We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Unexpected gem” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Dajio

Dajio
Ranked #2 of 33 Restaurants in Ocracoke
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $30
Cuisines: American, Bar, Seafood, Pub, Soups
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Families with children, Kids, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Romantic, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Breakfast, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Finest local cuisine, live music, catering and flatbread pizza. The most memorable meals and evenings start from scratch. Our menus change seasonally so please stop by to pick up a copy. Located in the heart of the village with outdoor seating, weather permitting. Brick oven pizza available for dine in and carry out, Tuesday - Sunday 5 PM - 10 PM.
Marietta, Ohio, United States
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Unexpected gem”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 10, 2013

The dining choices on Ocracoke are widely varied, and we didn't want to squander our one opportunity by making the wrong choice. We asked a local for lunch recommendations, and he suggested Dajio. Great choice! Quaint cottage type layout, simple and casual. Our appetizers--Jumbo Lump Crab Dip and Grilled Shrimp & Blue Corn Nachos--were amazing. Our meals--Smoked Turkey Panini, Crab & Corn Cakes, Cajun Grilled Shrimp and Oysters, and the Local Fish Sandwich were all melt-in-your-mouth perfection. The fish was Spanish Mackerel, thick fillet lightly battered. It likely was swimming in the sound just the day before. The homemade chips are very good, and we asked for a remoulade sauce for both the fish and to dip the chips in. Yum! We all left happy and satisfied, and the prices were reasonable for a vacation hotspot. Highly recommend if you are spending the day on Ocracoke, you can eat outdoors or escape the heat by eating inside.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Laura P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

897 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    525
    232
    80
    32
    28
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
378 reviews
316 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
“Excellent burger at lunch”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 8, 2013 via mobile

It had been a couple of years since we had ventured to Dajio's for a meal. While it has a very good reputation for dinner we were pleasantly surprised at the lunch menu and found that their angus burger may be the best on the island. Their home made chips are very tasty as well. The only minor negative experience on this visit was thy we had to remind the hostess after about 15 minutes that a waiter had not taken our order. After a prompt apology our order was taken and everything was fine.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank WCUcody
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Carolina
Level Contributor
240 reviews
117 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
“Unexpected menu for small seaside village”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 2, 2013

Their very modern sophisticated menu was a nice surprise. I was just expecting seafood and it was that and so much more. My grilled daily catch of rockfish was very yummy and the potato sauté dish was awesome (a blend of various potato types like purple, red, fingerling) as was the grilled asparagus. Enjoyed dining in the outer patio area. The house salad was a blend of gourmet lettuces, heritage purple tomatoes, fresh veggies, nuts and parmesan crisps with a unique tangy dressing was a nice treat.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank flipflop48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Defiance, Missouri
Level Contributor
505 reviews
351 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
“Dajio the tempting delights of Ocracoke”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 31, 2013

Dajio has stepped up the game on Ocracoke. had been here before and been disappointed, not this set of visits (three dinners in 10 days), a wonderful fresh menu with lots to tempt the tastes, great fresh local seafood (though you know what it will be by what everyone else is serving - its the honest fresh catch that everyone can get!). Overall, go, enjoy sitting down, the staff was knowledgeable and friendly, the repast is worth it, indulge.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Hobietim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Braunfels, Texas
Level Contributor
14 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Lunch and shrimp hour”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 31, 2013

We had lunch during our stay inside with white tablecloths...shrimp and grits were excellent and the first time I have ever liked grits. Next time we went was for the peel and eat shrimp from 3 - 5 in the open bar that opens into a beautiful courtyard with umbrella covered tables. Shrimp was excellent and especially liked the cocktail sauce.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank P M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Dajio also viewed

Ocracoke, Outer Banks
 
Ocracoke, Outer Banks
Ocracoke, Outer Banks
 

Been to Dajio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing