We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Castle on Silver Lake
Nearby Hotels
The Anchorage Inn(Ocracoke)(Great Value!)
$190
$179
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Sea Gull Motel(Hatteras Island)
$107
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Cape Pines Motel(Buxton)(Great Value!)
$129
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$129
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
$99
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
$171
$161
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Village Motel(Hatteras Island)(Great Value!)
$119
Expedia.com
View Deal
Reviews (167)
Filter reviews
168 results
Traveler rating
109
42
12
2
3
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
109
42
12
2
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewslighthouse suitejane's roompool tableacross the streethomemade biscuitscheese gritssmall touchesdressing arealow ceilingsbeautiful islandocracoke islandunique placeenjoying the viewfree bicyclessun deckrent a golf cartbike rentals
Filter
Updating list...
97 - 102 of 168 reviews
Reviewed October 19, 2012 via mobile

This B&B is charming inside and out. The staff are friendly, the rooms are clean and smoke and pet free, the breakfast is delicious. They also provide free bikes to their guests. The widows walk has a nice view of the harbor and is a great place to have your morning coffee or a glass of wine at sunset. We will definitely be back!

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Christy E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oldobxer, Public Relations Manager at Castle on Silver Lake, responded to this reviewResponded October 22, 2012

It is very satisfying to us to hear that you want to come back and stay with us. We try to make each guest feel welcome and comfortable and appreciate feedback to let us know how we are doing. Sounds like you truly enjoyed your time here and we hope you are able to come back soon.
Thank you

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 21, 2012

We stayed at the Inn for only one night, but it was lovely. We chose a Villa, and were very happy that we did. We had our own fully-stocked kitchen, living room with flat screen TV, separate bedroom with king bed, and bathroom with jacuzzi tub and separate stall shower, as well as our own screened porch. Everything was clean, we had our own thermostat (which I understand the B&B rooms don't), and the bed was comfortable. The only problem we had was the ceiling fan made lots of noise so we couldn't use it. Although the villas don't come with breakfast, who needs it when you have your own kitchen?

Ronnie was very accomodating, and even gave us a ride to the Ocracoke airport (you're not allowed to drive golf carts past Howard's Pub). Ocracoke itself is charming- rent a golf cart and explore the island.

Room Tip: Get a villa.
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank aimrichmiami
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oldobxer, Public Relations Manager at Castle on Silver Lake, responded to this reviewResponded September 24, 2012

The Castle Villas are a great option for those who want a little more room and/or are traveling with children. We were glad to hear you found the villa clean and everything in order and thank you for posting that.

Ronnie and her staff at The Castle BB are always happy to go the extra mile to make their guests stays as pleasant as possible. They truly like what they do and it shows.

Thank you again for your post and we hope you are able to come back to Ocracoke and hopefully spend some more time

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2012

This is the fourth year we have stayed at the Castle B and B. I am very picky about how clean a place is and the Castle is always spotless. The food is AMAZING and is so generous that it should be factored in when conisdering the price. I find it humerous that someone complained that the food is not helath conscious. Fruit, cereal and oatmeal are available if you have restrictions. However, at a Southern Bed and Breakfast I expect a southern spread and they do that very well! We feel totally at home when we are here because everyone is so laid back. We feel free to sit on any of the decks, help ourselves to snacks in the kitchen (which is always completley spotless), sit in the living room, and ask questions. Ronnie and Jude are absolutely wonderful and make you feel very welcome. And they bake cookies everyday! I can't imagine anyone complaining about this place. There are other guests in the house and you will hear folks walking/moving around. That is to be expected. We have never felt disturbed. Ocracoke in general is wonderful. I love it that the beaches are undeveloped. I've been to some beautiful beaches in other parts of the world but this one feels like home.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jen77777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oldobxer, Public Relations Manager at Castle on Silver Lake, responded to this reviewResponded September 5, 2012

Well, you made our day here at The Castle. Thank you for your wonderful comments, we appreciate that you have stayed with us in the past and that you found everything in order. Laid back pretty much describes The Castle...that is one reason people come to Ocracoke in the first place. Our breakfasts are just as you described, "southern" and while you would not want to eat that way every day we are sure our guests enjoy it while here. We do work very hard to make each sure each guest has a good stay with us and truly are thankful when they let us know they had a good and relaxing time here. Hope you come back again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 2, 2012

We recently stayed at the Castle B&B in Ocracoke. The women who run the hotel are extremely
friendly and the breakfast in the morning is over the top! The rooms were clean with individual air conditioning units for personal comfort. The location is easy access to anywhere on the island and the bikes are great for easy travel anytime of day. The breakfast, which is held from 0830 -0930 was very extensive and delicious. All of it home made! We stayed in Patti's room, which is close to the kitchen, so each morning we awoke to the smell of bacon. The property also has a pool and a pretty view from the top deck. If you are looking for a nice, quiet B&B then the Castle is a good pick.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank staci l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oldobxer, Public Relations Manager at Castle on Silver Lake, responded to this reviewResponded October 22, 2012

Charming and friendly place....that is how we hope everyone feels after a stay at The Castle. Thank you for your review here; we know that many travelers use this site to plan their trips and count on the feedback we get here to help us improve. It is always nice to hear when someone enjoyed their time here. Thanks again and we hope you come back and stay with us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 23, 2012

First, let's say that Ocracoke is an totally wonderful place to go to. Quaint, pretty, without the commercial giants that we find everywhere else (no McDonald's, no Walmart, no Sonic...), it is a place for the ones who like to be outside the typical touristy places.
The Castle on silver Lake is pretty, clean, fun, relaxing an the friendliness of the staff is impressing.
You can relax in the pool, or the spa, or the sauna, or play pool, or use one of their bicycles (the island is best discovered by bicycles or golf carts...). Everything clean, eveything in order.
The breakfasts are excellente and the room are very comfortable and clean.
I will definitely go back next year !

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Testosapiens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oldobxer, Public Relations Manager at Castle on Silver Lake, responded to this reviewResponded August 25, 2012

It is always rewarding for our staff to read these nice reviews. We do work very hard to make sure all of our guests enjoy their time here at the Castle and it sounds like you did just that. We are known for clean, comfortable rooms, our southern hospitality and of course those breakfast! Thank you for your comments and we hope you will come back to Ocracoke and our Castle soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews