We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rude desk clerk”
Review of Ocean Isle Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Ocean Isle Inn
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 27, 2013

We walked in with our reservation number and were told very rudely by the desk clerk that she did not recognize the number as theirs, therefore she was sure we DID NOT have a reservation. Yet, our credit card had already been charged by hotel.com. By the way do not ever use hotel.com or Kayak or Expedia. (they're one and the same). Kayak book and billed us but when we contacted them about our stay and about our charges, they said it was handled by hotel.com and that we should direct complaints or other comments to hotel.com. The desk clerk said our reservation was through Expedia. ???? Anyway, while we were standing there waiting for the clerk to decide if we really had reservations or not, another couple came in and got a ocean front room--on the spot-- with no reservation for about $25.00 less than our cost (and we were didn't have ocean front rooms either). After the rude clerk looked further she found our reservation. She said we should've told her that we had booked it within the past two hours!! ??? I didn't understand her behavior. My husband was furious with the treatment we were receiving. I mentioned to her that we would like our charge to be comparable to the couple who just came and got there room for $25.00 less. She said there was nothing she could do about our charge since we went through Expedia online. She said the couple got the "last minute deal". Huh? Had we known there was such, we would not have reserved a room. We thought if we tried to come into an ocean front motel at the last minute they would take advantage of us and over-charge us. But, apparently not true; you get a better deal to wait and walk in at 7:00p.m. So we swallowed our disappointment and decided it was a lesson learned in many ways. Before we got into our room, we called Kayak and complained of the cost though. They said the difference in cost was not to have been disclosed to us! Kayak must've called the desk clerk because she came running out to our car to tell us she wanted to change us to ocean front room because of our disappointment. She said she wanted to make us happy with the upgrade. We took the upgrade gladly. Like I said, lesson learned. The room was comfortable enough,
though. The breakfast was full of carbohydrates (no protein --like eggs) but we were pleased to have a filling breakfast none-the-less.

Room Tip: Rooms on the top are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Karen1068
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oceanisleinn, Social Media Director at Ocean Isle Inn, responded to this reviewResponded May 28, 2013

Dear Guest

Thank you for sharing your comments about your recent stay at our property. We are saddened to hear that your interaction with our clerk was less than stellar. Please accept our apology. Our goal is to be professional and courteous at all times with our guests. As for the rate you received when booking online, we always encourage travelers to contact the hotel directly for the best available rate, as we have no control over what third party online vendors charge. Still, we were happy to have had the availability and local empowerment to upgrade you to an Oceanfront room at no additional charge. Please by assured that this matter has been addressed by management. We do hope you'll give us the opportunity to be of service to you in the future and demonstrate hospitality.

Kind regards,

Tracy A. Spencer
Social Media Director
The Ocean Isle Inn Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (761)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

564 - 570 of 761 reviews

Reviewed May 18, 2013

We have spent numerous summer vacations for 15 years with extended family members but always stayed at an ocean front beach property. Now that everyone is grown and live in other parts of the world, we went alone for a quick two-day memory trip. We chose the Ocean Isle Inn for our nights and were certainly impressed. For starters it is so interesting to be on the island in May rather than the heated summer vacation days.

The Inn was very clean and tidy. We reserved a king-sized ocean view room that sported a balcony overlooking the pool and a backdrop of the ocean, all bright and glittery as we'd remembered. We liked the tile floors in the rooms, the inviting conference room for their complementary breakfasts, their white pillows and bedspreads. We especially like the cleanliness of the balcony chairs as that is not usually what we find.

The indoor and outdoor pools were totally clean and the hot tub by the inside pool was actually hot. We were very impressed.

Room Tip: The ocean view is wonderful but the ocean is wonderful so no matter where you stay, the ocean is onl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank janniebabe1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oceanisleinn, Social Media Director at Ocean Isle Inn, responded to this reviewResponded May 21, 2013

Dear Guest

Thank you so much for kind comments about your recent stay at our property. Our entire staff strives to make sure that our property is well maintained, clean and comfortable. Its rewarding for us to know that you enjoyed your time with us and found our hotel to be to your liking. We look forward to having you with us again during your next visit to Ocean Isle Beach.

Kind regards,

Tracy A. Spencer
Social Media Director
The Ocean Isle Inn Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2013

Cute little oceanfront Inn. Quaint, clean, comfortable rooms. Perfect way to relax and unwind before and after a long day of deep sea fishing. Hotel staff was very helpful and accommodating. Oceanview rooms have balconies and unobstructed views. Has pools (indoor and outdoor). Located right on the ocean.

Room Tip: Ask for an oceanview room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SweetPea2bk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oceanisleinn, Social Media Director at Ocean Isle Inn, responded to this reviewResponded May 8, 2013

Dear Guest
Thank you so much for offering us and our readers your positive comments about your recent stay with us. We are happy know that you had a relaxing time and found our inn to be "quaint, clean and comfortable." Indeed, we do offer a relaxing and friendly atmosphere after a long day of fishing and the views from our oceanfront balconies can't be beat. We look forward to having you stay wish us again during your next visit to Ocean Isle Beach.

Kind regards,

Tracy A. Spencer
The Ocean Isle Inn Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 28, 2013

Lovely place to stay. Oceanside room with a great view. Awesome venue for the wedding we attended! Room was clean and the beds were very comfortable!! Great place for Non smokers as managment is serious about its no smoking policy in the rooms and common areas. Very nice pools indoor and outdoor. Beach access was convienent!
Wifi was spotty and we had no access after 11pm..No one in the office answered the phone when we were ready to do early checkout at 5 am-we just used the key drop box on the way out.
Great value and An Awesome location for a wedding!

Room Tip: Choose beachside. Ask for a room away from the pool if you like a quiet room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Arlene J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oceanisleinn, social media director at Ocean Isle Inn, responded to this reviewResponded April 29, 2013

Dear Guest

Thank you so much for sharing your comments about your recent stay with us. We are delighted to know that you enjoyed your time with us and the wedding we hosted for your loved ones. Beach Weddings are quite popular at our oceanfront facility and we strive to make each one as perfect and memorable as it can be for all involved. We do apologize for any inconvenience you may have experienced with our free WIFI. We are working with our service provider to improve our WIFI and expand our bandwidth for our guests. We are sorry that our night attendant missed you during check out. Our night attendants do perform routine safety checks around our property and are away from the desk at times. We are glad you located the key drop box by the front door of our office just for such circumstances.

Once again, we're happy to know that you had an enjoyable time while attending the wedding at our property. We look forward to having you with us again during your next visit to Ocean Isle Beach.

Kind regards,

Tracy A. Spencer
Social Media Director
The Ocean Isle Inn Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 2, 2013

Ocean Isle Inn is located on a nice quiet and friendly beach in N.C. Hotel staff friendly and location is easy to find and access. Rooms are ample and every room has an ocean view and balcony. Reasonable rates off season but pricey otherwise and a microwave and coffee pot just won't cut it for anyone, especially families staying for any length over 1 night. Area is very limited when it comes to dining out so this may be a good base to stay just drive to find a decent place to eat. Internet access, nice pool and okay free breakfast each morning.

Room Tip: All rooms are good, great pool and family friendly. The free breakfast is ok but BETTER than what y...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Big D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oceanisleinn, Social Media Director at Ocean Isle Inn, responded to this reviewResponded April 4, 2013

Dear Guest

Thank you for taking time to give us your feedback about your recent stay with us. We value each guests opinion on the service they received while staying with us. We are happy to know that you found our property to be clean and our staff friendly. Each of our rooms are equipped with a coffee maker, refrigerator, and microwave, suitable for preparing in-room snacks and refreshments. There are also a number of restaurants within 5-10 minutes of our hotel, some within walking distance, that offer a great variety of menu options. Any of our staff members would have been more than happy to help you find the perfect dining establishment. Still, we are happy that you enjoyed your time with us and we will pass along your kind words to our staff. We look forward to having you with us again during your next visit to Ocean Isle Beach.

Kind regards,

Tracy A. Spencer
Social Media Director
The Ocean Isle Inn Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 20, 2013

Just visited Ocean Isle NC with my three sisters, an annual gathering generally around St. Patrick's Day! We had a lovely weekend of warmish weather and sun plus a great hotel stay at the Ocean Isle Inn. A day trip to Southport was remarkably relaxing for a day spent walking and shopping and lunch was a highlight at Fishy Fishy on the water. Lovely town with interesting history and views to die for. We strolled, talked, laughed, ate, relished each others time and were grateful that we were lucky enough to be together and able to enjoy such bounty!

Room Tip: Choose Oceanfront otherwise you are looking over a street which I'm sure is busy in summer.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lasheha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oceanisleinn, Social Media Director at Ocean Isle Inn, responded to this reviewResponded March 22, 2013

Dear Guest

Thank you for choosing the Ocean Isle Inn as your gathering place for you and your sisters. We are delighted to know that you all enjoyed your time with us and we're pleased to be a part of such a reunion. Brunswick County has numerous beaches and small villages, each having a unique charm about them. Southport is especially nice, with its numerous shops and waterfront views. We hope to be of service to you and your sisters during your next excursion to the Ocean Isle area.

Kind regards

Tracy A. Spencer
Social Media Director
The Ocean Isle Inn Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 19, 2013

What a great time we had this weekend! Ocean Isle Beach is a cozy little seaside area in North Carolina. Our hotel, Ocean Isle Inn, was the best value we have experienced in years! We had ocean front rooms-spacious, adjoining, with microwave, refrigerator, TV, balcony, coffee maker with tea, sugar etc-and queen beds-fit for queens! Comfy, soft sheets and pillows; table and chairs, multiple types of lighting! Although it was a little too cool to use the outside pool, the area was a lovely setting for reading, and snoozing. The heated pool and hot tub fulfilled our aquatic hopes, while the long, deep beach was sufficient for sunrise strolls and shell searching. The complimentary breakfast, helpful front desk staff, and perfect location to several seaside towns, places this getaway at the top of our "Hope to Return Soon" list. This is a real GEM!

Room Tip: Ocean front rooms provide the best "'seaside experience" with the breezes, sounds and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank babspeak1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oceanisleinn, Social Media Director at Ocean Isle Inn, responded to this reviewResponded March 20, 2013

Dear Guest

Thank you so much for your kind words about our property and our staff. It is always rewarding to know that a guest has received the level of service they expect. Our entire staff works diligently to assure that our guests have the stay they desire. We are pleased that you found our place to be a real "gem" and are particularly honored to be included on your "Hope to return soon" list. We look forward to giving you the royal treatment during your next visit to Ocean Isle Beach.

Kind regards,

Tracy A. Spencer
Social Media Director
The Ocean Isle Inn Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ocean Isle Beach
0.1 mi away
Islander Inn
Islander Inn
#3 of 3 in Ocean Isle Beach
530 reviews
15.8 mi away
Best Western Ocean Sands Beach Resort
Best Western Ocean Sands Beach R...
#4 of 52 in North Myrtle Beach
1,670 reviews
11.8 mi away
The Prince Resort
The Prince Resort
#3 of 52 in North Myrtle Beach
1,270 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.6 mi away
Rodeway Inn & Suites
Rodeway Inn & Suites
#3 of 3 in Shallotte
66 reviews
6.4 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#2 of 3 in Shallotte
80 reviews
13.9 mi away
Avista Resort
Avista Resort
#2 of 52 in North Myrtle Beach
2,354 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ocean Isle Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ocean Isle Inn

Address: 37 W First St, Ocean Isle Beach, NC 28469-7508
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > Ocean Isle Beach
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Ocean Isle Beach
Price Range: $69 - $222 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Ocean Isle Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the coast of southeastern North Carolina is the Ocean Isle Inn. An Oceanfront property which is the perfect oasis for leisure travel, beach weddings, golf outings, family reunions or even business. Enjoy our beaches and all the amenities ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Hotwire, Travelocity and Orbitz so you can book your Ocean Isle Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ocean Isle Hotel Ocean Isle Beach
Hotel Ocean Isle

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing