We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Vacation”
Review of Ocean Isle Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Ocean Isle Inn
Certificate of Excellence
Cowpens, South Carolina
Level Contributor
36 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Great Vacation”
Reviewed June 8, 2014

Just got home from a four day stay at Ocean Isle Inn. Our family of four, including two teenagers, really enjoyed our vacation. The room was clean and we were impressed with the facilities. Both pools were clean and well maintained. The flights of stairs to our second level room wasn't a big deal. Everyone had plenty of pillows on their bed and the balcony was clean. We loved the rocking chairs! Breakfast was well stocked with many choices. The hotel was right on the beach, with a short walk to the ocean. We really liked the uncrowded beaches and location. Restaurants and other events were within a short drive. The very crowded and busy North Myrtle and Myrtle Beaches were within a 30 minute drive.
Sunset Beach, NC was a short drive away... my daughter and I trekked the mile and a quarter to find the Kindred Spirit mailbox while my husband and son went deep sea fishing. I would definitely recommend the hotel to others and look forward to visiting again.

Room Tip: Definitely choose oceanfront... you'll find it relaxing and get to watch the weddings!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Owenfamily2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oceanisleinn, Social Media Director at Ocean Isle Inn, responded to this review, June 9, 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you so much for your kind words about our property and your recent stay with us. We always appreciate such feedback as yours. It was a pleasure to chat with you and your daughter while you were with us and I'm so happy you made it to the Kindred Spirit mailbox on nearby Bird Island. We look forward to having your entire family stay with us again during your next visit to Ocean Isle Beach.

Safe Travels

Tracy A. Spencer
Social Media Director
The Ocean Isle Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

695 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    318
    244
    93
    25
    15
See reviews for
282
249
40
36
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (162)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Dunedin, Florida
Level Contributor
274 reviews
80 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
Reviewed June 7, 2014 via mobile

I came here to visit friends and have a place to just sleep. The owner was nice to wave a 2 night minimum to accommodate my one night in season. When we arrived at the hotel very late everyone was very nice but the room was very old. It was clean but the room and hallways looked like they were right out of 1973. I did not shower or take my shoes off the entire time I was there. I think this hotel gets high ratings because people have fond memories of staying here when they were young and they return. I bet the rooms were the same then as today. Not for me. Beautiful location and views but remodel is way over due!

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
6 Thank gatorcindy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oceanisleinn, Social Media Director at Ocean Isle Inn, responded to this review, June 9, 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking time to offer us your comments about your recent stay with us. We are happy to hear that your interactions with our staff were pleasant and that your did find our rooms to be clean. We're dismayed to read that you feel our rooms are "right out of 1973." I can assure you that this is not the case. As with any hotel property, upgrades must be made on a regular basis. All of our rooms and hallways are painted each year and we recently installed new carpeting in the hallways. The rooms themselves recently received new bed comforters and linens, choice pillows, crown molding, new rocking chairs on the balconies, etc. It is a continual process and we are always looking for ways to improve. Once again, we do thank you for taking time to share your feedback. Perhaps during your next visit to the area you'll stop by and see more of our improvements.

Safe Travels

Tracy A. Spencer
Social Media Director
The Ocean Isle Inn Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blountville, Tennessee
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 7, 2014

We loved the Ocean Isle Inn! It was super clean (great maid service), had a beautiful view from our ocean front balcony with rocking chairs, and the price was reasonable. The breakfast was adequate and I noticed previous reviews complained of the lack of eggs....apparently, the Inn provided bacon, egg and cheese biscuits since the review last month! and they weren't bad. There was even a wedding to watch from our balcony (not provided JUST for us, I'm sure!). The only problem was the ONE elevator SIX closed doorways from our room. I'm sure the doors were closed because of fire code and I really see nothing the management could do regarding the problem. And at least I could eat all the seafood I wanted without gaining weight! I climbed it off with each 3-story climb!Great exercise!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kathy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oceanisleinn, Social Media Director at Ocean Isle Inn, responded to this review, June 9, 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you so much for taking time to share you thoughts with us and our guests. We're happy to that you enjoyed your stay with us and found our rooms to be super clean. I will be sure to pass this along to the housekeeping staff. Indeed, they do work hard to make sure our rooms are in order. We consistently receive the Gold Star of Excellence from the Myrtle Beach area Hospitality Association for our housekeeping staff. AS you mentioned, there is but one centrally located elevator for our property and as you stated, the fire code does require us to keep the adjoining hallway doors closed. We realize that can be somewhat inconvenient for some of our guests, but we are more than happy to try to reserve rooms closer to the elevator if at all possible and offer assistance. And true, like you said climbing stairs after a large seafood meal at the beach is great exercise. We're happy that you enjoyed the breakfast we provided. The bacon, egg and cheese biscuits are a real hit! We look forward to having you stay with us again during your next visit to Ocean Isle Beach.

Kind regards,

Tracy A. Spencer
Social Media Director
The Ocean Isle Inn Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 30, 2014 via mobile

My girlfriends and I had a quick getaway here the week before Memorial Day. We had an ocean front room and loved every second of it. Quiet, relaxing, friendly staff, yummy breakfast, clean rooms, comfy beds (wanted to accidentally pack a pillow in my bag) and just steps away from the sand. What more could you ask for? I can't wait to come back! I only wish you allowed pets!!

Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Kimberley B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oceanisleinn, Social Media Director at Ocean Isle Inn, responded to this review, June 2, 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you so much for your kind words about our property. It's nice to hear that you and the girls had such a wonderful time while staying with us. We're glad you enjoyed the pillows too. Many guests have commented that they enjoy having a variety of thickness / firmness of pillows to choose from in their rooms. We'd be delighted to have you stay with us again for as long as you wish. Just give us a call.

Safe Travels

Tracy A. Spencer
Social Media Director
The Ocean Isle Inn Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kannapolis, North Carolina
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2014

We stayed here for the first time on Memorial weekend after making the mistake of going into Myrtle last year at this time. We were pleasantly pleased at the serene quiet surroundings The room was spacious with a balcony facing the beach. The beds were soft (queen) and the beach was just steps away. The continental breakfast was good every morning. Maybe more protein foods on the bar would have been nice but overall no complaints. The staff was teriffic and helped with great restaurant suggestions. Try Sharkey's if you go there. The beach was not crowded and overall just a great trip. We loved the rocking chairs on the balcony.

Room Tip: No fitness center that we saw. Get a sea side room the view is great,
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank tony o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oceanisleinn, Social Media Director at Ocean Isle Inn, responded to this review, May 29, 2014
Dear Guest

I just wanted to take a moment to say thank you for your kind words about our property regarding your recent stay with us. It is rewarding for us to know that you had such a pleasurable time while staying here. Memorial Day weekend is typically one of the busiest weekends of the season for the coastal areas, yet Ocean Isle still retains a more relaxed and quiet atmosphere as opposed to some of the surrounding areas. We are so happy to hear that you enjoyed the balcony and rocking chairs, as this new addition has been quite a hit with our guests. Once again, thank you for sharing your comments. I will be sure to pass this along to our entire staff. We look forward to having you stay with us again during your next visit to Ocean Isle Beach.

Safe Travels,

Tracy A. Spencer
Social Media Director
The Ocean Isle Inn Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hendersonville, North Carolina, United States
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed May 25, 2014

nice small hotel, an older hotel but well kept, very clean and spacious room..the indoor and outdoor pools are wonderful..the waffles are good at breakfast..also this is the only hotel my family has ever stayed with plenty of towels and pillows, very soft beds and a great AC.. loved the tile floors instead of carpet..we stayed sound view and we were still only steps form the ocean. my only little complaint is parking b/c there isnt much..fine in daytime but when we returned each night we had a very hard time finding a spot. another plus, the staff are great..had a noisy neighbor in room next door and they quietened them down for us, it was after midnight and staff took care of the problem. great place reasonable rates.

Room Tip: rooms away from doors and elevators are the quietest obviously and top floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Yvonne K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oceanisleinn, Social Media Director at Ocean Isle Inn, responded to this review, May 26, 2014
Dear Guest

We'd like to thank you for your kind words regarding your recent stay with us. It's rewarding to know when a guest has received the level of service that they expect. We appreciate your sentiments about having plenty of pillows and towels and the tile flooring. It's these small details that add to your enjoyment and relaxation and we're glad you noticed. We do apologize for the noisy neighbor, but we're glad that you gave us the opportunity to quickly remedy the situation for you. Our entire staff if more than willing to help out our guests. We look forward to having you stay with us again during your next visit to Ocean Isle Beach.

Safe Travels,

Tracy A. Spencer
Social Media Director
The Ocean Isle Inn Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed May 24, 2014

We stayed here for 3 nights and really liked the place. The location is amazing, just steps away from the beach. We had a room with a balcony facing the ocean and it was great waking up and falling asleep to the sound of waves. I would definitely recommend it here. The only downside was the "breakfast" that's included with the room, there wasn't much offered, but it was ok for a quick bite.

Room Tip: Get a room facing the ocean, even if you have to pay a little extra, it is well worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Keith P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oceanisleinn, Social Media Director at Ocean Isle Inn, responded to this review, May 26, 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you so much for your kind words regarding your recent stay at our property. We always appreciate hearing what our guests have to say, as your feedback is important to us. We're so happy to hear that you enjoyed falling to sleep to the sounds of the ocean from your oceanfront room. We're sorry that you did not find our free continental breakfast fulfilling. Most guests enjoy the variety of muffins, make your own waffles, cereals, yogurts and juices offered. Typically a continental breakfast is little more than coffee and danish, but we offer much more than that for free!. Still, we are happy that you enjoyed your time with us and truly do appreciate you recommending us to your friends and relatives. We look forward to having you stay with us again during your next visit to Ocean Isle Beach.

Safe Travels,

Tracy A. Spencer
Social Media Director
The Ocean Isle Inn Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ocean Isle Beach
0.1 mi away
Islander Inn
Islander Inn
#3 of 3 in Ocean Isle Beach
501 reviews
5.6 mi away
Rodeway Inn & Suites
Rodeway Inn & Suites
#3 of 3 in Shallotte
63 reviews
15.8 mi away
Best Western Ocean Sands Beach Resort
Best Western Ocean Sands Beach R...
#3 of 52 in North Myrtle Beach
1,471 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.8 mi away
The Prince Resort
The Prince Resort
#4 of 52 in North Myrtle Beach
1,071 reviews
6.4 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#2 of 3 in Shallotte
76 reviews
7.3 mi away
Days Inn Shallotte
Days Inn Shallotte
#1 of 3 in Shallotte
402 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ocean Isle Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ocean Isle Inn

Property: Ocean Isle Inn
Address: 37 W First St, Ocean Isle Beach, NC 28469-7508
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > Ocean Isle Beach
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Ocean Isle Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Ocean Isle Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the coast of southeastern North Carolina is the Ocean Isle Inn. An Oceanfront property which is the perfect oasis for leisure travel, beach weddings, golf outings, family reunions or even business. Enjoy our beaches and all the amenities ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Ocean Isle Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ocean Isle Hotel Ocean Isle Beach
Hotel Ocean Isle

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing