We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Nice”
Review of Islander Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Islander Inn
Cleveland, Ohio
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Very Nice”
Reviewed June 15, 2010

We are two sisters from Ohio. We enjoyed our stay very much at the Islander Inn. The room was very nice and the staff was very friendly and helpful. But we do think the place has some room for improvements. The pool area was not lite up at night for evening swims. The walk way to the beach had no lighting on it either. We think the lighting would really make it look alot nicer since all the other hotels had their area lite up in the evening hrs. The only other thing was there was no hot water in the shower.

  • Stayed June 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Carolr43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

498 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    219
    167
    68
    29
    15
See reviews for
178
202
18
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (153)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sykesville, Maryland
Level Contributor
44 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed June 7, 2010

You can't beat the beautiful view of the ocean from your balcony and the sunrise is absolutely breathtaking in the mornings. I thought the room itself was quite spacious and clean; however, the closet area was a disappointment -- way too small :( The bed was fairly comfortable and the large flat screen TV in the room was a nice surprise. It looks like the Islander Inn definitely received a few upgrades over the past couple of years!! The only advice I would give about staying at this hotel is to pack light and bring a set of earplugs -- the walls appear to be very thin. Overall, I thought this hotel was very nice and the view was outstanding. I will definitely be a repeat customer!

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank oibwed2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ocean Isle Beach, North Carolina
Level Contributor
42 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed June 3, 2010

My husband and I stayed at The Islander in late May '10 while looking for a place to buy in Ocean Isle Beach. We couldn't have asked for a more appropriate place to lodge for a week.

Our spacious AC-ed room in building #4 had a small kitchenette featuring a sink, fridge, microwave, and coffee maker. No need to bring your hair dryer - there's one in the bathroom. Ironing board with iron are stored in the armoire. Nice flat screen TV on the wall, and free wifi which was a cinch to connect to. Each building has an elevator and free parking underneath.

Our room directly overlooked the pristine beach and we left the balcony door open every night so we could fall asleep to the sounds of the waves. While there we witnessed one sunrise beach wedding and three afternoon weddings.

Located not far from the local pier, my husband was able to fish as much as he wanted while I took advantage of the beach and ocean. Myrtle Beach is just a 40 minute drive away and Pawley Island is about an hour. We also visited nearby Sunset Beach, Holden Beach, and Calabash.

Included on our list of things to bring for our room were plastic plates, cups, tableware, micro-cookware, beach towels and chairs. Our room lacked clothes hangers, so we brought up some from our vehicle. While there, we bought food for the local cats who live in the dunes. They love leftovers, too.

The Islander is the perfect spot to relax and enjoy.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank toto24522
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana
1 review
Reviewed June 2, 2010

I stayed at the hotel this past Memorial Day weekend as was very disappointed with the lack of concern for guests needing peace an quiet and clean pool to relax in. They were noising constructing the tiki hut which was supposed to have been open since May 8th, according to their web site. I was double charged for my room in error and my bank funds were unavailable to me during my stay which made relaxing even more difficult, and prevented me from enjoying other sites and parts of the area.. The manager was constantly unavailble, off on other properties or overseeing a wedding and rude when talking to me on the phone.. They didnt even offer to refund or make up for the poor service, or inconvience with the exception of a plastic water bottle. The breaskfast was only very dry cereal, kiddy yogurt, and waffles, no fresh fruit as was expected. The bathroom did not have a working fan, and the water pressured varied.
I may return to Ocean Isle Beach but probably not to this hotel, especially with the current management, as it has left me very disappointed with a place that could have been a much better stay.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ALucid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
theIslanderInn, General Manager at Islander Inn, responded to this review, June 3, 2010
Thank you for taking the time to share your experiences with the hotel this past Memorial Day weekend. I am very sorry that I and the customer service was not what you felt it should be. I am a little confused as to your listing of the events, especially since it was I that helped remedy the error that you had with your bank.

Your bank held two pending charges for your room on the VISA debit card that we charged you once for. It was with my help, and several phone calls and faxes to them with the records that I provided them about our charges to you, to have your bank release those funds and correct their error. They then apologized to both of us for the error.

I am sorry that you now think the hotel for this responsible for your bank’s error, but it was with our help that you had your bank correct it with documents that we provided them for you. This resulted in the bank replacing those funds back in your account; in what you told me, was 6 hours. I apologized that afternoon, and do apologized again now for any inconvenience that your bank and the charge that we posted caused. Since this was a banking error, but you feel that it reflexed in poor customer service from the hotel, which helped you correct their error, I am truly sorry.

Our tiki hut, pool side bar, which was opened on May 8th, did receive a new palm thatch roof while you were down this past weekend, but the work was only done on Friday afternoon for two hours. This only consisted of a nail gun and no other tools. I am sorry for any inconvenience that this caused.

Our breakfast room consists of four different kinds of dried cereals, warm sausage biscuits, self-made waffles, apples, bananas, grapes, oatmeal, Danishes, Bagels, yogurt, & muffins. It we ran out of any of these items on the busy Memorial Day weekend I am deeply sorry.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newark, Delaware
2 reviews
Reviewed May 23, 2010

This hotel was very nice. We had a nice & relaxing time. Couldn't ask for a better vacation. Will definetely come back again....

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kdm2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
theIslanderInn, General Manager at Islander Inn, responded to this review, January 12, 2015
Dear Valued Guest,
We are so glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay at the Islander Inn. We do take great pride in providing excellent customer service and appreciate it so much when a guest takes notice of this. Glad to hear you enjoyed the view of our wonderful beach. Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at our Inn. Your kind words about our property and staff are very much appreciated. We look forward to seeing you again on a future stay!
Islander Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winterville, North Carolina
1 review
Reviewed May 18, 2010

The Inn was perfect for our weekend away-very quiet, comfortable, very clean, beach front and breakfast provided! We've stayed here before and plan to do so again soon.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank johnartois
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
theIslanderInn, Manager at Islander Inn, responded to this review, December 4, 2014
Dear Valued Guest,
We are so glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay at the Islander Inn. We do take great pride in providing excellent customer service and appreciate it so much when a guest takes notice of this. Glad to hear you enjoyed our wonderful beach. Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at our Inn. Your kind words about our property and staff are very much appreciated. We look forward to seeing you again on a future stay!
Islander Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stanfield, North Carolina
Level Contributor
34 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed May 18, 2010

My friend and I once again enjoyed our stay at the Islander Inn. This was my third or fourth visit over the course of 2 years. The beds were great and the pillows were comfortable....not hard as a rock as in some hotels where I've stayed.

The fitness center was not up to the standard of the rest of the hote.

We enjoyed the complimentary breakfast and found a wide variety of food. Loved the waffles. I'll keep coming back.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BonnieBelle1446
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ocean Isle Beach
0.1 mi away
Ocean Isle Inn
Ocean Isle Inn
#1 of 3 in Ocean Isle Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 683 reviews
5.6 mi away
Rodeway Inn & Suites
Rodeway Inn & Suites
#3 of 3 in Shallotte
3.5 of 5 bubbles 63 reviews
15.7 mi away
Best Western Ocean Sands Beach Resort
Best Western Ocean Sands Beach R...
#3 of 52 in North Myrtle Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,437 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.7 mi away
The Prince Resort
The Prince Resort
#4 of 52 in North Myrtle Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,030 reviews
6.5 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#2 of 3 in Shallotte
3.5 of 5 bubbles 75 reviews
11.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express N. Myrtle Beach-Little River
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Islander Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Islander Inn

Property: Islander Inn
Address: 57 W First St, Ocean Isle Beach, NC 28469-7508
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > Ocean Isle Beach
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Ocean Isle Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Islander Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
As an oceanfront hotel in Ocean Isle Beach, The Islander Inn overlooks one of the most pristine North Carolina beaches. The Islander Inn is conveniently located within walking distance to several restaurants, shops, an arcade, miniature golf, and museum. The Inn is also just a 10 minute drive from 25 world-class golf courses and hundreds of first-rate restaurants. Famous for its peace and quiet, this intimate oceanfront facility appeals to the young couple, vacationing family, golf enthusiast, or beachcomber who enjoys superior accommodations and breathtaking views of the most beautiful beach on the East Coast. All oceanfront rooms feature a 50in. plasma television. All rooms have a refrigerator, microwave, coffee maker, and telephone with voice mail capability. Room rates include daily housekeeping, deluxe continental breakfast, free WiFi, access to our outdoor oceanfront pool with Tiki bar, indoor heated pool and Jacuzzi and fitness room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Islander Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Islander Hotel Ocean Isle Beach
Islander Ocean Isle Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing