We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The Best Lighthouse”

Ocracoke Lighthouse
Ranked #1 of 28 things to do in Ocracoke
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The oldest lighthouse still in operation in North Carolina.
Abbeville, South Carolina, United States
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“The Best Lighthouse”
Reviewed January 18, 2013

Ocracoke just has this all around wonderful feel. The lighthouse was the best part of it all. There was a beautiful dog at the house. My husband and I watched him for a long time. At first it didn't seem as if he were real. He just sat there so still, never moving or blinking. While at the lighthouse, we also got to see a family of otters. Mama and Daddy were very protective of their babies. We got to sneak a few photos. We rode by the lighthouse multiple times a day, enjoying it and walking every time. It was storming one night and it was absolutely stunning to watch the light flash with lightning in the background. I can't wait to be back there again. It just feels like home!

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank Jennifer S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

724 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    264
    261
    172
    22
    5
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Columbus, Ohio
Level Contributor
118 reviews
53 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Good if you're going, but not worth the trip alone.”
Reviewed December 31, 2012 via mobile

It is a nice little lighthouse. If you like them a lot you should go. Personally this is my least favorite of the main 4 on the OBX.

Be aware there is little parking at the lighthouse. There is a Baptist church just down the stree that has parking if you need it. There are "no parking" signs on the street.

There is no visitor center here, but th Ocracoke visitor's center has some info there.

Helpful?
Thank sms74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Akron, Ohio
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“not much there”
Reviewed December 20, 2012

As lighthouse lovers and the reason for the 3 hour drive south, we had high hopes. We have loved visiting several other lighthouses in the outer banks. This one however only has a few 15 min parking spots and only one sign that says very minimal about the lighthouse. There is just one path that is about 20 yards to walk to see the lighthouse, nothing else. No historical information, no rangers to talk to, nothing.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank vacasluth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manteo, North Carolina
Level Contributor
49 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Couldn't find it at first!!”
Reviewed November 30, 2012

Well,I was under the impression that this was owned privately now.I went in 2009 right after Hatteras was devastated by some storm or other.We drove 'round & 'round,could SEE it,but no road seemed to GO there! This was exciting. I've been there many years ago when you could just drive right by it. So,I really can't say how it is right NOW. Maybe it is possible to drive by,It's just that the roads were washed out through there then.

Helpful?
Thank kellowee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monroe, North Carolina
Level Contributor
49 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Cool lighthouse!!”
Reviewed November 22, 2012

Great place for pictures! You can't climb up, I forgot why. But its so pretty and the volunteers are very informative and friendly. A must see on Ocracoke!!

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank kbrown7k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ocracoke Lighthouse also viewed

 

Been to Ocracoke Lighthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing