We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice outdoor dining - food not great.”
Review of Pogies Waterfront Bar and Grill - CLOSED

Pogies Waterfront Bar and Grill
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Scenic view
Dining options: Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Nice outdoor dining - food not great.”
Reviewed August 14, 2013

Dined outdoors upstairs on the waterfront. The deck was nice, good lighting, and great music. Service was good - waiter was attentive, explained specials and offered recommendations. The food was not great. I had the red snapper special which came with a parsley cream sauce, "sauteed" vegetables, and rice. The vegetables were tough, the rice bland and the fish overcooked. My dining companion had the shrimp and grits with tasso ham which was good, but same problem with vegetables. The best thing we had was the Pogy Balls appetizer which are basically breaded pimento cheese bites. Wine options are cheap grocery store wines, but had some nice beers.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Gina V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

254 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    83
    71
    55
    26
    19
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Falls Church, Virginia, United States
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Don't go anywhere else on ocean isle”
Reviewed August 13, 2013 via mobile

Don't waste your time with the mackeral or Sharkey place... This place has MUCH better food and much better service. Top deck at sunset is incredible!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Robyn C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NC
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great food! Great service! Great views! Great fun!”
Reviewed August 11, 2013

We have visited Pogies 3 times this summer and have had a great experience every time. It's awesome to have a new restaurant option on OIB and this one does not disappoint. We have enjoyed the food, found the service staff friendly, timely and prices reasonable. You can't beat the view from the rooftop deck and there is always great music entertainment. Would we recommend Pogies? ABSOLUTELY!!!!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank melbat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
moneta, VA
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“trip to Pogies for dinner”
Reviewed August 7, 2013

Excellent service and food. Atmosphere great also. We would go back for sure. Our waitress was very friendly, attentive and accommodating to our every need.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank 819Thea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shelby, North Carolina
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great food, service, view, and atmosphere!”
Reviewed July 31, 2013

We sat in the gazebo and had a great dinner! They open at 5pm. Shrimp tacos were delish! Good kids menu. Absolutely awesome!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Vanhoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pogies Waterfront Bar and Grill also viewed

 
Ocean Isle Beach, NC
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing