We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Least expensive and best meal we have had so far on Ocracoke”

Gaffer's Sports Pub
Ranked #4 of 33 Restaurants in Ocracoke
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $23
Cuisines: American, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: Fresh local seafood, great burgers and specialty sandwiches, vegetarian options, kids menu, game room, NFL Ticket, Happy Hour Daily 5-7 1/2 price apps at the bar, Best Live Music Venue on the island, southern hospitality!!
Asheville, North Carolina
Level Contributor
39 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Least expensive and best meal we have had so far on Ocracoke”
Reviewed September 9, 2012

Black Angus burgers and local flounder were fantastic. Service was great too. Lots of football going on, so if you do not want the noise while you eat, go somewhere else. It is what it is...a sports bar with really, really good food. (There is a video game area for kids, and there were families there when we were.)

Note: They are one of the few establishments open all year round.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank PossumManor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

509 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    306
    125
    45
    18
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Smithfield, North Carolina
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great Sport Pub”
Reviewed September 2, 2012

This is a great low key sports bar for food, beer and sports. What more could you want! The food has never disappointed and the amount of TVs is perfect to watch whatever game you are interested in. We actually left Howard's to go to Gaffer's so we could watch the games better.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank staci l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Annville, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
47 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Gaffer's is for Families too!”
Reviewed August 21, 2012

This was a great experience. We had 11 ppl in our party, 5 kids(ages 6,9,11,13,15). The waitress was excellent, she was quick and was great with the kids. I'm sure she had kids of her own. The food was outstanding. Among the amout we had, The wings were great, smokey honey mustard and buc naked. For an apps we had we had the crab dip(of course how could you not) and the Gaffer's nachos. Awesome! The fish of the day was amazing and sadly i can not remember what it was. maybe snapper. The oyster po boy was another pleasant surprise. The waitress even gave us a compliment about how polite and wonderful the kids were. We all just looked at each other in amazement, then laughed. It's a fun place with a nice bar/rest feel.Very comfortable and worth the trip.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank chrisjs32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bloomington, Indiana
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Very Nice Surprise”
Reviewed August 19, 2012

My husband had one of the best burgers he has ever had at Gaffer's. We liked the atmosphere and the service also.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank 620TammyM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Bern, North Carolina
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Gaffers sports pub”
Reviewed August 19, 2012

The service was horrible! I was there for 2 hours and there was one other person in there! The worst part was that it smelled and there were flies everywhere!

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank becky s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gaffer's Sports Pub also viewed

Ocracoke, Outer Banks
Ocracoke, Outer Banks
 
Ocracoke, Outer Banks
Ocracoke, Outer Banks
 
Ocracoke, Outer Banks
 

Been to Gaffer's Sports Pub? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing