We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A nice get away”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Castle on Silver Lake
Ranked #3 of 7 Ocracoke B&B and Inns
Swansboro, North Carolina
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“A nice get away”
Reviewed July 4, 2012

We visited Castle on Silver Lake for one night and stayed in their light house suite. The suite is clean and has a lot of space. The atmosphere is romantic. The breakfast is awesome!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Shiicare
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Public Relations Manager at Castle on Silver Lake, responded to this review, July 5, 2012
We love hearing when our guests had a good stay so thank you for taking the time to post this. We also feel our atmosphere is romantic and that our breakfasts are wonderful...and it is very important that our guests find a clean room. Again, thank you for your comments and we hope you are able to come and stay with us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

161 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    106
    38
    12
    2
    3
See reviews for
24
101
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Virginia Beach, Virginia
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed June 29, 2012

This was my first time staying in a bed and breakfast and I was pleasantly surprised!! This is a great property. We stayed in "Billy's" room. Although this is in the main house and did not have a direct water view, it was totally enjoyable!

The breakfast both mornings was outstanding. The friendliness of the staff was excellent. The island is small so we rented a golf cart which made getting around much easier! There is much to see such as small shops of every kind and plently of good restaurants.

The ferry ride from the mainland is free and wonderful as well.

I highly recommend both the island and the Castle!!

The only small weekness was the ice machine never had any ice. That could be easily resolved and was insignificant in the scheme of things!

Room Tip: I only know about "Billy's room. The web site is excellent and can help you choose!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Beachgirl063
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed June 21, 2012

Nice place, nice location, nice people, nice breakfast.
This is of course an island hotel, family run, so, no, it's not a four seasons with trained staff at your beck and call 24/7, but I am giving this 5 of 5 on a scale of Ocracoke hotels, which are more or less exclusively family, casual, holiday places.
Beautifully decorated inside, great faciilities such as the sauna and pool, and we loved the billiard room. And a great breakfast, although it is served 8:30 - 9:30 ONLY. If your expectations are correctly aligned you will LOVE this place.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank polonius
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Public Relations Manager at Castle on Silver Lake, responded to this review, June 25, 2012
We never get tired of hearing how much our guests enjoyed their stay at The Castle on Silver Lake. Ocracoke is a special place and we feel our castle is too...and thank you for taking the time to let others know of your good experience with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pennsylvania
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 31, 2012

Castle on Silver Lake is a B&B in a great old house with a super location on the quiet side of the harbor. That means you can walk to the shops and restaurants, but the noise and the traffic that they generate are all on the other side of the water, not disturbing you. The breakfasts were excellent and abundant. We couldn't even sample everything that was offered. Bicycles are available for guests' use free of charge. Don't miss the view from the rooftop deck. It's just magnificent!

Room Tip: Jane's Room has a beautiful view of the harbor.
See more room tips
Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank solarpowered2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
obxjm, Public Relations Manager at Castle on Silver Lake, responded to this review, June 11, 2012
We appreciate it so much when our guests take the time to us and others know of their good experiences at The Castle on Silver Lake. Thank you for staying with us and for your helpful review. We hope you are able to come back and visit us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morehead City, North Carolina
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed May 23, 2012

Truly a unique experience...Beautiful building and grounds, enthusiastic staff, delicious breakfast, and the most beautiful view of Silver Lake on the island....Outdoor pool, bikes to explore the island, indoor pool room and fresh snacks provided all day.....We'll definitely return.......

Room Tip: Upstairs front rooms provide a magnificant view of Silver Lake at sunrise.....
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank drummerbuilder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oldobxer, Public Relations Manager at Castle on Silver Lake, responded to this review, May 30, 2012
Thank you thank you thank you for your comments. It is always so nice to hear that our guests had a good time at the Castle B&B. We agree with you about the views and the breakfast and sincerely hope you can visit us again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed April 4, 2012

We stayed at Castle on Silver Lake during our first visit to Ocracoke. Couldn't have asked for a better location or a more friendly staff. Breakfast was excellent and completely homemade (no Sams Club style pastries served here!).

We stayed in the Lighthouse Suite. It's the top level with spectacular views of the water and the village. Room was oddly shaped with low ceilings in places, however, due to the location at the top of the Inn it was understandable.

Love this sweet fishing village and would gladly stay at the Castle again.

Room Tip: Lighthouse Suite has a great view
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AtlanticBeachBound
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chesapeake, Virginia
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed March 30, 2012

This was our second visit to the beautiful island of Ocracoke and second time staying at a bed and breakfast as our lodging accommodations since it was only a weekend visit again. The house staff was friendly upon check-in and gave us a mini tour before showing us our room. Our room was Jane's Room which had plenty of windows and a beautiful view of Silver Lake. The only downside to Jane's room during our stay was the first night we had water leaking in our room. A call was made to the emergency number for staff since it was later in the evening and they promptly came to check the situation. Apparently, if someone is staying in the suite above the room, the bathroom is located above Jane's room and if they shower with the door open, water leaks through floor to ceiling of Jane's room. The staff had their maintenance check the issue the next morning and we did not have another leaky ceiling the next night (which a monsoon of rain came through and definitely no leak issues!). Other than that issue the breakfast was amazing and plentiful. I was happy with the wide selection of the buffet style breakfast and was full until late lunch time sometimes all the way to early dinner time. Loved the antique decor and the room furnishings. This was our best Bed and Breakfast yet and would recommend it to anyone who is looking for good views of the island and excellent breakfast!

Room Tip: The top suite which I believe is the Lighthouse Suite is the best room for views. Second would be Ja...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MicheleAtTheBeach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ocracoke
18.1 mi away
The Breakwater Inn
The Breakwater Inn
#7 of 11 in Hatteras Island
133 reviews
18.0 mi away
Village Motel
Village Motel
#4 of 5 in Hatteras Island
3 reviews
18.4 mi away
Hatteras Harbor Marina and Motel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.8 mi away
Hatteras Sands Campground
Hatteras Sands Campground
#9 of 16 in Hatteras Island
73 reviews
Show Prices

Been to Castle on Silver Lake? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Castle on Silver Lake

Property: Castle on Silver Lake
Address: 155 Silver Lake Road, Ocracoke, NC 27960
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Coast > Outer Banks > Ocracoke
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Ocracoke
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Castle on Silver Lake 3.5*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Relax in comfortable, non-smoking rooms in this three-story inn. The rooms are tastefully decorated with antiques and each room has its own private bathroom. Other amenities include an outdoor pool, pool house with sauna & steam shower, a computer with Internet access in the lobby &wireless Internet access on the property. Enjoy a full buffet breakfast each morning. "Captains" enjoy complimentary dockage at the Castle docks with power hookups and a fish cleaning station. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com and Expedia so you can book your Castle on Silver Lake reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Castle On Silver Lake Hotel Ocracoke

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing