We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice alternative to fried food”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Pogies Waterfront Bar and Grill - CLOSED

Pogies Waterfront Bar and Grill
Cuisines: American, Bar, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Scenic view, Bar scene, Kids, Families with children, Local cuisine, Large groups
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Penn Run
Level Contributor
109 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 131 helpful votes
“Nice alternative to fried food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 26, 2013

This was our first time at Pogies and we really enjoyed it. First of all, it has a great location especially at sunset. The menu is limited and the prices are typical for a beach restaurant. Unlike several other close-by restaurants, fried food is the exception here, not the norm. Our server Shannon (?) was a real charmer as well as extremely efficient. If nothing else, go there and have one of their home made pimento cheese dishes. I’m not really a pimento fan, but I wanted so badly to lick the plate!! They have a nice bar area separate from the dining room, and live music on certain days. If you don’t mind eating early (5:00-6:00), I recommend going then. During the summer, if you arrive after 6:30 then there will be a line. Parking is always a problem no matter when you arrive. I wish we hadn’t waited so long to try this place.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank katmanchico
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

254 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    83
    71
    55
    26
    19
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Charlotte
Level Contributor
92 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Great views and live music if you plan ahead...”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 18, 2013

The upper deck offers limited seating and live music. The location of the restaurant provides beautiful views particularly at sunset. The food was better than we expected, but not too notch. We would grab a bite there again and plan ahead to be seated on the upper outside deck.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank wendrawoman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Nice outdoor dining - food not great.”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 14, 2013

Dined outdoors upstairs on the waterfront. The deck was nice, good lighting, and great music. Service was good - waiter was attentive, explained specials and offered recommendations. The food was not great. I had the red snapper special which came with a parsley cream sauce, "sauteed" vegetables, and rice. The vegetables were tough, the rice bland and the fish overcooked. My dining companion had the shrimp and grits with tasso ham which was good, but same problem with vegetables. The best thing we had was the Pogy Balls appetizer which are basically breaded pimento cheese bites. Wine options are cheap grocery store wines, but had some nice beers.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Gina V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Falls Church, Virginia, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Don't go anywhere else on ocean isle”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 13, 2013 via mobile

Don't waste your time with the mackeral or Sharkey place... This place has MUCH better food and much better service. Top deck at sunset is incredible!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Robyn C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NC
Level Contributor
30 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great food! Great service! Great views! Great fun!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 11, 2013

We have visited Pogies 3 times this summer and have had a great experience every time. It's awesome to have a new restaurant option on OIB and this one does not disappoint. We have enjoyed the food, found the service staff friendly, timely and prices reasonable. You can't beat the view from the rooftop deck and there is always great music entertainment. Would we recommend Pogies? ABSOLUTELY!!!!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank melbat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pogies Waterfront Bar and Grill also viewed

Ocean Isle Beach, NC
Ocean Isle Beach, NC
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing