We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place to stay”
Review of Ocean Isle Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Ocean Isle Inn
Certificate of Excellence
Lakewood, NJ
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Nice place to stay”
Reviewed May 25, 2006

We re-visited The Winds at Ocean Isle Beach, NC a couple of weeks ago. The last time we had been there was about 10 years ago. Not much has changed - found the staff to be very friendly and accommodating. We had a family health crisis that prevented us from arriving on our appointed day but they held our room (of course, we paid for this) and we were able to check-in as soon as we were able to get there. No all resorts will do this - they'll just give your room away if you arrive after 6:00 on your check-in day. This was appreciated. The breakfast buffet is served in the restaurant (when we were there it was only open for breakfast) and the patio bar was open two afternoons while we were there. Our bathroom could have used a little updating but they do provide lots of fluffy soft towels and bath and body works amenities. It was difficult to use the refrigerator because you first had to manuever around a large plastic plant to open the door. When cooking on the stove, we found that the electric coils were crooked and we couldn't fix them. We noted these complaints on the comment form and turned in when we left. I should stress that these were minor issues: looking out our window at the ocean, smelling the ocean, hearing the waves made it all worth while returning here. While we were unable to use the outdoor pool on the ocean (too cold yet), we enjoyed the indoor pool and outdoor hot tubs. If you're looking for a lot of activity, you will be disappointed here - we went to Myrtle Beach and Calabash - fun places to visit for a day. If you want total relaxation, visit this place off-season. We will definitely go back here someday.

  • Stayed May 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank IANHOL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

683 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    312
    240
    91
    25
    15
See reviews for
276
243
40
36
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (161)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
BR, IL
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed August 1, 2005

My family (husband, two kids...13 & 10) and I spent a week at Ocean Isle Beach staying at the Ocean Isle Inn in July 2005. It was a wonderful beach!! Quiet and clean. The Inn was nice, we stayed in a room with an ocean view, it was a great view. We did have to stay in another room one night on the last night and it was a regular smoking room, did not like it at all.
The ocean view room was fine, fridge and microwave, wonderful access to beach. The Inn is good, but has some drawbacks, it is not very well run and staff is sluggish, the pool area is nice but needs to be cleaned up more often, and the breakfast needs more(we ended up going to grocery store and just had breakfast in the room).
We really enjoyed our stay at Ocean Isle Beach and would go back, but would probably stay somewhere else, maybe a rental on the beach. It is a great place for a laid back family vacation on the beach.

  • Stayed July 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank jenbayler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed July 26, 2005

We were very unhappy with the Ocean Isle Inn. We stayed there about ten years ago and it was okay, but has definitely gone downhill and will never stay there again. We had a soundside room and there was no balcony which was a disappointment. You looked out at the road and the sound was not right there. We had problems getting into our room and it wasn't available until a couple hours after check in time. The continental breakfast was TERRIBLE. The coffe was watered down and the food selection was not good -- was the same thing every day. No fresh fruit except the same bowl of apples each day. The breakfast attendant did not keep the tables clean -- they were sticky with syrup. There were a couple mornings where they were out of milk and had to wait a while for them to replenish it. The refrigerator in the room did not keep things cold. The chemicals in the hot tub were so strong a couple times that it made people's eyes burn and cough. The beach area was very nice and enjoyed that. Ocean Isle is a nice place to go to get away from Myrtle Beach crowd and would visit Ocean Isle again, but a different hotel or condo.

  • Stayed July 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed July 19, 2005

The most important thing I can say about this place is dont believe what they tell you in the ads. Settled for a soundview room. The sound is about 5 miles away! Had a nice view of the traffic. Windows do not open. Ads say private balconies. Nowhere does it say ocean front only for private balconies but thats what we got folks at 169$ a night. A small, mildewy smelling room facing the road with no balcony. Water pressure in shower nearly nonexistent. More pressure in the outdoor shower! Will not stay at Ocean Isle Inn again. If you want to get away from the crowds at Myrtle, Ocean Isle is a beautiful beach with just a few people. Stay at Ocean Isle-just skip Ocean Isle Inn!

  • Stayed July 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roanoke, VA
Level Contributor
36 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed July 12, 2005

Was pleasantly surprised with Ocean Isle Beach...nice and quiet. The Inn itself was also quiet, other than the motel doors slamming in the early a.m. We had a great view of the ocean from our balcony...definitely worth the extra bucks to face it. When we arrived room was nice and clean and did not have that musty smell like a lot of ocean front properties. We stayed for 5 days, definitely enough time, and the housekeeping during that time was not the best. A broom never swept the tiled floor the whole time we were there. The inside pool could definitely have been much warmer. It didn't feel heated at all! The continental breakfast lacked so if you stay for a couple of days you might want to bring your own food. There was no tiki bar as advertised, nor any restaurant at all, if there was this place would be much better. The restaurants we did eat at were good, other than the Calabash one, Beck's. There was a great Mexican restaurant in Calabsh, right near Beck's. On OIB Cinelli's and The Isles were both excellent, be prepared to wait 45 minutes, the magic number it seems everywhere. We drove to Myrtle Beach one day, Barefoot Landing had a lot of stuff, but we were glad we stayed on OIB instead. There's not a whole lot to do there so make sure you bring things to keep the kids occupied. I think the price was a little steep for what they had to offer at the Inn but sometimes the quiet is worth the extra $. It was nice to get to our destination in a day and this beach rivals any Florida has to offer. We'd go back but only for 3 days.

  • Stayed July 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Light540
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte NC
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed March 6, 2005

For $89 per night off-season, there are much better deals in the N Myrtle Beach area. Decor was not as described -- no "lush Polynesian" theme, just apartment white and old, decrepit furniture. The windows are sealed and cannot be opened; the heating/air conditioning unit was very loud, so forget falling asleep to the sound of the waves. I have stayed in hotels all over the world, but have never experienced the noise transfer from room to room as there is here. No carpet in rooms, just sandpaper rough tile. Thus EVERY noise from the connecting room was audible. Our first room was on first floor directly above workmen replacing deck around pool using loud power tools all day. We immediately requested a room change, and were accomodated. However, even though there were only about 10 rooms in use in the entire property, they placed a group of 8 partying college kids right next to us, in a room with a connecting door. Our first call to front desk was at midnight. Clerk came up and told the kids to quiet down. Our second call was at 3:15 am. Again, the clerk came up and told them to be quiet. They did -- at about 5:00 am. I finally crawled into the bathtub and closed the door to get some sleep.

I spoke to the manager the next day and, in fairness, he said he had told the group to leave. He explained that they do not usually rent to those under 21. No offer to compensate us for our sleepless night, however. The "continental breakfast" makes airline food look good -- completely self-serve and in a conference room, not a restaurant. Stale bagels, watered-down coffee, plastic utensils, etc. There is no kitchenette -- just a tiny wet bar and a compact microwave at floor level under the TV -- be prepared to crawl on your belly to heat something. The dorm-sized refrigerator had so much accumulated frost that freezing anything would have been impossible. We will never stay here agin. Take my advice -- stay at Cherry Grove and drive up to Ocean Isle to enjoy the beach and shell collecting.

  • Stayed March 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
12 Thank JonathankCharlotteNC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seneca, SC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed April 21, 2004

After a one night nightmare(noisy, dirty room-crowds-dirty beach) at the Holiday Inn at Isle of Palms, SC last August, we drove up the coast to spend the rest of our vacation. We ended up at Ocean Isle Beach--we stopped at the Ocean Isle Inn and my husband went in to check for rates and vacancies. He explained our situation and the staff let us look at a room to make sure we liked it-and they gave us a great rate! Those days at Ocean Isle made up for the night at Isle of Palms! We are already planning a trip back to Ocean Isle this August.
The beach is clean and uncrowded. The room was wonderful, with the oceanfront balcony and l loved the tile floors. The staff was excellent, providing extra towels as needed and helpful in recommending places to eat.
Much better than the crowds at nearby Myrtle Beach--but close enough to go shopping...and Calabash seafood is just minutes away!

  • Stayed August 2004
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
12 Thank noopy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ocean Isle Beach
0.1 mi away
Islander Inn
Islander Inn
#3 of 3 in Ocean Isle Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 498 reviews
5.6 mi away
Rodeway Inn & Suites
Rodeway Inn & Suites
#3 of 3 in Shallotte
3.5 of 5 bubbles 63 reviews
15.8 mi away
Best Western Ocean Sands Beach Resort
Best Western Ocean Sands Beach R...
#3 of 52 in North Myrtle Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,436 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.8 mi away
The Prince Resort
The Prince Resort
#4 of 52 in North Myrtle Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,028 reviews
13.9 mi away
Avista Resort
Avista Resort
#5 of 52 in North Myrtle Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,179 reviews
6.4 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#2 of 3 in Shallotte
3.5 of 5 bubbles 75 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ocean Isle Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ocean Isle Inn

Property: Ocean Isle Inn
Address: 37 W First St, Ocean Isle Beach, NC 28469-7508
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > Ocean Isle Beach
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Ocean Isle Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Ocean Isle Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the coast of southeastern North Carolina is the Ocean Isle Inn. An Oceanfront property which is the perfect oasis for leisure travel, beach weddings, golf outings, family reunions or even business. Enjoy our beaches and all the amenities ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Ocean Isle Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ocean Isle Hotel Ocean Isle Beach
Hotel Ocean Isle

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing