We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Couple days away” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Bluff Shoal Motel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Ocracoke
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Bluff Shoal Motel
Save
You added Bluff Shoal Motel to your Saves list
Ranked #6 of 9 Hotels in Ocracoke
Havelock, North Carolina
Level Contributor
235 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
“Couple days away”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013

Had friends visiting from England so wanted to spend a couple days on the Outer Banks. This motel is nicely located near the ferry and places to eat. The motel will remind you of the early 60's with parking in front of your door. The rooms are basic but have cable tv. We liked sitting in the backyard over looking Silver Lake and having the lighthouse as a beacon late into the night.

Staff was very friendly would stay there again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank RTWorld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

61 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    38
    16
    2
    2
    3
See reviews for
14
27
6
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Charleston, SC
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

My wife and I decided we wanted to go on a nostalgic little getaway for a few days. Leaving from Charleston, SC we drove up US 17 known as the Ocean Highway. Stopped at Little River SC for the night and took a casino boat for a diversion.
The next leg we continued up the coast of NC and took a 2 hour ferry boat over to the lower NC outer bank island of Orcacoke where we found this quaint little 7 room motor court. The room was typical 1950 - 60's and exceptionally clean and comfortable. It is located in the heart of the village and on Silver Lake. Silver Lake is really a small bay that goes out to the ocean where the southern ferry arrives.
A car is only needed if you want to explore the entire upper part of the island to see the horses or go on a day trip further up see the Wright Brothers area. Other than that the bicycles were perfect to explore all that Ocracoke village has to offer. We found great little shops on the back roads of the village. The lighthouse on one end and the museum on the other end of the village near the ferry boat landing were a treat. A wonderful restaurant right across the street from the motel became our favorite even though we enjoyed several other restaurants as well.

Sitting on the dock at midnight overlooking the boats with a bottle of wine and a fine cigar was the most relaxing hours for us. The ice-cream and coffee shops across the street were so friendly. This may well become one of our most memorable short trips that we will cherish forever. And yes, even though it is a throwback to the 60's they have WIFI.

Room Tip: Try to get a room on the righthand side as you face the motel. The dock will be right behind the ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EDGE_of_America
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cicero, Indiana
Level Contributor
22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2012

The Bluff Shoals Motel is nestled in the heart of the village of Ocracoke on silver lake directly across from Dajio Restaurant .We Rode the Swan Quarter ferry in then drove two blocks to the Bluff Shoals. Spent three days and never moved my car, never watched TV, never looked at a clock and room didn't have one. Drove two blocks and caught the Cedar Island Ferry out. Heaven---1965----Mayberry----- A STEP BACK IN TIME. Awesome! Great location and DAJIO is the best....just rent a bike and enjoy the village by day and at night eat at DAJIO'S then sit on the porch of Bluff Shoals and listen to the music.Relax.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Cicero73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisville, Kentucky
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2012

Great little Ocracoke motel. A wonderful old-timey place. Very friendly, comfortable, neat and super-clean. You can park directly outside your room, so it's easy to get to fishing, biking, or beach equipment in the truck. There's a small private dock off the backyard on Silver Lake. The view there is beautiful. There's a shaded front porch with ceiling fans and chairs outside the room, relax, or chat with neighbors. Great location, right in the center of town, just a short bike ride to anywhere. We had an excellent stay.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank usisles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
Level Contributor
42 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2012

Needed a place to stay on Ocracoke for one night at the end of April. Many of the other accomodations on the island would only accept a minimum reservation of 2 nights that time of year. The Bluff Shoal gladly accepted my one night stay request and it was a good find. The location is right on the main drag through the town convenient to the waterfront shops and restaurants. The owner was very friendly and said that our room was recently updated. We found the room to be very comfortable including the 2 double beds. Guests have access to a private rear yard right on Silver Lake where you can sit, relax and just enjoy the peacefulness that is Ocracoke Island. Would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank DCTraveler3716
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lexington, Virginia
Level Contributor
23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2012

Nice little seven room motel in an ideal location in the center of town. The friendly motel is an older property but spotless, comfortable, and reasonably priced. It is open year around. Right across the street is the excellent Dajio restaurant. The motel is on the waterfront on the main street. Coffee available in the office from 6 am. There was a handy small fridge in my room. Your parking space is right in front of your room. Will stay here again based on location, cleanliness, friendliness, and value.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Clifford K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mooviemadness
Level Contributor
28 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2011

This mom-n-pop property is conveniently located near restaurants and one of the general stores. It's a short drive away from the beach. There are seven rooms, with one assigned parking space per room, located right in front of the room. You can sit outside your room on the porch and people watch or just relax. There is also a yard in back of the property with some chairs where you can also sit and relax. On our 2nd night there, a couple of us sat outside and watched the sun set. There was a couple who were also outside, enjoying their dinner.

The customer service was friendly and efficient. Although the rooms don't have microwaves, we were able to use the microwave in the rental office, which stays open nightly until 9 pm. The one drawback was that because our room was the farthest away from the office, we had trouble using the wireless network.

Room Tip: Book early since they only have seven rooms available.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank mooviemadness
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ocracoke
17.9 mi away
The Breakwater Inn
The Breakwater Inn
#6 of 13 in Hatteras Island
4.0 of 5 stars 124 reviews
18.6 mi away
Sea Gull Motel
Sea Gull Motel
#10 of 13 in Hatteras Island
4.0 of 5 stars 41 reviews
17.8 mi away
Village Motel
Village Motel
#5 of 6 in Hatteras Island
4.0 of 5 stars 2 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bluff Shoal Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bluff Shoal Motel

Property: Bluff Shoal Motel
Address: 306 Irvin Garrish Highway, Ocracoke, NC
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Coast > Outer Banks > Ocracoke
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 9 Hotels in Ocracoke
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 7
Also Known As:
Bluff Shoal Ocracoke

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing