We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful place to vacation”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Winds Resort Beach Club
Certificate of Excellence
Lumberton, North Carolina
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Wonderful place to vacation”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 16, 2012

We were here a week ago and LOVED it. It is off season but it was a beautiful resort with tropical qualities. They have a breakfast that is really good. The rooms are spacious and clean. We cant wait to get there again.. It will be on my to go list all the time...Loved it. The staff is very helpful and friendly. Really nice place to go..

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travelerswhenwecan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarketingMan310, Director of Marketing at The Winds Resort Beach Club, responded to this review, November 20, 2012
Thank you so very much for taking the time to share your experience with us and with other travelers. We appreciate your comments about how great our staff is and about our resort! We truly LOVE hearing that! We are so glad you enjoyed your time Ocean Isle and we look forward to having you back to stay with us again soon!

Warmest Regards,
Gary Pope
Director Of Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

629 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    371
    153
    59
    22
    24
See reviews for
248
235
17
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (200)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Greenville, North Carolina
Level Contributor
294 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 10, 2012

Had a large group of 20 golfers who stayed for 4 nights . This resort has 4 bedroom units with a large living room and kitchen /unit . Rooms had 2 queen beds with private bath and small refrig. This setup is excellent for group gatherings after a hard day on the course . A hot breakfast buffet was included which was very good

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Furlough
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarketingMan310, Director of Marketing at The Winds Resort Beach Club, responded to this review, November 14, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us and with other travelers. We are glad your golf group enjoyed their stay with us! Our resort houses are perfect for golf groups because they provide a unique shared common space for gatherings and dining while still giving golfers their own space. The Winds is also located just minutes some from of the best golf courses in both North and South Carolina and we work with numerous Myrtle Beach courses to provide the best golf packages for our guests. We hope your group played well and we hope to have your group back at The Winds again soon!

Warmest Regards,
Gary Pope
Director Of Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 7, 2012

We stayed in the petite azalea room # 301. The beach was lovely. As was the view from our non private seating area on the walkway. The in room hot tub was heaven sent as it was very cold and windy. Unfortunately the hotel pool and hot tubs closed for the season the week before we arrived. Was dissapointed that there was no restraurant or lounge available on site. They do have the tiki-hut that serves food & beverages in season, but it closed with the pool. Thank heavens for the breakfast. All in all, we would return if in the area again. Not a five star hotel by anymeans, but if your looking for nice lowkey family run outfit this is your place. Over all we loved it!

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WitchRoseamI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarketingMan310, Director of Marketing at The Winds Resort Beach Club, responded to this review, November 10, 2012
We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us! And thank you for taking the time to share your experiences with us and with other travelers. Unfortunately, in November the weather begins to cool off slightly. We have some great weekends where the weather is still in the 70s and sunny but with Hurricane Sandy making her late appearance this fall the weather was not cooperating for the pool and the tiki-bar to stay open as long as we had hoped. We appreciate your kind words about our property very much. We hope to have you back at The Winds again in the future, hopefully when the weather is a little bit better!

Warmest Regards,
Gary Pope
Director Of Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 7, 2012

My boyfriend planned a surprise trip for us to Ocean Isle to celebrate my birthday. He told me where we were going and where we were staying on the way down. I'm big on reviews and proceeded to look at reviews for The Winds. I did get a little nervous while reading some of the reviews but when we arrived, we were pleasantly surprised. Upon check in, the ladies at the desk were friendly and gave us a map of the resort with points of interest circled. The room was spotless and I didn't see a bug our entire time there. We were there during hurricane Sandy so we stayed indoors the entire trip except to go out for meals. The bed was comfy and housekeeping came in to give us fresh towels and removed our trash while we were in the room. Our housekeeper also put a towel down at the doorway because of the messy weather outdoors. This was refreshing considering most housekeepers speed off at the sight of a guest in the room during their cleaning time. I do suggest that if you are looking for an ocean view, don't stay on the first floor. Dunes blocked our ocean view on the first floor, which wasn't a big deal for us, we were just looking to relax and celebrate. Overall, if you're looking for some place clean, comfy, relaxing, and you're on a budget, The Winds is a great place to stay. If you want action and entertainment every night, drive down to Myrtle.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SouthernGirl1020
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarketingMan310, Director of Marketing at The Winds Resort Beach Club, responded to this review, November 10, 2012
Thank you so very much for taking the time to share your experience with us and with other travelers. We appreciate the kind things you had to say about our housekeeping staff and our helpful front desk staff. We regret that you experienced some unfortunate weather due to Hurricane Sandy, but luckily here in North Carolina we only got some mild storms and rain. We are so happy you enjoyed your stay with us and got to relax on your vacation. We look forward to having you back, hopefully next time with some better weather!

Warmest Regards,
Gary Pope
Director Of Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Massillon, Ohio
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 31, 2012

This was our first vacation at The Winds Resort, but definetly not our last. We had a wonderful time and mostly because of the hospitality that was shown to all of us from Ohio by the staff. From the front desk employees, to housekeeping, to the grounds keeper, to the bartenders at the Tiki Bar, to the kitchen staff. We feel as though we made friends with a lot of your staff. The palm trees and the beautiful flowers around the entire resort gives you the feeling that you are at a tropical island. Our room was very clean, and taken care of daily all week long. We were ocean front with a beautiful view. The complimentary breakfast each morning was hot, and delicious with a wide variety of choices. Everyday we had lunch poolside at the Tiki Bar with a nice selection to eat as well. We can't wait to plan another trip to see all of you again!!! We wish we would have known about this wonderful place years ago.
Anita & Jeff Price
Massillon, Ohio

Room Tip: Ocean Front Hibiscus Room 2nd and 3rd floors. Great views, quiet with very comfortable beds.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anita P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarketingMan310, Director of Marketing at The Winds Resort Beach Club, responded to this review, November 3, 2012
We are so thrilled to hear that you enjoyed your first trip to The Winds Resort so much! You said in your review that, "We feel as though we made friends with a lot of your staff," Well I believe you are correct! Our front desk staff and the bartenders kept saying how sad they were to see you all go! Thank you for all of the wonderful comments about our resort, our free breakfast, and the tiki bar! We can't wait to have our Ohio-ans back down here at The Winds! We look forward to having you back to stay with us again soon!

Warmest Regards,
Gary Pope
Director Of Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 19, 2012

This was my 2nd stay at this thus far "undiscovered" upper middle class, quiet, NC beach,
being absent, since 1996. Nothing has changed (that is good) strict zoning, and really with the land sold out, it is very well preserved, I chose The Winds Resort, because I got a deal with a
oceanfront room #406, "off season" the week of October 4, 2012. The insulation was most
effective, as, the resort was sold out, due to a wedding there. Upon checking out, I left a Nat
Nast special order all silk shirt hanging in the closet, and, the front desk clerk, shipped the shirt to me within 48 hours. The already most hospitable staff, I was very impressed with anyway.
The landscaping, of semi-tropical trees and flowers, even non native cactus, was lush, with much attention received, as I own some of the same plants, and, they are quite sensitive, in the
Carolinas. I would return here, for sure, due to the quietness, location, reasonable prices. Note,
the better views are the oceanfront rooms, on at least the 2nd floor, as the sand dunes, obscure
the direct view of the Atlantic Ocean, along with the extensive floral garden of semi tropical plants. Suggestions for best ocean view: Rm 105,106,107,108, 209,210,211,212,413,414,415,416,417, 418. All of these rooms are oceanfront, all on the 3rd floor!!! Complimentary hot breakfast is another perk, for everyone!!! There is a relatively new
Lowe's Supermarket, across the expansive bridge that crosses the Intracoastal waterway, where you can buy food, for the fully equipted kitchen, only about 2 or 2.5 miles away!!!

Room Tip: Family friendly, utensils are in the kitchen cabinets. They honor AAA discount card, is you are a me...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Robert M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarketingMan310, Director of Marketing at The Winds Resort Beach Club, responded to this review, October 23, 2012
Robert,
Thank you so very much for taking the time to share your experience with us and with other travelers. Your kind words about our staff and our grounds are appreciated. We do pride ourselves on our staff and how their passion for helping our guests and for up keeping our extraordinary gardens. The oceanfront rooms that are on upper floors do provide some of the best views of the ocean and are truly wonderful and relaxing! We are glad you made it back to Ocean Isle and we look forward to having you back to stay with us again soon!

Warmest Regards,
Gary Pope
Director Of Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 18, 2012

Every year, in October, my husband and I take the family to The Winds. We were so looking forward to our trip this year and once again the six days were perfect. The six bedroom house works out so well with my four grandchildren ages 5, 3, 2, and 1. The staff is wonderful and extremely cooperative, the beach is a bit of heaven. The eleven of us have so many wonderful memories of all our years at The Winds, starting with the three bedroom and working our way up.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Angel K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarketingMan310, Director of Marketing at The Winds Resort Beach Club, responded to this review, October 23, 2012
It makes all of us happy to hear that you and your family had such a great stay with us! We are glad that we can be the site for such a special time for your family. Thank you so very much for taking the time to share your experiences with us and with other travelers. We hope your grandkids treasure the memories of Ocean Isle and the time they spent with their family for many years to come. We look forward to having you back to stay with us soon!

Warmest Regards,
Gary Pope
Director Of Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ocean Isle Beach
1.7 mi away
Ocean Isle Inn
Ocean Isle Inn
#1 of 3 in Ocean Isle Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 666 reviews
1.8 mi away
Islander Inn
Islander Inn
#3 of 3 in Ocean Isle Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 494 reviews
13.5 mi away
The Prince Resort
The Prince Resort
#4 of 52 in North Myrtle Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 989 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.9 mi away
Rodeway Inn & Suites
Rodeway Inn & Suites
#3 of 3 in Shallotte
3.5 of 5 bubbles 61 reviews
17.5 mi away
BEST WESTERN Ocean Sands Beach Resort
BEST WESTERN Ocean Sands Beach R...
#3 of 52 in North Myrtle Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,406 reviews
15.6 mi away
Avista Resort
Avista Resort
#5 of 52 in North Myrtle Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,157 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Winds Resort Beach Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Winds Resort Beach Club

Property: The Winds Resort Beach Club
Address: 310 E First St, Ocean Isle Beach, NC 28469-7606
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > Ocean Isle Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Ocean Isle Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Winds Resort Beach Club 3*
Number of rooms: 86
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A tropical island escape... Closer than you think! A small, intimate island resort. Ideal for vacations, romantic getaways, weddings, honeymoons, reunions, golf excursions or small meetings. Located in the Northernmost subtropical region on the east coast. The Winds is set oceanfront surrounded by palms, banana trees and hibiscus flowers. Oceanfront rooms, suites and Resort Cottages. Three pools (one indoor), hot Southern breakfast buffet, oceanfront, poolside TikiBar/Restaurant (and more). Golf on over 90 area courses. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Travelocity, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Winds Resort Beach Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Winds Resort Beach Club Hotel Ocean Isle Beach
The Winds Hotel Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing