We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Little Museum”

Ocracoke Preservation Museum
Ranked #5 of 30 things to do in Ocracoke
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: A tiny museum that features the history of Blackbeard, the 18th-century pirate.
Canton
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Nice Little Museum”
Reviewed June 29, 2012

Well done for a small community. Enjoyed the old phots.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank Holly1021
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

119 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    67
    43
    9
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Raleigh
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“great peek at old island life”
Reviewed June 17, 2012

Lovely woman in the museum tried to help me find out the owner of a dog my daughter and I had come across and fell in love with (no luck) but had a lovely discussion with her and for as many times as I've been to the island, I think it was the first time I'd ever gone in here. Great look at 'how life used to be'!

Very friendly staff also directed me to where I could buy a fig tree (and yes, i got one!)

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank Debbie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morehead City, North Carolina
Level 6 Contributor
87 reviews
27 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“quaint”
Reviewed June 5, 2012

Very enjoyable. A lot of fun and a lot of enjoyable things to see.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank charlesdailey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carrboro, North Carolina
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“best thing on the island”
Reviewed May 29, 2012

This little museum is the best thing to do on the island. it has it all gift shop, amazing photos of the island and it history, a house with period furniture, all sorts of nautical items and natural history items to explain the history of the island. do not miss this museum if you want to understand the history, the people, and the land of Ocracoke.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank g0christine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chesapeake, Virginia
Level 6 Contributor
226 reviews
108 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“A worthwhile stop in this quaint village.....”
Reviewed May 23, 2012

The preservation museum houses wonderful photos and items from the life of Ocracoke Village. It is well worth your time to stop in and visit. With a little luck you are traveling by bicycle and can include it as part of your tour!

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank Ginny M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ocracoke Preservation Museum also viewed

 

Been to Ocracoke Preservation Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing