We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to have a beach wedding!!”
Review of Ocean Isle Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Ocean Isle Inn
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
“Great place to have a beach wedding!!”
Reviewed June 3, 2013

We had our daughters wedding here and the hotel staff treated her like a queen! We come stay at this hotel a couple of times every summer & we have always had consistently great service. We have watched many weddings from the balcony of our room here & they are always beautiful! Our daughters wedding weekend was perfect for all who attended & I would highly recommend having your beach wedding here.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kcamp1991
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oceanisleinn, Social Media Director at Ocean Isle Inn, responded to this review, June 10, 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you so much for taking time to share your positive comments about our staff and facility. It was our pleasure to host your daughters wedding and have your family with us for such a special occasion. We host several weddings throughout the year and each one is unique. We are delighted that you chose the Ocean Isle Inn to host this event for you. We wish the bride and groom many years of wedded bliss and hope to have you with us again during your next visit to Ocean Isle Beach.

Kind regards,

Tracy A. Spencer
Social Media Director
The Ocean Isle Inn Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

708 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    325
    249
    94
    25
    15
See reviews for
290
253
40
36
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (163)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Chesapeake, Virginia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 2, 2013

I couldn't agree more with the last review I just read. Although I found the hotel acceptable, the two women at the front desk greeted us with sourpusses. One was especially rude. We arrived 45 minutes early and our room wasn't ready and she said it would be ready shortly. I understand this happens. We were there for a wedding, so some of our family had rented a beach house which we easily could use to get ready for the wedding. So I asked how long "shortly" was. Shortly as in 5-10 minutes so we'll stand here and wait or shortly as in 20-30 minutes in which case we'd drive down the street to beach house and get ready. She said she couldn't possibly know how long it would take. Fine. We'll go to the beach house and get ready. So I want my key so we'll be set for later. Well, she can't give me the key until I've checked in, which of course she can't do until the room is ready. Then she sits down and lets out this big sigh at me. I told her that was rude. Don't remember what she said, but it was snippy. Then I asked about leaving the key for later, but of course by then I was worried we'd get there later and the room wouldn't be available. I wasn't feeling the warm fuzzies and truly thought she might be nasty enough to give my room away. The other sourpuss assured me they wouldn't give our room away and we left. When we returned later that night, we were greeted by two wonderful night staff who checked us in with no trouble. However, I was so put out by the treatment I'd never give this place my money again.

Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank Susan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oceanisleinn, Social Media Director at Ocean Isle Inn, responded to this review, June 3, 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for sharing your comments about your recent stay at our property. Please accept our apologies for falling short on your expectations. We want all of our guests to feel welcomed when they arrive at our property. Obviously this did not happen for you. This matter had previously been brought to the attention of management by the evening clerks you encountered and rest assured, this matter has been handled. Once again, we apologize for the unprofessional behavior you encountered from any members of our staff. We'd also like to acknowledge your positive comments about the two evening clerks that later checked you in.

Kind regards

Tracy A. Spencer
Social Media Director
The Ocean Isle Inn Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Concord, North Carolina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 27, 2013

We walked in with our reservation number and were told very rudely by the desk clerk that she did not recognize the number as theirs, therefore she was sure we DID NOT have a reservation. Yet, our credit card had already been charged by hotel.com. By the way do not ever use hotel.com or Kayak or Expedia. (they're one and the same). Kayak book and billed us but when we contacted them about our stay and about our charges, they said it was handled by hotel.com and that we should direct complaints or other comments to hotel.com. The desk clerk said our reservation was through Expedia. ???? Anyway, while we were standing there waiting for the clerk to decide if we really had reservations or not, another couple came in and got a ocean front room--on the spot-- with no reservation for about $25.00 less than our cost (and we were didn't have ocean front rooms either). After the rude clerk looked further she found our reservation. She said we should've told her that we had booked it within the past two hours!! ??? I didn't understand her behavior. My husband was furious with the treatment we were receiving. I mentioned to her that we would like our charge to be comparable to the couple who just came and got there room for $25.00 less. She said there was nothing she could do about our charge since we went through Expedia online. She said the couple got the "last minute deal". Huh? Had we known there was such, we would not have reserved a room. We thought if we tried to come into an ocean front motel at the last minute they would take advantage of us and over-charge us. But, apparently not true; you get a better deal to wait and walk in at 7:00p.m. So we swallowed our disappointment and decided it was a lesson learned in many ways. Before we got into our room, we called Kayak and complained of the cost though. They said the difference in cost was not to have been disclosed to us! Kayak must've called the desk clerk because she came running out to our car to tell us she wanted to change us to ocean front room because of our disappointment. She said she wanted to make us happy with the upgrade. We took the upgrade gladly. Like I said, lesson learned. The room was comfortable enough,
though. The breakfast was full of carbohydrates (no protein --like eggs) but we were pleased to have a filling breakfast none-the-less.

Room Tip: Rooms on the top are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Karen1068
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oceanisleinn, Social Media Director at Ocean Isle Inn, responded to this review, May 28, 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for sharing your comments about your recent stay at our property. We are saddened to hear that your interaction with our clerk was less than stellar. Please accept our apology. Our goal is to be professional and courteous at all times with our guests. As for the rate you received when booking online, we always encourage travelers to contact the hotel directly for the best available rate, as we have no control over what third party online vendors charge. Still, we were happy to have had the availability and local empowerment to upgrade you to an Oceanfront room at no additional charge. Please by assured that this matter has been addressed by management. We do hope you'll give us the opportunity to be of service to you in the future and demonstrate hospitality.

Kind regards,

Tracy A. Spencer
Social Media Director
The Ocean Isle Inn Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wooster, Ohio
Level 6 Contributor
185 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
Reviewed May 18, 2013

We have spent numerous summer vacations for 15 years with extended family members but always stayed at an ocean front beach property. Now that everyone is grown and live in other parts of the world, we went alone for a quick two-day memory trip. We chose the Ocean Isle Inn for our nights and were certainly impressed. For starters it is so interesting to be on the island in May rather than the heated summer vacation days.

The Inn was very clean and tidy. We reserved a king-sized ocean view room that sported a balcony overlooking the pool and a backdrop of the ocean, all bright and glittery as we'd remembered. We liked the tile floors in the rooms, the inviting conference room for their complementary breakfasts, their white pillows and bedspreads. We especially like the cleanliness of the balcony chairs as that is not usually what we find.

The indoor and outdoor pools were totally clean and the hot tub by the inside pool was actually hot. We were very impressed.

Room Tip: The ocean view is wonderful but the ocean is wonderful so no matter where you stay, the ocean is onl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank janniebabe1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oceanisleinn, Social Media Director at Ocean Isle Inn, responded to this review, May 21, 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you so much for kind comments about your recent stay at our property. Our entire staff strives to make sure that our property is well maintained, clean and comfortable. Its rewarding for us to know that you enjoyed your time with us and found our hotel to be to your liking. We look forward to having you with us again during your next visit to Ocean Isle Beach.

Kind regards,

Tracy A. Spencer
Social Media Director
The Ocean Isle Inn Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clermont, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed May 7, 2013

Cute little oceanfront Inn. Quaint, clean, comfortable rooms. Perfect way to relax and unwind before and after a long day of deep sea fishing. Hotel staff was very helpful and accommodating. Oceanview rooms have balconies and unobstructed views. Has pools (indoor and outdoor). Located right on the ocean.

Room Tip: Ask for an oceanview room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SweetPea2bk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oceanisleinn, Social Media Director at Ocean Isle Inn, responded to this review, May 8, 2013
Dear Guest
Thank you so much for offering us and our readers your positive comments about your recent stay with us. We are happy know that you had a relaxing time and found our inn to be "quaint, clean and comfortable." Indeed, we do offer a relaxing and friendly atmosphere after a long day of fishing and the views from our oceanfront balconies can't be beat. We look forward to having you stay wish us again during your next visit to Ocean Isle Beach.

Kind regards,

Tracy A. Spencer
The Ocean Isle Inn Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Green Cove Springs, Florida, United States
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 28, 2013

Lovely place to stay. Oceanside room with a great view. Awesome venue for the wedding we attended! Room was clean and the beds were very comfortable!! Great place for Non smokers as managment is serious about its no smoking policy in the rooms and common areas. Very nice pools indoor and outdoor. Beach access was convienent!
Wifi was spotty and we had no access after 11pm..No one in the office answered the phone when we were ready to do early checkout at 5 am-we just used the key drop box on the way out.
Great value and An Awesome location for a wedding!

Room Tip: Choose beachside. Ask for a room away from the pool if you like a quiet room
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Arlene J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oceanisleinn, social media director at Ocean Isle Inn, responded to this review, April 29, 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you so much for sharing your comments about your recent stay with us. We are delighted to know that you enjoyed your time with us and the wedding we hosted for your loved ones. Beach Weddings are quite popular at our oceanfront facility and we strive to make each one as perfect and memorable as it can be for all involved. We do apologize for any inconvenience you may have experienced with our free WIFI. We are working with our service provider to improve our WIFI and expand our bandwidth for our guests. We are sorry that our night attendant missed you during check out. Our night attendants do perform routine safety checks around our property and are away from the desk at times. We are glad you located the key drop box by the front door of our office just for such circumstances.

Once again, we're happy to know that you had an enjoyable time while attending the wedding at our property. We look forward to having you with us again during your next visit to Ocean Isle Beach.

Kind regards,

Tracy A. Spencer
Social Media Director
The Ocean Isle Inn Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jupiter, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
122 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed April 2, 2013

Ocean Isle Inn is located on a nice quiet and friendly beach in N.C. Hotel staff friendly and location is easy to find and access. Rooms are ample and every room has an ocean view and balcony. Reasonable rates off season but pricey otherwise and a microwave and coffee pot just won't cut it for anyone, especially families staying for any length over 1 night. Area is very limited when it comes to dining out so this may be a good base to stay just drive to find a decent place to eat. Internet access, nice pool and okay free breakfast each morning.

Room Tip: All rooms are good, great pool and family friendly. The free breakfast is ok but BETTER than what y...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Big D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oceanisleinn, Social Media Director at Ocean Isle Inn, responded to this review, April 4, 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking time to give us your feedback about your recent stay with us. We value each guests opinion on the service they received while staying with us. We are happy to know that you found our property to be clean and our staff friendly. Each of our rooms are equipped with a coffee maker, refrigerator, and microwave, suitable for preparing in-room snacks and refreshments. There are also a number of restaurants within 5-10 minutes of our hotel, some within walking distance, that offer a great variety of menu options. Any of our staff members would have been more than happy to help you find the perfect dining establishment. Still, we are happy that you enjoyed your time with us and we will pass along your kind words to our staff. We look forward to having you with us again during your next visit to Ocean Isle Beach.

Kind regards,

Tracy A. Spencer
Social Media Director
The Ocean Isle Inn Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ocean Isle Beach
0.1 mi away
Islander Inn
Islander Inn
#3 of 3 in Ocean Isle Beach
508 reviews
5.6 mi away
Rodeway Inn & Suites
Rodeway Inn & Suites
#3 of 3 in Shallotte
63 reviews
11.8 mi away
The Prince Resort
The Prince Resort
#4 of 52 in North Myrtle Beach
1,111 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.8 mi away
Best Western Ocean Sands Beach Resort
Best Western Ocean Sands Beach R...
#3 of 52 in North Myrtle Beach
1,501 reviews
7.3 mi away
Days Inn Shallotte
Days Inn Shallotte
#1 of 3 in Shallotte
422 reviews
6.4 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#2 of 3 in Shallotte
78 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ocean Isle Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ocean Isle Inn

Property: Ocean Isle Inn
Address: 37 W First St, Ocean Isle Beach, NC 28469-7508
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > Ocean Isle Beach
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Ocean Isle Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Ocean Isle Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the coast of southeastern North Carolina is the Ocean Isle Inn. An Oceanfront property which is the perfect oasis for leisure travel, beach weddings, golf outings, family reunions or even business. Enjoy our beaches and all the amenities ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and getaroom.com so you can book your Ocean Isle Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ocean Isle Hotel Ocean Isle Beach
Hotel Ocean Isle

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing