We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (840)
Filter reviews
840 results
Traveler rating
394
287
106
32
21
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
394
287
106
32
21
Show reviews that mention
All reviews room was clean waffles continental breakfast outdoor pool hot tub fresh fruit great place to stay myrtle beach get away enjoyed our stay non smoking putt putt cleaning staff nice beach location was perfect waffle maker top floor
Filter
Updating list...
615 - 620 of 840 reviews
Reviewed December 18, 2013

My wife and I visited November 19th and 20th for business and vacation. The area was nice and the room was ok until: The door wouldn't lock securely. We told the front desk and they said no one here until tomorrow morning. They gave us another room, since their may have been only 10 rooms rented that night. The room was not as good as it over looked the parking lot. We were told that it would be fixed the next day and she was let us know. Never heard a word or did they fix it quickly the next day. The attitude of most of the employees we met was average at best. The room(s) were nice, clean and no complaints. The personnel was poor------------maybe not many places in the area as far as hotels so they have an attitude. Probably would not stay again

Date of stay: November 2013
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Craig H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oceanisleinn, Social Media Director at Ocean Isle Inn, responded to this reviewResponded December 19, 2013

Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to offer us your comments about your recent stay at out property. We apologize for any inconvenience you experienced with the lock to your room. We are saddened to hear that your interaction with our desk clerk was less than pleasant. We do appreciate you relaying this to us and we will take appropriate measures. Rest assured that we do value each of our guests and want them to feel welcomed at our property. We hope that you will give us another chance to be of service to you.

Kind regards
Tracy A. Spencer
Social Media Director
The Ocean Isle Inn Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 21, 2013

This was our 1st stay at Ocean Isle Inn and we stayed October 17 and 18 in an oceanfront room. We usually stay next door at the Islander Inn when we bring our dog as Ocean Isle Inn doesn't allow them. Both hotels are basically the same although this one seems to be maintained better. The landscaping around the pool area is very nice, the indoor heated pool was warmer than the Islander Inn's and the breakfast room was nicer. The room countertops were more recently updated and the bedding was more modern. (no yucky outdated thin bedspread). Upon checkin we were taken into the hallway where we were told and shown where everything is, very helpful even though the place is small enough that it really isn't necessary. Some minor complaints - the bathroom countertops were not clean (some smudges). No white bread for toast (only wheat) in breakfast room either day. Dogs not accepted. Ocean Isle Inn should look at revising this policy especially since there is no carpet in the rooms. Overall - we will definitely stay here again if we don't travel with the dog, otherwise it will be pet friendly Islander Inn.

Date of stay: October 2013
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank A G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oceanisleinn, Social Media Director at Ocean Isle Inn, responded to this reviewResponded October 22, 2013

Dear Guest

Thank you so much for sharing you comments about your recent stay with us. It is pleasing for us to know that you enjoyed our property and its amenities. We do strive diligently to keep our property well maintained and we're happy you noticed. We're sorry we could not accommodate your four-legged family member, although we do love pets. This is due to the fact that separate laundry facilities would be required to prevent transference of pet hair into other non pet-friendly rooms and linens. Ocean Isle Beach is a wonderful area in which to vacation and we're delighted you chose to stay with us. We look forward to having you lodge with us again during your next visit to the area.

Kind regards,

Tracy A. Spencer
Social Media Director
The Ocean Isle Inn Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2013

Stayed here October 4th, 5th, and 6th in room 207. Never even been to Ocean Isle before this trip and chose Ocean Isle Inn off of TA reviews. I have nothing bad to say about this motel. Clean, decent breakfast, pools looked nice, great service and staff, really nice beach, close to the pier for fishing. Room was about as clean as you could expect at the beach. Parking was fine and we were pretty full on Saturday.

Date of stay: October 2013
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank birdieputt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oceanisleinn, Social Media Director at Ocean Isle Inn, responded to this reviewResponded October 12, 2013

Dear Guest

Thank you for sharing your comments with us and our customers. We are happy knowing that you enjoyed your 3 nights at our facility and found us to be clean and friendly. Our entire staff takes pride in their work and offering our customers a rewarding stay. It's nice to know that you were pleased with our work. We look forward to having you stay with us again on your next visit to Ocean Isle Beach.

Kind regards

Tracy A. Spencer
Social Media Director
The Ocean Isle Inn Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 29, 2013 via mobile

Although we went on a weekend where all the ocean Front rooms were booked we still enjoyed our room. Spacious room with a view of the bridge. Walking distance of lots of beach shops, restaurants, a playground and a museum. We also saw a little golf course. Great outside pool that we didn't get in too much because of the cooler weather. We however thoroughly enjoyed the inside pool and hot tub. Loved being able to wake up and go to the conference room to make waffles in the nifty little waffle maker they have which is timed. The only thing we had an issue with was the lid for the ice bucket. It was dirty. Idk if it was stained that way. Either way we didn't use the ice bucket because we didn't need to. I would go back to the inn. I would also recommend it.

Date of stay: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brittany E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oceanisleinn, Social Media Director at Ocean Isle Inn, responded to this reviewResponded October 1, 2013

Dear Guest

Thank you for offering us your comments about your recent stay with us. We are happy to hear that you had such a great weekend while visiting the Ocean Isle Inn. Although not over-developed, there are still many family-oriented activities in the area for our guests to enjoy. I will pass along your comments regarding the ice bucket lid to our housekeeping department. Please accept our apologies for this oversight. Again, we do appreciate your kind words and we look forward to having you with us again.

Kind regards,

Tracy A. Spencer
Social Media Director
The Ocean Isle Inn Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 21, 2013

We've been vacationing at Ocean Isle Beach since 1981, usually renting a condo for the two of us, or beach house with friends. This was our first year in a very long time that we chose hotel accommodations -- lugging linens, towels, kitchen items, etc., has gotten to be too much a bother. Not to mention the marked decline in service and quality of condo units in recent years (I'm talking about you, Sloan Realty).

Our one non-negotiable is oceanfront, so I searched hotels accordingly. Of the three on the island (The Winds, Ocean Isle Inn and The Islander), this property was the only one with oceanfront rooms available on relatively short notice for the week in question. Being frequent visitors to the island, we knew the Inn was near the pier and a short walk to restaurants and shops on the causeway. And we were familiar with the exterior layout. No surprises on those points.

We arrived around 4:00 p.m., and found our room was ready for us. The front desk at check-in was friendly, gave us the rundown on amenities, breakfast, use of the pool and so on. Our room was on the top floor, overlooking the pool with the ocean beyond. The balconies are small, but big enough for two people -- we appreciated the two rocking chairs and small table, which we used a great deal.

The property is definitely showing its age. The furniture and bathroom fixtures could use updating. And I understand the need for tile floors in a beachfront hotel, but a few more rugs underfoot would have been nice. And the air conditioners are LOUD! Hubby was able to reduce the vibration by wedging a shampoo bottle in between the vents.

As with many hotels, there is a lack of insulation in the walls and sound carries between rooms and from the hallways. But since they weren't at full capacity the week of our stay, there wasn't much (if any) late-night noise.

However, having said all that, the bed was comfortable and the housekeeping staff did a good job keeping the room clean. We did lodge a complaint (twice) with the front desk about the broken clock radio in our room; this was not addressed during our stay. A minor point, but worth noting.

Their continental breakfast is pretty basic: pastries, cereal, DIY waffles, and microwaveable breakfast sandwiches. Milk and juice but no fresh fruit. There is an indoor pool and Jacuzzi in addition to the outdoor pool. Umbrellas and lounge chairs are available for rent out on the beach. I liked not having to set this stuff up myself -- after all, I'm on vacation!

As noted above, it's a short walk from the hotel to the pier, restaurants and other shopping. We walked over to Sharky's and Pogie's for dinner several nights. We also drove out to the Inlet View in Shallote one evening. With Sunset Beach, Calabash and North Myrtle Beach nearby, there's an abundance of dining options within a short drive.

Upon check-out, I did mention (again!) the broken radio and the response was "you should have told us, we would have switched it out." Different person on the front desk that morning, and I let her know that we did in fact tell them. Twice.

To sum up: hotel options at Ocean Isle are limited. The Ocean Isle Inn could benefit from some updating, but its location somewhat makes up for its shortcomings. Housekeeping was efficient and helpful, the amenities were more than adequate, and the room rate was a good value. Overall, a successful vacation.

Date of stay: September 2013
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Susan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oceanisleinn, Social Media Director at Ocean Isle Inn, responded to this reviewResponded September 23, 2013

Dear Guest

Thank you so much for offering us your feedback about your recent stay at our property. We are happy that you had an enjoyable time while with us. Many of our guests are been complimenting the new rocking chairs on our oceanfront balcony's.We are glad you enjoyed them too! And indeed, our central location on the island does make for easy access to the nearby island amenities. We do apologize about the broken clock/radio in your room. Typically, these are replaced immediately. However, we discovered that our stock had been depleted and had to order more. We sincerely apologize to you for this minor issue. We will pass along your kind words to our housekeeping and desk staff. We look forward to having you with us again during your next visit to Ocean Isle Beach.

Kind regards,

Tracy A. Spencer
Social Media Director
The Ocean Isle Inn Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews