We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfection!”
Review of Islander Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Islander Inn
Reviewed August 12, 2009

From start to finish the Islander over delivered. The rooms were immaculate and very comfortable. The views were what I needed to unwind and recharge my batteries. Very relaxing.

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ErockTampa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
theIslanderInn, General Manager at Islander Inn, responded to this reviewResponded December 18, 2009

ErockTampa,

Thanks!!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (522)
There are newer reviews for Islander Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

483 - 489 of 522 reviews

Reviewed August 8, 2009

Excellent facilities and service for the price. Extremely curteous and friendly staff, everyone from the maids (we saw 3), to maintenance (repaired a towel rack), to the breakfast room, to the front desk staff. The rooms are clean and well maintained. The hallways and stairwells could use a little more attention, but were better than average for an ocean front hotel with sand and water issues. Excellent access to a very wide, clean, and scenic beach. Beautiful, unobstructed views from the the ocean front balconies. Ocean Isle is on the portion of the NC coast that runs east and west (not the typical north/south orientation). This provided beautiful sunrises and sunsets over the ocean. Similar facilities at other nearby beaches (Nags Head/Kitty Hawk, Wilmington area, Myrtle Beach area) charge $50 to $75 more per night for less attractive facilities.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank WGater
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
theIslanderInn, General Manager at Islander Inn, responded to this reviewResponded September 6, 2009

Glad to hear that you enjoyed Ocean Isle! We are also glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay at our Inn. Thank you very much for taking the time to share your feedback and comments. It was nice to have you stay with us and we hope the next time you think about a trip to the coast you think of Ocean Isle Beach, and we would love to have your back with us again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 3, 2009

The people working there were very accomadating. Awesome views from the ocean side rooms. Really good breakfast. The Islander Inn along with the Isles Restuarant is a great combination.

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank prwoffside
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
theIslanderInn, General Manager at Islander Inn, responded to this reviewResponded December 18, 2009

prwoffside,

Awe shucks! Thanks!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 2, 2009

The Islander is truly oceanfront with clean rooms and a very friendly staff. We (my senior parents and preschool child) had a great time simply enjoying the beach. Ocean Isle blends the natural beach with just enough other activities -- not too commercialized! This trip was our first trip to the Islander, but we will surely be back soon!

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank scshagging
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
theIslanderInn, General Manager at Islander Inn, responded to this reviewResponded September 6, 2009

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your feedback and comments. It was nice to have you stay with us and we hope the next time you time about a trip to the coast you think of Ocean Isle Beach, and we would love to have your back with us again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 18, 2009

Paid $125 a night for ocean front room. Pros: Very Basic, rooms were clean, oceanfront, every staff member I met greated me, nice helpful staff when I needed someone, fairly clean beach, and quiet overall. Close to mini golf, ice cream and local food places. Breakfast was very good. Solid offerings for every type of breakfast you could want.

Cons: Much of this I attribute to being a beach hotel. There are things inherent to having a beach hotel. It gets worn down fast between the sand and salt air. carpets are either over shampooed or just old but the room felt clean. The hall ways leave little to be desired, very stained and didnt care for all the little dogs alowed in the rooms. (Never understood taking a dog on vacation.) The worst was the first night, my son and I checked out the pools, outdoor pool fine, just sandy, but it is a beachfront pool. However the hot tub water looked gray /green and the walls were gray stained making it look like a bubbling sesspool. The next day I walked thru the indoor pool and spa room and it looked cleaner but I didnt didnt go in.

Overall, we didnt spend much time in the room except to sleep and only saw the halls breifly so I would say our stay was positive. Would consider staying again.

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank theresar2004
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
theIslanderInn, General Manager at Islander Inn, responded to this reviewResponded July 29, 2009

Thanks for your comments and feedback. From your suggestions and thoughts we do better ourself. We only have a limited amount of pet friendly rooms, and in a building by themselves. We understand that some folks don’t have the option, or don’t want to leave their furry family members behind. So we do offer a few rooms for those guest that might want them.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 17, 2009

My husband and grandchildren arrived July 13th to an oceanfront room, with a large flat screen LCD tv. Our room was clean and had nice amenities in the bathroom, which was clean also.
We always thought continental breakfast was coffee and a sweet roll; however, to be included in the rate, it was great!!! There was coffee, orange and apple juice, fresh fruit, packaged sausage, egg, and cheese biscuits, sausage biscuits, instant oatmeal, tea bags, about 5 different cereals and all the condiments you need. There were also sweet rolls, mini bagels, English muffins, mini muffins, yogurt, and you could make your own waffles. Forrest was doing an excellent job, stocking the breakfast room and serving the front desk at the same time on one particular day......multitasking at its finest!!
The pool tech was also very knowledgable about the pool chemicals and PH levels. He did an excellent job vacuuming the pool with kids IN the pool and having to vacuum around them.
My only complaint was our rude hotel neighbors but the office staff was very apologetic and kind. We are raising three great kids and I hated to see that two of them were subjected to such loud, bullying language, and behavior (but they left).
The beach was not crowded and it was very relaxing to sit in the room or on the beach and listen to the ocean waves and watch the parasailing.
We even saw a beach wedding, what a beautiful wedding party!
We will definitely return.

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank tibetanpupsmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
theIslanderInn, General Manager at Islander Inn, responded to this reviewResponded July 29, 2009

Thank you very much for choosing that Islander Inn. We hope you visit again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 16, 2009

We were making plans for a summer vacation and had originally thought we would go to Atlantic Beach but couldn't find a hotel available. I am glad we didn't. I found Ocean Isle Beach and the Islander Inn. We were very pleased with everything about our stay. One disappointment when we first arrived was that they were booked and we wouldn't be able to get the room we had asked for on the 2nd floor although I thought that was a done deal when I made the reservation. The gentleman at the desk said that if we had any problems just call. The first night it was a bit noisy but apparently they left the next morning and it was fine after that. We enjoyed the fact that the beach was quiet, clean and relaxing. We stayed on the beach so didn't use the pools. The complimentary breakfast was a plus, many things to choose from. Some days it wasn't stocked as well but that was because early in the morning the desk person was doing double duty so that was understandable. The cleaning of the rooms was fine. The rooms were very nice with a large screen LCD TV which was a bigg plus with teenagers. It was very close to Myrtle Beach so that our teenage boys could get their fill of Planet Hollywood etc. We went to the Museum of Coastal Carolina and the Battleship North Carolina. We even drove to Pine Knolls to the aquarium and Fort Macon State Park. Highly recommend eating at the Giggling Mackeral. All in all it was a great trip and we will certainly be back again!!! Thanks Islander Inn.

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KYFamily93
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
theIslanderInn, General Manager at Islander Inn, responded to this reviewResponded July 29, 2009

Glad you enjoyed yourselves! Hope to have you again soon. We did have a issue getting you on the second floor and you said was your preference. We have a lot of long stay guests and requests. I promise that we try and meet each one of them, I am sorry we were unable to this time. On a better know I was pleased to hear you like the 50 inch plasmas in our oceanfront rooms. Currently we are only 50% installed, but hope to have the rest of the oceanfront rooms finished in September 09!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ocean Isle Beach
0.1 mi away
Ocean Isle Inn
Ocean Isle Inn
#1 of 3 in Ocean Isle Beach
735 reviews
5.6 mi away
Rodeway Inn & Suites
Rodeway Inn & Suites
#3 of 3 in Shallotte
64 reviews
11.7 mi away
The Prince Resort
The Prince Resort
#5 of 52 in North Myrtle Beach
1,181 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.7 mi away
Best Western Ocean Sands Beach Resort
Best Western Ocean Sands Beach R...
#3 of 52 in North Myrtle Beach
1,573 reviews
7.3 mi away
Days Inn Shallotte
Days Inn Shallotte
#1 of 3 in Shallotte
452 reviews
6.5 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#2 of 3 in Shallotte
79 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Islander Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Islander Inn

Address: 57 W First St, Ocean Isle Beach, NC 28469-7508
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > Ocean Isle Beach
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Ocean Isle Beach
Price Range: $69 - $153 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Islander Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
As an oceanfront hotel in Ocean Isle Beach, The Islander Inn overlooks one of the most pristine North Carolina beaches. The Islander Inn is conveniently located within walking distance to several restaurants, shops, an arcade, miniature golf, and museum. The Inn is also just a 10 minute drive from 25 world-class golf courses and hundreds of first-rate restaurants. Famous for its peace and quiet, this intimate oceanfront facility appeals to the young couple, vacationing family, golf enthusiast, or beachcomber who enjoys superior accommodations and breathtaking views of the most beautiful beach on the East Coast. All oceanfront rooms feature a 50in. plasma television. All rooms have a refrigerator, microwave, coffee maker, and telephone with voice mail capability. Room rates include daily housekeeping, deluxe continental breakfast, free WiFi, access to our outdoor oceanfront pool with Tiki bar, indoor heated pool and Jacuzzi and fitness room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and getaroom.com so you can book your Islander Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Islander Hotel Ocean Isle Beach
Islander Ocean Isle Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing