We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Quiet, Peaceful, Relaxing Stay”
Review of Islander Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Islander Inn
1 review
“Great Quiet, Peaceful, Relaxing Stay”
Reviewed November 17, 2013

This Hotel along with the Beach is Beautiful. The quaint location makes it feel like you have the beach to yourself, unlike MB where high rise hotels take away from the size of the beach. The location of city is near Calabash, Myrtle Beach, And Wilmington. Quality of hotel is great, only can is long walking distances taking luggage to room because of only one elvavator, but that can easily be overlooked because of this amazing hotel!!!!!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DukeFan2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
theIslanderInn, Manager at Islander Inn, responded to this review, November 20, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,
We are so pleased that you have enjoyed your stay with us the Islander Inn and sincerely value repeat customers such as yourself.We are happy to hear that your experience was wonderful and that you enjoyed our "Amazing Hotel".We would like to thank you so much for taking the time to write a review on our behalf. Your kind words about our property and staff are very much appreciated. Again, we look forward to seeing you again on your next trip to Ocean Isle and the Islander Inn.
Warmest Regards,
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

513 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    220
    178
    71
    29
    15
See reviews for
187
205
18
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (159)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Martinsville, Virginia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed November 13, 2013 via mobile

My mother and I arrived and were told we had to wait til exactly 3pm to check in. Getting the luggage to your room thru breezeway door after door was rediculous. The one elevator is hot and smelly and it does not go to your hallway. It starts out in a area where water floods the floor. then You have to go thru several doors to get to your room. The stairways were filthy. Dead bugs in the windows. Smelly and badly stained stairways. The pool was cleaned twice in the 5 days we were there. The deck of pool had spilt drinks and food on it the whole time. It was never cleaned. The lounge chairs were stained and nasty. There was no ice. The machine made very little so we had to go out and buy ice 3 of the 5 days we were there. Complaining did no good. We were very disappointed. We read their Facebook page and nothing but compliments. They must delete all bad comments.

Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank R M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
theIslanderInn, Manager at Islander Inn, responded to this review, November 20, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,
We are unhappy to hear that your stay with us was not what you expected it to be at the Islander Inn and sincerely value customers such as yourself.Our check in time is at 3:00pm,however if the room is ready we will let you in a little sooner.As far as the pool being cleaned twice in 5 days i feel that you may have been mistaken as we have a pool cleaning service that comes every day at 7:15am.We do only have 1 elevator and we are sorry it was an inconvenience for you to get to your room. Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review on our behalf. Your words about our property and staff are very much appreciated. Again, we look forward to seeing you again on your next trip to Ocean Isle Beach!
Warmest Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, CA
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed November 11, 2013

There is not much to choose from, hotel-wise, in Ocean Isle Beach. This is probably why this hotel is so rundown. There is no incentive for these properties to upgrade their facilities, because they are all equally outdated. We left a night early for the Westin in Charlotte, because the Islander Inn is so grubby. The carpeting was all stained, the heat didn't work, the bath towels were old and worn, the furniture was really old and the bed had an old-style comforter. And what hotels have comforters these days? We used plastic bags to take it off upon check-in and placed it on the floor. The staff was completely uninspired. On the first day there, we got yelled at by a housekeeper when we walked into the closed breakfast room just to see what it was like. When we checked out early, the front desk agent never asked us why we were leaving. It is only proper protocol for them to ask the guest, "Was everything alright?" They obviously didn't care. The whole place is a hole-in-the-wall mom-and-pop operation. The only thing going for this hotel is its incredible beach front location. Going out on our balcony and enjoying the views were the only pleasant thing about this stay. I would say to avoid this hotel at all costs, but there is nothing in the area that is any better anyway. Maybe stay in Myrtle Beach?

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Michael_SD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
theIslanderInn, Manager at Islander Inn, responded to this review, November 20, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,
We are unhappy to hear that your experience not as enjoyable as you would have liked.In regards to the heater not working had we known we would have had it changed out right away as we have spare units here on the property.It is our policy to always ask our guests how thier stay was,you can be assured that the clerk who did'nt ask if everything was ok will be asked as to why they did'nt. We were glad that you got to enjoy your balcony and the view of our wonderful beach.Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review on our behalf. Your words about our property and staff are very much appreciated. Again, we look forward to seeing you again on your next trip to Ocean Isle and the Islander Inn.
Warmest Regards,
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bolivia, North Carolina
1 review
Reviewed November 10, 2013

My husband and I were able to enjoy a last minute reservation during the off season. We only stayed one night but our stay was perfect. The goal was to get away from the hustle and bustle of our hectic lives, and that we did. Our room was oceanfront, and even though the weather was chilly the door to the balcony stayed open so we could hear the waves crashing outside. When we got up the next morning I had a bowl of hot oatmeal and he enjoined his sausage biscuit just like we do at home. I recommend this hotel to anyone wanting to "getaway" from a regular schedule and enjoy the beach year-round.

Room Tip: No rooms offer room service, there is no restaurant but the breakfast is very suitable. Oceanfront...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brittany S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
theIslanderInn, Manager at Islander Inn, responded to this review, November 20, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,
We are so pleased that you have enjoyed your stay with us the Islander Inn and sincerely value customers such as yourself.We are happy to hear that your experience was wonderful.Glad to hear that you enjoyed our continental breakfast.We would like to thank you so much for taking the time to write a review on our behalf. Your kind words about our property and staff are very much appreciated. Again, we look forward to seeing you again on your next trip to Ocean Isle and the Islander Inn.
Warmest Regards,
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fayetteville, North Carolina
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 26, 2013

Got there 5pm with a 78 yr old with knee replacements, Me 2 hip replacements. Did not tell us first of all that there was 1 elevator so I had to drag up 4 times suitcases 60 stairs. Put heat on in room such an awful smell threw-up. they said first of the season heat... Ummmm hello who's paying for this stinky room. They told me to go out and about for awhile to have the heater burn off .. Burn off What (mold) Then NO Wi-Fi Called them three times They told me they have no control of the wi fi they advertise having, and that it must be my computer, So I went down the street and sat next to another hotel in my car freezing to finish my work The breakfast was, well make your own waffle, pre made store bought wrapped biscuits,, I read always the reviews before I make reservations, they were all good. I would never recommend this hotel. Oh did I fail to mention no hot water, so I asked them for a refund for the second night because we were not staying, basically said No, So I called my credit card company (USAA) of course no problem says USAA you will be credited for both nights.. I have never written a bad review, so I'm not a habitual complainer, I just want what I pay for.

Room Tip: Go to Days inn in Shallote NC
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sandibyrnes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
theIslanderInn, Manager at Islander Inn, responded to this review, November 9, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,
We are unhappy to hear that your stay with us was not what you expected it to be at the Islander Inn and sincerely value customers such as yourself. Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review on our behalf. Your words about our property and staff are very much appreciated.In regards to the heater, the smell would have been where the last people who used that room had the unit on cold and when you switch it over to hot it will burn off some excess "lint",not "mold".The Wi Fi was working in the building as you told us that you could get it on another device but not your laptop.You were told that you were more than welcome to use our breakfast room to do your work on your laptop rather than having to sit in your car in the cold.As far as i recall you were in building 6,we did have a small issue with the water in building 2 but that was fixed within 10 mins of our finding out.I do not recall there being any issue with the hot water in building 6. Again, we look forward to seeing you again on your next trip to Ocean Isle Beach!
Warmest Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Floyd, Virginia
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed October 13, 2013

This was my 2nd stay at this hotel. Like my initial visit, I was pleased with the property. The ocean front room we had was very clean and comfortable. It was great having a balcony to sit on. All of the employees that I came in contact with were friendly and efficient. Breakfast was adequate, there were bananas and apples and yogurt as well as sausage biscuits and waffles.
Two areas that needed addressed- the foyer by the elevator in the parking area was filthy, maybe the staff never entered that way? Also, both evenings that we were there I used the indoor pool (which was at a lovely temp.) and there were never clean towels available.
I would certainly stay there again. Prices were good and staff was helpful.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank annabellesma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
theIslanderInn, Manager at Islander Inn, responded to this review, October 15, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,
We are so pleased that you have enjoyed your stay with us at the Islander Inn and sincerely value customers such as yourself. We were glad you were able to relax and enjoy your vacation with us.We are very pleased that you enjoyed your ocean front room with a balcony with a great view of our wonderfull beach,we also very much appreciate your comments about our Continental Breakfast.Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review on our behalf. Your kind words about our property and staff are very much appreciated. Again, we look forward to seeing you again on your next trip to Ocean Isle.
Warmest Regards,
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
China Grove, North Carolina, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 3, 2013

My husband & I stayed Sept 24-28 in an Ocean Front room. We found it very clean and well maintained. The king bed was extremely comfortable. The staff was inviting and helpful and the cleaning staff did an eaxcellent job. The continental breakfast had lots of choices and overall, we just had a great stay there. This was our first trip to OIB but we will definitely be back. We have stayed in several high-dollar hotels in years past and our stay at the Islander Inn was just as pleasant!!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michael S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
theIslanderInn, General Manager at Islander Inn, responded to this review, October 4, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,
We are so pleased that you have enjoyed your stay with us at the Islander Inn and sincerely value customers such as yourself. We were glad you were able to relax and enjoy your vacation with us.We are very pleased that you found our beds to be very comfortable and that you enjoyed our Continental Breakfast.Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review on our behalf. Your kind words about our property and staff are very much appreciated. Again, we look forward to seeing you again on your next trip to Ocean Isle.
Warmest Regards,
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ocean Isle Beach
0.1 mi away
Ocean Isle Inn
Ocean Isle Inn
#1 of 3 in Ocean Isle Beach
723 reviews
5.6 mi away
Rodeway Inn & Suites
Rodeway Inn & Suites
#3 of 3 in Shallotte
64 reviews
11.7 mi away
The Prince Resort
The Prince Resort
#5 of 52 in North Myrtle Beach
1,138 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.7 mi away
Best Western Ocean Sands Beach Resort
Best Western Ocean Sands Beach R...
#3 of 52 in North Myrtle Beach
1,545 reviews
7.3 mi away
Days Inn Shallotte
Days Inn Shallotte
#1 of 3 in Shallotte
436 reviews
6.5 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#2 of 3 in Shallotte
79 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Islander Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Islander Inn

Property: Islander Inn
Address: 57 W First St, Ocean Isle Beach, NC 28469-7508
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > Ocean Isle Beach
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Ocean Isle Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Islander Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
As an oceanfront hotel in Ocean Isle Beach, The Islander Inn overlooks one of the most pristine North Carolina beaches. The Islander Inn is conveniently located within walking distance to several restaurants, shops, an arcade, miniature golf, and museum. The Inn is also just a 10 minute drive from 25 world-class golf courses and hundreds of first-rate restaurants. Famous for its peace and quiet, this intimate oceanfront facility appeals to the young couple, vacationing family, golf enthusiast, or beachcomber who enjoys superior accommodations and breathtaking views of the most beautiful beach on the East Coast. All oceanfront rooms feature a 50in. plasma television. All rooms have a refrigerator, microwave, coffee maker, and telephone with voice mail capability. Room rates include daily housekeeping, deluxe continental breakfast, free WiFi, access to our outdoor oceanfront pool with Tiki bar, indoor heated pool and Jacuzzi and fitness room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and getaroom.com so you can book your Islander Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Islander Hotel Ocean Isle Beach
Islander Ocean Isle Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing