We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“25th Wedding Anniversary”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Winds Resort Beach Club
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 6, 2012

To celebrate our 25th Wedding Anniversary on May 23rd, my husband and I choose to spend a week at The Winds. This is our third visit to the resort. The other two times were family vacations with our son. We live in Pennsylvania so we drive 10 hours to get there but it is well worth the car ride. We've been happy with each room we've stayed in and for our anniversary, we stayed in the Oceanfront Gardenia Single Suite, the Penthouse. The view was spectacular. When we arrived in the suite, we saw a letter from the staff wishing us a wonderful 25th Anniversary and if we needed any further assistance to let them know. Also, in the bedroom and bathroom, rose petals were placed decoratively with bath towels arranged as lovebirds.
It is nice to have breakfast prepared each day with various items to choose, the breakfast burrito and fruit were delicious. The staff is excellent because they were always ready to assist us with our needs and do so in a friendly and courteous manner. I think their ambiance and charm is their tropical decor. They keep the rooms and surroundings very clean. The best part is that they are so close to the beach. Our Anniversary felt like a second honeymoon. We will always cherish the wonderful memories of our special week at The Winds.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mark H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarketingMan310, Director Of Marketing at The Winds Resort Beach Club, responded to this reviewResponded June 7, 2012

Dear Mark,

Congratulations on 25 years of marriage! Your kind words about our property and staff are very much appreciated. Everyone at The Winds really does work hard to see to it that our guests have the best possible experience. It is always rewardoing to hear that a guest enjoyed their time with us. Thank you so much for taking the time to share your experiences with other travelers. We hope to have the opportunity of seeing you again in the near future!

Warmest Regards,
Gary Pope
Director Of Marketing

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (682)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

434 - 440 of 682 reviews

Reviewed June 6, 2012

We rate The Winds as excellent overall! The staff was awesome! A very nice place to stay. We will return!

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank marc s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarketingMan310, Director Of Marketing at The Winds Resort Beach Club, responded to this reviewResponded June 7, 2012

Dear Marc,

Congratulations on your recent marriage! We are so glad you had a great honeymoon stay at The Winds Resort! We are always delighted to hear that a guest enjoyed their time with us. Thank you so much for taking the time to share your experiences with other travelers. Your kind words about our property and staff are very much appreciated. We hope to have the opportunity of seeing you again in the near future!

Warmest Regards,
Gary Pope
Director Of Marketing

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 4, 2012

I was at The Winds for a full week in May 2012. It was great, the staff are all so friendly and bend over backwards to help fill your needs. Yes, there are a lot of WATER BUGS that come out at night.... OUTSIDE, I never saw any bugs inside. When you are located on the water, and are covered with tropical foliage, you are going to have bugs that are attracted to the moist surroundings.
Yes, the place is older, but it is so nice & quaint and relaxed. It is well kept. I prefer this to the huge, 20-story hi-rises in PCB or Destin. The natural surroundings and non-commercialism is such a breath of fresh air. There is a de-humidifier is every room, which I'd never seen before in an ocean-front room, but it certainly did it's job well as the tank was full everyday (which the maid dumped.)
While searching for a wedding venue, I visited The Winds in January & was shown several different rooms, many floorplans to choose from. So complaining about a cramped room is just a poor selection on the guests' part.
The pool & deck area was tidy & clean, and the Tiki Bar was definitely a favorite of everyone in my wedding party! And the food from the Tiki Bar was surprisingly good.
Everyone that came to my wedding (41 people) were very well pleased with the accommodations and all had a wonderful, relaxing time.

Room Tip: First floor has no ocean view. The Wisteria room is very small. The Hibiscus was my favorite floorpl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rhonda R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarketingMan310, Director of Marketing at The Winds Resort Beach Club, responded to this reviewResponded June 6, 2012

Dear Rhonda,

First of all congratulations on your marriage! We are really pleased to hear that you were so happy with our property and staff and that you enjoyed your stay. We can't wait to have you come back!

The staff does work so hard and it is so nice for them to read your kind words.

Thank you so much for taking the time to share your experiences with other travelers (and us). Your kind words about our property and staff are very much appreciated (especially by the staff).

Seriously, thanks from all of us at The Winds!

Warmest Regards,
Gary Pope
Director Of Marketing

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 3, 2012

We stayed on the resort for our honeymoon and it was not what we expected at all. When it starts to get dark HUGE Roaches come out everywhere and some little ones too. I DO NOT like bugs so this was not the place for me! If you dont mind almost stepping on the huge roaches everywhere at night you might not mind staying here. The grounds are unkept. The only positive thing was the tiki bar had great food but after seeing all the bugs who can eat anyway. I stayed up at night hoping a roach wouldnt crawl into bed. Way over priced for what it really is!

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank 891elizabethZ891
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarketingMan310, Director Of Marketing at The Winds Resort Beach Club, responded to this reviewResponded June 4, 2012

Dear Valued Guest,

We are very sorry to hear that you did not enjoy everything about your stay. We do thank you for the positive comments that you made and do take all of your comments, good and bad very seriously.

I want to answer this as well as the other review that mentions bugs very honestly:

We are not bug infested! We do, however, have a lot of palm trees and unfortunately sometimes you get what are known as Palmetto Bugs with palm trees. We did become aware that we did have a problem last week and did have our pest control company come take care of it. We DO NOT have any problem now!

We have a pest control company under contract that comes weekly for the rooms and buildings and at no time ever had a roach problem in our rooms!

So... we had a problem with some Palmetto Bugs on the grounds from the palm trees and the minute we became aware of it we took steps to eradicate them.

I would like to point out that the majority of our other recent reviews are very good to excellent. We didn't reach the ranking we have on this site by being the kind of resort described in this review.

Also as far as our grounds being unkept - we have three full time Groundskeepers and our gardens are one of our most important features to our guests we are constantly complimented on them. They are lush and tropical but not unkept. Our groundskeepers as well as all of our staff are constantly picking up any trash that guests leave on the ground and our gardens are trimmed and maintained daily. All walkways and parking areas are blown off at least once a day.

Thanks you for your kind comments regarding our

Warmest Regards,
Gary Pope
Director Of Marketing

This guest was here prior to us becoming aware of the problem and dealing with it. There is no problem anymore and it was never as bad as described. However, seeing anything that resembles a roach even outside your room is not a pleasant experience and we do not ever want this to happen again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 31, 2012

We visited in 2007 and returned this month. I find that I am the most relaxed ever when I am at The Winds. Yes, the place is older and could probably stand a few updates, but that wonderful, relaxed feeling I get when I am there is priceless. In our first visit, I commented that a decent wifi was a must, especially for people who have to work even on vacation, and sure enough, they took care of it. They are responsive and caring people. We'll be back, that's for sure!

Room Tip: Definitely ask for oceanfront. The view of the beach is unbeatable, and the sound of the waves is he...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chris P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarketingMan310, Director Of Marketing at The Winds Resort Beach Club, responded to this reviewResponded June 4, 2012

Dear Valued Guest,

We are so very pleased to hear that you were so happy with our property and staff in 2007 that you came back to stay with us again!

Also we are glad that you find it so relaxing when you are here. Our staff does work hard so that our guests can relax and enjoy their stay and it is so nice for them to read your kind words.

Thank you so much for taking the time to share your experiences with other travelers (and us). Your kind words about our property and staff are very much appreciated.

We also are glad that you are pleased with the new WiFi - it is the third system we have put in and finally have one that people can count on. We are just sorry that the previous two weren't up to par!

Seriously thanks and best wishes from all of us at The Winds! We can't wait for you to return.

Warmest Regards,
Gary Pope
Director Of Marketing

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 31, 2012

We had stayed at The Winds for about 5 of our family summer vacations from about 2005 thru 2009. Had to pay for daughter's college years since then and had to stay closer to home for a while. We are excited to return to The Winds this summer. The staff is great, especially the food and drinks workers. While not elegant, the rooms are comfortable and homey. The grounds are landscaped beautifully. Always felt comfortable letting the kids loose there to visit the pools and hot tub area. Its helpful to have the laundry room for a mid week wash to cut down on so much clothing hauled there from Kentucky. The breakfast is varied and delicious,friendly staff there, and hours are accommadating even for the late sleepers in our group. The Bath and Body Works products are a nice extra in the bathrooms. Cant wait to return.

Room Tip: We prefer rooms at the top overlooking the beach. More exercise walking up and down, and a little mo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tami T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarketingMan310, Director Of Marketing at The Winds Resort Beach Club, responded to this reviewResponded June 4, 2012

Dear Tami,

We are really pleased to hear that you enjoyed your past stays so much and were so happy with our property and staff that you can't wait to come back. We can't wait to have you come back!

The staff does work so hard and it is so nice for them to read your kind words.

Thank you so much for taking the time to share your experiences with other travelers (and us). Your kind words about our property and staff are very much appreciated (especially by the staff).

Seriously, thanks from all of us at The Winds!

Warmest Regards,
Gary Pope
Director Of Marketing

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 27, 2012

Not what I expected for the price.
Pro's- breakfast buffet, thirsti tiki, and friendly staff.
Con's- horrible smell of the room, deafening dehumidifiers that run 24/7, spray painted appliances, tin foil on the stove eyes, lack of outlets, lack or closets/storage, tiny bedroom, wobbly kitchen table 'fixed' with wadded up paper under the leg, toilet hardly flushed, shower sprayed so hard it was painful, tub drain was broken, horrible outdated decor, unkempt grounds, unkept playground. Outdated pools. Painfully uncomfortable mattresses and sofa bed. Jellyfish on the beach for days! Oh and the huge cockroach that crawled out from under the mattress was pretty nasty, too.
We had a suite and we were CRAMPED. We thought about leaving 3 times the first day... It was do-able, but for that price i expected much, much more. DO NOT TRUST THE WEBSITE! They don't lie, exactly, but they embellish. It is in no way luxurious- no way.
Go ahead Mr.Pope, have at me.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank J S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarketingMan310, Director Of Marketing at The Winds Resort Beach Club, responded to this reviewResponded May 29, 2012

Dear Valued Guest,

We are very sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your stay. I don't really know what to say about the “have at me” comment as I certainly don't wish to have at anyone or ridicule any guest in any way.

We take ALL guest comments, good and bad very seriously and do so with yours as well.

However, I would like to respond by asking readers of this review to simply read all of our other reviews before letting this one scare them off. We didn't reach the ranking we have on this site by being the kind of resort described in this review.

I can't speak to the smell of the room but will investigate - this hasn't been a problem for us and no one else mentions it in their reviews here - but to continue...

We do have dehumidifiers in all of our rooms as a convenience to our guests as we are on the oceanfront where it is humid! If yours was making a noise we wish you had notified the office so that maintenance could fix or replace it. Of course you could also have very easily turned it off.

We have a number of different options in our suites - the one you chose is a one bedroom ground floor unit with a living room and full kitchen with a separate bedroom with two queen beds. Our website is very clear as to what the suite consists of; we even show a floor plan on the site. We don't lie or embellish the truth on our website – and, by the way, all photos on the site were taken at The Winds.

Actually as I read the rest of your review and don't think I will continue explaining as it becomes somewhat silly to respond to the all the comments about unkempt gardens and playgrounds, etc. etc. You even go on to complain that there were jellyfish - that is a little out of our control!

Yes, there are jellyfish sometimes in the ocean.

I do thank you for the positive comments about the breakfast and tiki bar and hope that you find pleasure in future visits to the beach. I hope that the next place you stay meets all of your expectations - perhaps they will clear the ocean of jellyfish for you.


Warmest Regards,
Gary Pope
Director Of Marketing

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ocean Isle Beach
1.7 mi away
Ocean Isle Inn
Ocean Isle Inn
#1 of 3 in Ocean Isle Beach
748 reviews
1.8 mi away
Islander Inn
Islander Inn
#3 of 3 in Ocean Isle Beach
523 reviews
13.5 mi away
The Prince Resort
The Prince Resort
#3 of 52 in North Myrtle Beach
1,215 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.5 mi away
Best Western Ocean Sands Beach Resort
Best Western Ocean Sands Beach R...
#4 of 52 in North Myrtle Beach
1,613 reviews
4.9 mi away
Rodeway Inn & Suites
Rodeway Inn & Suites
#3 of 3 in Shallotte
64 reviews
6.3 mi away
Days Inn Shallotte
Days Inn Shallotte
#2 of 3 in Shallotte
460 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Winds Resort Beach Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Winds Resort Beach Club

Address: 310 E First St, Ocean Isle Beach, NC 28469-7606
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > Ocean Isle Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Ocean Isle Beach
Price Range: $83 - $224 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Winds Resort Beach Club 3*
Number of rooms: 86
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A tropical island escape... Closer than you think! A small, intimate island resort. Ideal for vacations, romantic getaways, weddings, honeymoons, reunions, golf excursions or small meetings. Located in the Northernmost subtropical region on the east coast. The Winds is set oceanfront surrounded by palms, banana trees and hibiscus flowers. Oceanfront rooms, suites and Resort Cottages. Three pools (one indoor), hot Southern breakfast buffet, oceanfront, poolside TikiBar/Restaurant (and more). Golf on over 90 area courses. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and getaroom.com so you can book your The Winds Resort Beach Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Winds Resort Beach Club Hotel Ocean Isle Beach
The Winds Hotel Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing