We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The Winds is amazing!!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Winds Resort Beach Club
Certificate of Excellence
Schenectady, New York
Level Contributor
24 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“The Winds is amazing!!!!”
Reviewed February 8, 2013

My husband and I came to The Winds for our honeymoon last year, we LOVED it!!! The rooms were lovely, clean, and comfortable; the views of the ocean from the rooms were great; the service was amazing, the staff were so helpful and thoughtful; the breakfast was out of this world; the quaint, tropical wooden pathways throughout the resort were one my favorite things. We had a wonderful time and were so impressed. I would recommend The Winds to anyone!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Irene M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarketingMan310, Director of Marketing at The Winds Resort Beach Club, responded to this review, February 12, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to share your experiences with us and with other travelers. We are so glad that you have enjoyed our property; including the rooms, our wonderful staff, the breakfast buffet, and our tropical pathways! We are so happy to hear that you had such a great time back in October, we hope you come back and stay with again soon!

Warmest Regards,
Gary Pope
Director Of Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

636 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    376
    155
    59
    22
    24
See reviews for
252
237
17
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (204)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Winter Park, Florida
Level Contributor
35 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed January 26, 2013

This turned out to be a most pleasing "find"! Clean, lush, nicely-appointed beach resort that's even a joy in frigid January weather. Rooms are cozy, well-furnished and very comfortable. Free breakfast is delicious and generous. Entire staff warm, welcoming and friendly. We will become "regulars" here!

Helpful?
1 Thank Nicholas S
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
MarketingMan310, Director of Marketing at The Winds Resort Beach Club, responded to this review, February 7, 2013
Thank you so very much for taking the time to share your experience with us and with other travelers. We are so glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us also happy to hear you enjoyed the breakfast buffet! We hope to have you back to stay with us again soon and hope that you do become regulars!

Warmest Regards,
Gary Pope
Director Of Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hickory, North Carolina
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 14, 2013

In the mid-90s we started staying at The Winds. We have been back every year since.

The rooms are in excellent shape. The staff is really beyond compare. From the front desk to the personnel, they all care about your complete satisfaction during your stay.

I could not recommend it higher

Dallas Greer.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dallas G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarketingMan310, Director of Marketing at The Winds Resort Beach Club, responded to this review, January 15, 2013
We are so happy to hear that this stay at The Winds was as good as previous years. We love hearing that our guests come back year after year for their beach vacations! Thank you for your wonderful comments about our staff, they are the heart of our resort and really do everything they can to make your stay the best it can be. We are so glad you enjoyed your time at Ocean Isle and we look forward to having you back to stay with us again next year!

Warmest Regards,
Gary Pope
Director of Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level Contributor
29 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed January 4, 2013 via mobile

Great location on the beach. Very quaint. Rooms could use updating however, price is great for what is offered. Breakfast was decent. Front office was very friendly. Not a lot of restaurants open in the area during the winter time. One wish is that the hotel would adopt a smoke free policy.

Stayed January 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Lashldu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarketingMan310, Director of Marketing at The Winds Resort Beach Club, responded to this review, January 5, 2013
Thank you so very much for taking the time to share your experience with us and with other travelers. We are so glad that you enjoyed your stay with us. Typically in late December and January a few local restaurants do take advantage of the slower paced season and close around the holidays in order to spend time with their families. However, there are still several open in the area. Our resort does have a smoke free policy for all interior spaces including all rooms, lobbies, indoor pools, indoor dining spaces, etc., but smoking is allowed outdoors. We hope to have you back to stay with us again soon!

Warmest Regards,
Gary Pope
Director Of Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newton, North Carolina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed December 7, 2012

We loved this hotel. It was one of the nicest that we have ever stayed in. All the employees was super friendly and helpful. The breakfast was amazing!!! We used the indoor pool because it was too cold for the outdoor pools but they looked very nice. The indoor pool was warm and very clean. We ate at their bar the whole time and the food was great there too! We enjoyed everything about our stay here. We would definitely love to stay here again!!!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sharon E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarketingMan310, Director of Marketing at The Winds Resort Beach Club, responded to this review, December 8, 2012
Thank you so very much for taking the time to share your experience with us and with other travelers. We are so happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us also happy to hear you enjoyed the breakfast buffet and the food from the tike bar too! Thank you for your kind comments about our staff, they are wonderful and try very hard to accommodate all of our guests! We're sorry you didn't get to enjoy our oceanfront pool, maybe on your next visit! We hope to have you back to stay with us again soon!

Warmest Regards,
Gary Pope
Director Of Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hendersonville, North Carolina
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed November 30, 2012

This was our second year to stay at The Winds Resort. WE LOVE IT!! The buffet breakfast is out-standing. We had a simple problem with the air conditioner but called front desk & help was at our door promptly & problem solved immediately. Friendly, courteous staff at the front desk, in the Garden Cafe and housekeeping. Room was very clean & the bed comfortable. Will definitely return.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PAC606
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarketingMan310, Director of Marketing at The Winds Resort Beach Club, responded to this review, December 1, 2012
We are so happy to hear that this was your second stay at The Winds, a lot of our guests come back year after year for their beach vacations! Thank you for your wonderful comments about our front desk, Garden cafe and housekeeping staff and thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us and with other travelers. We are so glad you enjoyed your time at Ocean Isle and we look forward to having you back to stay with us again!

Warmest Regards,
Gary Pope
Director Of Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
34 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed November 29, 2012

I've been in March and in October when the vacation crowds are nowhere to be seen. Although the Tiki Bar wasn't open at those times, the breakfast buffet was, and it is always excellent. From cereal to toast to waffles or pancakes, muffins, fruit, juice, eggs, bacon, potatoes, not much missing there!
The rooms are all clean and inviting. Some have little stovetops for cooking when you want to stay near the beach rather than venture off for a meal. The property when I was there had two outdoor pools (one right on the beach) as well as an indoor one.
There was a resident cat that often came visiting, and the occasional chameleon poolside.
Every morning and evening there was a flock of pelicans on patrol, doing their flyby!
I love The Winds!

Room Tip: I actually travelled last in 2008, but I have kept watch on their website to what rates are like and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carol S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarketingMan310, Director of Marketing at The Winds Resort Beach Club, responded to this review, December 4, 2012
Thank you so very much for taking the time to share your experiences with us and with other travelers. We are so glad that you have enjoyed our property. Thank you for your wonderful comments about our clean and inviting rooms. We still have two outdoor pools, one oceanfront, and an indoor pool as well as several hot tubs. Mittens is still hanging around, typically outside the Garden Room after breakfast.
We hope to have you back to stay with us again and in the meantime you can keep in touch with us on our Facebook page!


Warmest Regards,
Gary Pope
Director Of Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ocean Isle Beach
1.7 mi away
Ocean Isle Inn
Ocean Isle Inn
#1 of 3 in Ocean Isle Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 683 reviews
1.8 mi away
Islander Inn
Islander Inn
#3 of 3 in Ocean Isle Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 498 reviews
13.5 mi away
The Prince Resort
The Prince Resort
#4 of 52 in North Myrtle Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,028 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.9 mi away
Rodeway Inn & Suites
Rodeway Inn & Suites
#3 of 3 in Shallotte
3.5 of 5 bubbles 63 reviews
17.5 mi away
Best Western Ocean Sands Beach Resort
Best Western Ocean Sands Beach R...
#3 of 52 in North Myrtle Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,436 reviews
15.6 mi away
Avista Resort
Avista Resort
#5 of 52 in North Myrtle Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,181 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Winds Resort Beach Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Winds Resort Beach Club

Property: The Winds Resort Beach Club
Address: 310 E First St, Ocean Isle Beach, NC 28469-7606
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > Ocean Isle Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Ocean Isle Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Winds Resort Beach Club 3*
Number of rooms: 86
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A tropical island escape... Closer than you think! A small, intimate island resort. Ideal for vacations, romantic getaways, weddings, honeymoons, reunions, golf excursions or small meetings. Located in the Northernmost subtropical region on the east coast. The Winds is set oceanfront surrounded by palms, banana trees and hibiscus flowers. Oceanfront rooms, suites and Resort Cottages. Three pools (one indoor), hot Southern breakfast buffet, oceanfront, poolside TikiBar/Restaurant (and more). Golf on over 90 area courses. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your The Winds Resort Beach Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Winds Resort Beach Club Hotel Ocean Isle Beach
The Winds Hotel Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing