We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great coffee and friendly service always!”
Review of Drift

Drift
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $12
Cuisines: Cafe, Wine Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast
Description: Established in 2014 to bring quality coffee, small kitchen meals, real fruit smoothies, organic baked goods completed by people with a passion for serving.
Ocean Isle Beach
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great coffee and friendly service always!”
Reviewed July 15, 2014

Loved the iced coffee and teas. Great atmosphere and friendly service. Very knowledgeable of their products. Will continue to go there.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Kagner4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

110 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    75
    26
    7
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cleveland, Ohio
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Finally, upscale coffee on the island”
Reviewed July 5, 2014 via mobile

I was so excited to find a funky REAL coffee source now opened on the island.

The place has a very cool San Francisco coffee shop vibe. All the woodwork in the place-- counters, railings, table & seat tops-- was crafted from reclaimed wood by the owners, two 20-something formers surfboard champs

This review reflects a week's worth of visits, during which I tried most of my faves. Both hot and cold espresso drinks were properly pulled and poured every time. When it came time for lattes, they offered multiple non-dairy alternatives, soy and almond

The bakery/cafe selection is simple. The locally made granola bars were great (vegan) and my personal fave.

Any biz like this has only five months to succeed before the off season. I hope they make it. I will be back next year!

Helpful?
1 Thank TheHappinessGuy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Virginia
Level 5 Contributor
90 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Awesome New Place With AWESOME Coffee!”
Reviewed July 2, 2014

We saw a sign for Drift on our first day in Ocean Isle. We had not heard of it, but thought that we would give it a chance as normally we drive across the bridge to get coffee daily. Wow! I am so glad that we gave this place a try. The interior of Drift is really laid back, simple, and relaxing. The coffee is fresh and full of taste. We ended up splitting our mornings between coffee at Drift and our normal stop. I highly recommend getting an iced latte as that was my favorite drink I ordered. They also offer a variety of yummy smoothies and baked goods. Don't miss this place!

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Hokiegirl10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burlington, North Carolina
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great new place to go!”
Reviewed June 28, 2014

Really happy to find this locally owned start-up when I wanted an afternoon espresso, but we also ate lunch there when a nearby restaurant was too crowded. The coffee is perfect and I knew I would be happy, but I was nervous about our tweens and teens liking the sandwiches. They loved them--as did the adults! The menu is simple, but I bet we could get them to expand their offerings if we send all our friends to see them! We will be back on our next trip to the island.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank R D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“New place with amazing coffee.”
Reviewed June 22, 2014 via mobile

I had a blueberry muffin and it was delicious. I usually don't like blueberry muffins unless I make them. This was the exception. It was very fresh and moist and filled with blueberries. They don't have a big selection of pasteries but oh the coffee. There is a long list of coffees. And also smoothies. You can tell they are serious about their coffee. I only had a regular coffee but it was amazingly smooth, rich, and flavorful. If I am in ocean isle again I will stop by and try there smoothies and different coffees. I highly recommend this place.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank LAS3760
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Drift also viewed

Ocean Isle Beach, NC
Ocean Isle Beach, NC
 
Ocean Isle Beach, NC
Ocean Isle Beach, NC
 

Been to Drift? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing