We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great home-like environment!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Ocracoke
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Pam's Pelican Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #2 of 7 Ocracoke B&B and Inns
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great home-like environment!”
Reviewed April 7, 2013

Pam is a lovely lady and treated us very well. The room was really comfortable. A big plus was having our own bathroom and shower as well as a personal tv with lots of channels to chose from. Would definitely recommend. I would return to Pam's anytime

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank WJWS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pamspelican, Owner at Pam's Pelican Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, April 8, 2013
Thank ya'll sooo much! I am so glad that ya'll enjoyed your "Beach House" on Ocracoke Island, NC! I would Love to have ya'll back any time! Thanks, Pam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

126 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    110
    11
    2
    0
    3
See reviews for
15
87
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Washington, NC
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed March 20, 2013

I've stayed at Pam's a couple of times and try to book it each time I stay in Ocracoke overnight. Problem is I'm a last minute person and with just 4 rooms and being rated the #1 B & B (well earned I might say) in Ocracoke, it's rarely available when I call....In fact I just called this morning for Ocrafolk weekend (6/7-9) and it's not available. I say this both speaking to myself and to let anyone know if you want to stay at Pam's you must plan ahead or be very lucky! Pam and Mike are delightful hosts. When we've been there on Sunday afternoon/evening they've had a jam session of local musicians that just "show up" for a covered dish dinner at Pam's and to play music. You never know who will show up but you can be assured it'll be outstanding musical entertainment with a group of wonderful people. The breakfasts are exceptional, the accomodations are comfortable, Pam and Mike themselves are very entertaining and make you feel right at home, the price is very reasonable, the free bikes are a nice extra, it's conveniently located (if you don't mind a litte walking or a short bike ride) and it's just plain fun. In fact on our first stay there we arrived mid-Sunday afternoon, checked in and never left the property Sunday afternoon/evening. Pam and Mike are just that nice and it's that much fun! We've now stayed at a wide range of places/accomodations in Ocracoke since moving to eastern NC five years ago but Pam's is the fondest memory and first choice for a few days in paradise!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank New2IBX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pamspelican, Owner at Pam's Pelican Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, April 2, 2013
Thank you soooo much! Hope to see ya'll soon! Thanks, Pam!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Carolina
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed October 8, 2012

My wife and I spent four nights on Ocracoke to get some much needed downtime. We stayed in the Zen Sunrise room and found the room name to be spot on. Pam is a kind, caring person and her advice helped us get the most out of our vacation. All in all Pam has created a very nice, laid-back bed and breakfast. I look forward to booking this B&B again!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank jamphipp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pamspelican, Owner at Pam's Pelican Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, March 20, 2013
Thank You, soooooo much! Love you! Thanks, Pam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed October 6, 2012

It's the right price, the right location, the right everything. Pam and Mike are so friendly and really seem to enjoy what they do. They let us borrow beach necessities, and the breakfasts were delicious (sweet potato pancakes!). We stayed on the first floor. Our room was cozy and clean, and had a fridge/microwave. You might want to take note that service to your room is available, but only upon request. This didn't bother us since we didn't run out of toilet paper or anything, but I know it might be important to some. Pam had great insight into beach weather and where to catch the best view of the sunset. My husband and I most enjoyed spending a night playing board games on the porch and sitting on the bench swing. They also have bicycles guests can borrow for exploring the island. Overall, we felt very welcomed and at home!

Room Tip: We enjoyed staying on the first floor. It felt out of the way of other guest rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Meagan_N_Jeff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pamspelican, Owner at Pam's Pelican Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, March 20, 2013
Awwww, Thank you so much! Thanks, Pam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daytona Beach, FL
Level Contributor
50 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed September 23, 2012 via mobile

We recently stayed 4 nights and it was our best visit ever to Ocracoke. You will not find fancy antiques here. However, if you are looking to stay somewhere relaxed and laid back, this is your place. Pam really cares about her guests and goes to great lengths to ensure your expectations are met. The breakfasts here are really good! The cheesy eggs are wonderful along with the thick-cut bacon! Every morning was a different breakfast selection; the blueberry pancakes were some of the best we've had! One morning Pam cooked a special dish with fresh herbs from her garden, which was wonderful. Pam has bikes available for her guests to use; we especially enjoyed exploring the quieter streets of Ocracoke. Don't miss the nature trail at Springer Point! There are several really good restaurants in Ocracoke to explore for food buffs. For the adventuresome crowd, call the Austin's and goto Portsmouth Island for the day. We can't wait to go back to
Ocracoke and Pam's Pelican B&B!

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank falconman1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pamspelican, Owner at Pam's Pelican Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, March 20, 2013
Thank You very much! Ya'll will have to come back & see me again this year! Thanks so much, Pam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, Canada
Level Contributor
276 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 197 helpful votes
Reviewed September 1, 2012

We stayed here for a night in May with our golden and it was fantastic! The house is beautiful, Pam and Mike and their pup are so friendly and breakfast was amazing! We loved our room- the dark blue one- it had a nice balcony to enjoy the view of the property and the trumpet vines out front! Everything was perfect--- we only wish we could have stayed longer to enjoy the bikes that were provided and more of the beautiful beaches that were close by! Can't wait to visit again!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank KaChHa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pamspelican, Owner at Pam's Pelican Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, March 20, 2013
I can not wait to see ya'll & your golden retriever again! Thank you so much, Pam!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 5, 2012

We stayed in the "Dreamcatcher" room which was very cozy. The room and bathroom were very clean. As other reviewers have said, the room is next to the kitchen, so you can hear noise from the kitchen but it didn't bother us. My husband and I get up early, so we were already awake by the time noise started coming from the kitchen (coffee at 7 am). If you like to sleep in late, I'd suggest the room on the first floor. Breakfast was delicious...a smorgasbord of homecooked food! The hosts are friendly and you can tell they have put a lot of thought into making sure their guests have a wonderful stay: beach chairs, cooler and bikes provided, ice machine (you don't have to pay $3 across the street for a bag of frozen water!) coffee maker, fridge, and microwave in the room...they didn't leave anything out...best value in Ocracoke! We will be back, The Bolts

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DawnBolt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pamspelican, Owner at Pam's Pelican Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, March 20, 2013
Please come back for more "Sunday " breakfasts! Thank you so much, Pam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ocracoke
18.4 mi away
Sea Gull Motel
Sea Gull Motel
#8 of 11 in Hatteras Island
46 reviews
17.6 mi away
The Breakwater Inn
The Breakwater Inn
#6 of 11 in Hatteras Island
130 reviews
0.6 mi away
Castle on Silver Lake
Castle on Silver Lake
#4 of 7 in Ocracoke
160 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.5 mi away
Village Motel
Village Motel
#4 of 5 in Hatteras Island
3 reviews
17.3 mi away
Hatteras Sands Campground
Hatteras Sands Campground
#8 of 16 in Hatteras Island
70 reviews
17.9 mi away
Hatteras Harbor Marina and Motel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pam's Pelican Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pam's Pelican Bed & Breakfast

Property: Pam's Pelican Bed & Breakfast
Address: 1021 Irvin Garris Hwy, P.O. Box 1569, Ocracoke, NC 27960-9605
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Coast > Outer Banks > Ocracoke
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Ocracoke
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
People friendly......Pet friendlyFree pickup from airport or marinaHome cooked sunday breakfast every morningFree guest use of bikes,grills,coolers,and beach chairsPrivate baths,heat/ac,mini-fridge,microwave,and coffee maker in every roomSatellite TV HBO/SHOWTIME and WIFIIce machine,drink machine and snack machine inside. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing