We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great get-away” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Winds Resort Beach Club

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Winds Resort Beach Club
Certificate of Excellence
Roanoke, Virginia
Level Contributor
24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Great get-away”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 4, 2013

My husband and I spent 4 nights at the Winds Resort in mid-October. We had an ocean front mini-suite which was great. The suite was very nice, the resort was very clean and the grounds were landscaped so beautifully it was delight to just stay there and relax. The breakfast buffet was very good if not overly healthy. We lunched at the Tiki bar and our barmaid was particularly helpful, giving us info on dinner options in the area. We will definitely be returning to this lovely property in the future.

Room Tip: Ocean front Mini suites on the third floor ends are the best....
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank gsce
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarketingMan310, Director of Marketing at The Winds Resort Beach Club, responded to this review, November 5, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to share your travel experience with us and with others! We are so happy you were able to enjoy a getaway at our resort, October is a great time of year at the beach. It's a much slower pace and the weather is usually fantastic! Thank you for your wonderful comments about our resort and our staff, and we're glad you were able to enjoy the tiki bar! We look forward to having you back to stay with us again soon!

Warmest Regards,
Gary Pope
Director Of Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

624 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    368
    152
    58
    22
    24
See reviews for
245
234
16
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (199)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
New England
Level Contributor
38 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 3, 2013

What a wonderful time we had at the Winds, we met up with family and had the best time ever.
We had a ocean view mini suite which was perfect, a beautiful view of the ocean. A deck with two rockers made it so pleasant, lovely sitting out in them with your hot chocolate or coffee and totally relaxing. The suite had a dining area, living room area, small kitchen area, bathroom and separate bedroom. We didn't cook but could have, we did make coffee in the coffee maker provided. Every morning there was a buffet breakfast which was fine, the dining area could have been larger to make more seating since it sometimes is busy. The weather was on the chilly side so most people were indoors, other than that we were happy with it. The resort itself could use a little updating and redoing, but this didn't take away from our enjoyment at all.
The people are all friendly, the pool area was very nice with a tiki bar, we saw a couple of weddings on the beach also. This was our first visit to this resort but hopefully won't be our last,
it is such a lovely place to go, lots to do in the area and we were there at the end of October so I can imagine how wonderful it is in summer. We were on the second level and my cousins were on the third, there is an elevator for those who don't want to use the stairs.
All in all we had a wonderful time and absolutely loved being at the Winds!

Room Tip: Third floor level on the ocean view side has a beautiful view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Travelbug325
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarketingMan310, Director of Marketing at The Winds Resort Beach Club, responded to this review, November 5, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to share your travel experience with us and with others! We are so glad to hear that you and your family had such a wonderful time at our resort. It's great that you got to experience so many things our resort has to offer like weddings on the beach, the tike bar, the pool area, and the view from your balcony even though the weather was not ideal. We hope you and your family will pay us a visit again possibly during a warmer time of year and you'll be able to utilize more of what we have to offer! We hope to see you back at The Winds again soon!

Warmest Regards,
Gary Pope
Director Of Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level Contributor
43 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 28, 2013

We just held our wedding at The Winds. It was so fantastic that I may run out of superlatives! To start, we worked with Mel, our event planner, and her assistant Darlene to plan the wedding. We had a short planning time - 4 months, and Mel and Darlene were efficient, professional, FUN, and never flinched at the short planning time. We got a "package" which included just about everything (minister, DJ, photographer, reception, etc.) and all of Mel's recommendations were top-notch. The day of the event, everything went unbelievably smoothly thanks to Mel, Darlene and the entire staff. We had our reception under The Tent. It was so pretty! The food was plentiful and so delicious, and the wait staff was so efficient. Our wedding was so UNstressful that we were able to enjoy every minute of our day. I can't recommend The Winds enough for a wedding!

As to the resort, I agree with other reviewers. The landscaping is beautiful and gives you the feeling of really being away on vacation. The entire staff are so hard working and their aim is to please you. Kim at the Tiki Bar (AND the breakfast bar--she really works hard!) was really fun. Our housekeeping staff was great too.

My only criticism is for the accommodations. Everything was very clean (again-great housekeeping staff!) but we booked probably 19 rooms, and overall, the facility is showing its age. If the owners would put some effort into updating the guest rooms and replacing quite a bit of the "boardwalk", then I would give The Winds. "5+ Star" rating!

So--the top notch staff gets a definite "5 stars" and the accommodations get a "3.5". We will definitely be back. We had such a great experience that maybe we should renew our vows there annually! Thank you Winds staff!

Room Tip: Ask to be on the 2nd or 3rd floor Ocean side for the fantastic view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Terry928
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarketingMan310, Director of Marketing at The Winds Resort Beach Club, responded to this review, October 30, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to share your travel experience with us and with others. We are so glad to hear that Mel and Darlene and all of the staff made your wedding day such a happy and stress-free experience. They are all wonderful at what they do and really focus on giving our brides and grooms their dream wedding!

We do a lot of updating with decor and routine maintenance during every off-season to recover from the routine wear and tear we experience each summer. This year we will be installing bamboo flooring in several of the floors as well as upgrading the decor, couches, etc. We appreciate your feedback and we hope on your next visit you'll see some of the updates!

Congratulations on your wedding and we wish you many years of happiness! And we hope to see you back at The Winds again soon!

Warmest Regards,
Gary Pope
Director Of Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Staunton, Virginia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 25, 2013

We discovered The Winds over 25 years ago and have loved our paradise getaways every year. The hotel is continually updated, the staff always friendly and accommodating. It is the perfect spot for a quiet, ocean side vacation with everything at your fingertips.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Colleen L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarketingMan310, Director of Marketing at The Winds Resort Beach Club, responded to this review, October 26, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to share your travel experience with us and with others! And we want to thank you for letting us be your vacation spot for the last 25 years, that's incredible! We appreciate your kind comments about our staff and our hotel. We are glad that you enjoyed this year's stay with us as much as previous ones and we can't wait to have you back for the 26th year!

Warmest Regards,
Gary Pope
Director Of Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cornelius, North Carolina, United States
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 20, 2013

Love staying at The Winds, not the typical beach resort. You get the feeling that you are part of the family upon arrival. The Tiki bar poolside serves the best wraps and sandwiches. Don't miss the yummy drinks too. The hot full breakfast is great. The rooms could use a little updating, but love the boardwalk balconies. What I love the most is the landscaping, really gives The Winds the feeling that you are staying at a well loved vintage resort!

Room Tip: They have many different types of rooms. I check the web site before calling.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ruth O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarketingMan310, Director of Marketing at The Winds Resort Beach Club, responded to this review, October 22, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to share your travel experience with us and with others. We love your description that "you get the feeling that you are part of the family upon arrival," because that is so true. So many of our guests that come stay with us do become part of our extended family! We are so happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and we look forward to having you back to stay with us again soon!

Warmest Regards,
Gary Pope
Director Of Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
108 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 11, 2013

My wife does not like to go to the same vacation spot twice. We've been to the Winds 4 times in five years. I guess you could say we like it! She also did not want me to write this review. She wants to keep the Winds "our little secret". Well, the secret is out. We got an ocean front one bedroom suite and really enjoyed our stay. From the friendly and helpful staff at the front desk (with a nod to Gary), to Kim and Lorna at the pool bar, to the maintenance staff, everyone made our stay enjoyable. Rooms include a great buffet breakfast, not continental, a real breakfast. There is an ocean side pool, and another across the street, and an indoor pool for inclement days. The resort is set in a residential area, so it is quiet. Hey, you want noise? You're just a 30 minute drive to the noisy, touristy Myrtle Beach. I could go on, but many reviewers have already covered most of what I would say. We will be back.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Danh234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarketingMan310, Director of Marketing at The Winds Resort Beach Club, responded to this review, October 15, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to share your travel experience with us and with others and thank you for sharing your little secret! We appreciate all the kind comments about our staff and the high remarks you gave about our property and all of our amenities. We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us and we hope you'll be back for a fifth visit soon!

Warmest Regards,
Gary Pope
Director Of Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 10, 2013

I spent the weekend there with my husband. We were celebrating our one year anniversary- we were married at the winds last year. My only complaint was that we couldn't book the trip on that particular weekend, but thanks to the oyster fest that wasn't going to happen. The room was great, and the trip was amazing!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jennifer V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarketingMan310, Director of Marketing at The Winds Resort Beach Club, responded to this review, October 11, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to share your travel experience with us and with others. We are sorry you weren't able to book for the weekend of your actual anniversary but the Oyster Festival does book up far in advance. We are glad you still decided to come celebrate with us and we are so happy you had a great time. If you wanted to come next year, you can book now with one night's deposit and cancel up to the day of arrival before 4pm. Congratulations on your anniversary and we hope to see you again next year!

Warmest Regards,
Gary Pope
Director Of Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ocean Isle Beach
1.7 mi away
Ocean Isle Inn
Ocean Isle Inn
#1 of 3 in Ocean Isle Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 646 reviews
1.8 mi away
Islander Inn
Islander Inn
#3 of 3 in Ocean Isle Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 488 reviews
13.5 mi away
The Prince Resort
The Prince Resort
#5 of 53 in North Myrtle Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 956 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.5 mi away
BEST WESTERN Ocean Sands Beach Resort
BEST WESTERN Ocean Sands Beach R...
#3 of 53 in North Myrtle Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,369 reviews
15.6 mi away
Avista Resort
Avista Resort
#4 of 53 in North Myrtle Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,140 reviews
24.9 mi away
Marina Inn at Grande Dunes
Marina Inn at Grande Dunes
#2 of 207 in Myrtle Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,632 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Winds Resort Beach Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Winds Resort Beach Club

Property: The Winds Resort Beach Club
Address: 310 E First St, Ocean Isle Beach, NC 28469-7606
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > Ocean Isle Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Ocean Isle Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Winds Resort Beach Club 3*
Number of rooms: 86
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A tropical island escape... Closer than you think! A small, intimate island resort. Ideal for vacations, romantic getaways, weddings, honeymoons, reunions, golf excursions or small meetings. Located in the Northernmost subtropical region on the east coast. The Winds is set oceanfront surrounded by palms, banana trees and hibiscus flowers. Oceanfront rooms, suites and Resort Cottages. Three pools (one indoor), hot Southern breakfast buffet, oceanfront, poolside TikiBar/Restaurant (and more). Golf on over 90 area courses. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Groupon, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz and Travelocity so you can book your The Winds Resort Beach Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Winds Resort Beach Club Hotel Ocean Isle Beach
The Winds Hotel Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing