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Poplar Branch, North Carolina
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed March 16, 2014

We took off for Ocracoke Island Late tuesday afternoon for a "night away from work" and called to find most places were closed and one had no vacancy. We stumbled on to the Castle on Silver Lake, my wife had a nice conversation with the reservation lady and we booked a room. We traveled via motorcycle with another couple and arrived late, after 9 pm to find the place Warm, Inviting, fully stocked with anything we could desire, nice map of the place and coffee and snacks available. The staff had left for the evening but everything including the bedding was excellent. We relaxed in the living room area and met another guest and talked until almost midnight. I was impressed with the cedar and juniper walls and ceilings and the expert craftsmanship of the woodwork throughout ....I was a builder for 25 yrs and appreciated seeing the exactness of someone's talents. We had a wonderful breakfast, the cook was exceptional. The cost was off season rates and we thought reasonable. We highly recommend the Castle to everyone.We left a day early because of another "Winter Storm with High Winds 45 mph" on the east coast. Note: the ferry ride from Hatteras now takes at least an hour to get to Ocracoke...check the ferry schedule ahead of time.

Room Tip: Rooms are named for individuals, ours was on the ground floor with only a shower which was fine for...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank OBXEASYRIDER
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
obxjm, Public Relations Manager at Castle on Silver Lake, responded to this review, March 18, 2014
It is cold and rainy here today, with more of those "high winds" you mentioned, so reading your review was a little bit of sunshine for us here. I am glad you found us and sincerely hope you will come back. The Castle is a beautiful old building and we are very proud of it.

Your tips were very helpful for those who have not been there. Thank you for including those details.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
Level 6 Contributor
150 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
Reviewed February 24, 2014

The Castle B&B provided a relaxing getaway weekend. The innkeepers (Ronnie and Sidra) are very friendly and helpful. The Lighthouse Suite is the perfect location to relax and take in the sunsets from the cupola. Pictures of the Ocracoke lighthouse from the Castle overlook are breathtaking. Our stay was perfect and the accommodations were exceptional. Breakfast each morning was home-cooked and delicious. Expect a home-like feeling and you won't be disappointed. We took nice long walks - you are within walking distance of the small town and the lighthouse. Bikes are also available - we rode them to lunches, dinners and the beach. The bikes do need some attention and probably a new fleet would be a good idea -- they are pretty beat up and wobbly. Given the low season the island was basically deserted which was both good and bad. Most restaurants were closed so our choices were limited. We have decided that a return trip during peak season is necessary to capture the true spirit of the island.

Room Tip: If you want the ambiance of a B&B make sure you request a room in the Castle. The villas are as...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MLL_KLL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oldobxer, Public Relations Manager at Castle on Silver Lake, responded to this review, February 26, 2014
I think your decision to come back during the summer is a good one! Everything is open then and you can visit some of the excellent restaurants on Ocracoke. And shopping, don't forget about that. It is always rewarding to hear that our guests had a nice visit at The Castle and thank you for taking the time to post your review on tripadvisor. We appreciate it.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mooresville
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed December 5, 2013

In spite of a roller coaster of weather conditions, the Castle was the perfect retreat for total relaxation. Ronnie, Jude and Sidra are perfect hosts and chefs. Even during a short power outage, storm related, they didn't skip a beat. If you are on Ocracoke you aren't looking for the Ritz Carlton in the first place, so the rustic features of the Castle will be just your cup of tea. Yet, there are features in the regal category that justify the name, Castle.

Room Tip: The lighthouse suite on the top floor is the tops.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MonicaMooresville
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
obxjm, Public Relations Manager at Castle on Silver Lake, responded to this review, December 7, 2013
I really appreciate it when guests personally thank the members of the Castle B&B family...because they all work so hard to provide comfortable and relaxing experiences for everyone. Thank you. So happy to hear you had a nice stay. The Lighthouse Suite is a wonderful choice...and we so hope you come back
Thanks again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed November 11, 2013 via mobile

The Castle was the perfect background for enjoying the village. We arrived and were met by Ronnie. Her welcome was just what we needed to help us get situated and assist us to make the most of our visit. We hopped on the bikes available to Castle guests and set off to tour the town and have a fantastically memorable time in Ocracoke. The lodging is very comfortable and the sunset from the widows walk was amazing. The breakfast served is delicious. We will definitely be returning to Ocracoke and booking well in advance to make sure we are staying at the Castle!

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Jmills19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oldobxer, Public Relations Manager at Castle on Silver Lake, responded to this review, November 13, 2013
Ronnie is fabulous! She loves what she does and that shows in everything she does at The Castle. We appreciate your kind and enthusiastic review so much. Each review is shared with our B&B team at the Castle and yours made us all smile.

Ocracoke is a special place for special people and it sounds as if you "did it up right" while you were here. Please do come back, often!
Thanks again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maiden, North Carolina
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed October 14, 2013

The castle is a little different, not a hotel and not a B&B. It is pretty much as it was 25 or more years ago. The interior is very much period, lots of antiques and furnishings. The staff was most helpful and their breakfast is very nice. Its a well prepaired country breakfast with flair. We pulled up chairs and visited with the cooks both mornings we were there. The beds were not the best, but its all clean. The air conditioning for the rooms leaves a little to be desired. Not sure how that would work out it the weather was hot. The location is very good and so is the view!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dwight R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oldobxer, Public Relations Manager at Castle on Silver Lake, responded to this review, November 13, 2013
Well, I guess we are a little different, you are right! First of all thank you for your review. We read each one and pass along to our staff in an effort to improve our customer service and provide the best experience possible for each guest. Each winter, when we are closed for a short period, we do try to refurbish and replenish our rooms so that when we reopen we are ready for another season. I will make sure we check out the bed in the room you stayed in.

Please do plan on coming back to Ocracoke and The Castle on Silver Lake.
Thanks again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ocracoke
18.1 mi away
The Breakwater Inn
The Breakwater Inn
#7 of 11 in Hatteras Island
132 reviews
18.0 mi away
Village Motel
Village Motel
#4 of 5 in Hatteras Island
3 reviews
17.9 mi away
Hatteras Harbor Marina and Motel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.8 mi away
Hatteras Sands Campground
Hatteras Sands Campground
#10 of 16 in Hatteras Island
71 reviews
Show Prices

Been to Castle on Silver Lake? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Castle on Silver Lake

Property: Castle on Silver Lake
Address: 155 Silver Lake Road, Ocracoke, NC 27960
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Coast > Outer Banks > Ocracoke
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Ocracoke
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Relax in comfortable, non-smoking rooms in this three-story inn. The rooms are tastefully decorated with antiques and each room has its own private bathroom. Other amenities include an outdoor pool, pool house with sauna & steam shower, a computer with Internet access in the lobby &wireless Internet access on the property. Enjoy a full buffet breakfast each morning. "Captains" enjoy complimentary dockage at the Castle docks with power hookups and a fish cleaning station. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Castle On Silver Lake Hotel Ocracoke

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing