We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Ocean Isle Inn(Ocean Isle Beach)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 07/25
$199
$179
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Winds Resort Beach Club(Ocean Isle Beach)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 07/29
Book now, pay at stay
$209
$196
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$81
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Comfort Inn(Shallotte)
$120
$110
ComfortInn
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Free cancellation until 07/28
Book now, pay at stay
$99
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Free cancellation until 07/27
$168
$163
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$93
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Sleep Inn at Harbour View(Little River)(Great Value!)
$149
SleepInn
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$152
$127
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (558)
Filter reviews
558 results
Traveler rating
237
193
81
30
17
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
237
193
81
30
17
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssausage biscuitsocean frontcontinental breakfastoutdoor pooloceanfront roommyrtle beachoff seasonthe ritzbagelshot tubflat screen tvclean roomssmall fridgemake your own wafflesgreat oceangreat weekendbeautiful beach
Filter
Updating list...
362 - 367 of 558 reviews
Reviewed August 27, 2012

Ocean Isle Beach is a great family beach and the Islander Inn is a good place to experience it. It's right on the beach so the access is right from your room. Also at the hotel is a little pool which the kids enjoyed when they didn't want to deal with the sand and surf at the beach. OIB has spent lots of money on beach replenishment over the past 15 or 20 years so the beach is wide and not crowded. The Islander Inn rooms are comfortable but the mattress could have been a bit firmer. I like a good firm mattress, but my wife was happy, so I was happy! The Islander Inn is only a very short walk away from the OIB pier if you like to fish or putt putt golf, which the kids always enjoy. In years gone by there was a big water slide nearby also but that's gone now. You should enjoy the Islander Inn.

Room Tip: Try to get a beach view room.
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sam B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarnieWilliamson, General Manager at Islander Inn, responded to this reviewResponded August 29, 2012

Dear Valued Guest,
We are so delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay! Thank you so much for taking the time to share your experiences with other travelers. Your kind words about our property are very much appreciated. We look forward to the opportunity to see you again on a future visit to the Islander Inn!
Warmest Regards,
Marnie Williamson
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2012

This was mine and my husbands first time staying at Islander Inn and actually our first time at Ocean Isle Beach. Love the area and had a great stay at Islander Inn. The place was very clean and the staff was very courteous, friendly and helpful. Really enjoyed the tiki bar and the bartender Monica was great. We plan to go back next year and stay there again.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dianne D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarnieWilliamson, General Manager at Islander Inn, responded to this reviewResponded August 29, 2012

Dear Valued Guest,
We are so delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay! Thank you so much for taking the time to share your experiences with other travelers. Your kind words about our property are very much appreciated. We look forward to the opportunity to see you again on a future visit to the Islander Inn!
Warmest Regards,
Marnie Williamson
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2012

Great views of the ocean or sound. Ample parking under the hotel, beside the hotel or across the street. Even those with a boat and trailer have no troubles with parking. The location on the beach is great. Only two floors of rooms. Beach is therefore not crowded like at SC beaches where they pack vacationers into high rises. No high rises here, except one, very far away down the beach. The beach itself is also wide, soft sand. The staff was friendly and accommodating. The room attendants did a good job of cleaning and making the bed.

My only disappointments come from the mattress and breakfast. The bed mattress was too soft and did not provide good support. I woke up both mornings with a back ache.

The continental breakfast was the typical dry cereal, bagel, packaged muffins, and the ubiquitous thick waffle machine. I was disappointed with the lack of fresh fruit and the coffee machine. Rather than brewed coffee, the coffee machine only dispenses hot water which must add instant coffee as the water is being dispensed. Not good! This could be better.

Room Tip: Rooms are either ocean front or sound view. Ocean front rooms also have a balcony.
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TracyW610
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarnieWilliamson, General Manager at Islander Inn, responded to this reviewResponded August 29, 2012

Dear Valued Guest,
We are delighted that you took notice of our amazing ocean view, uncrowded strand and wonderful staff. However, we sincerely regret that our mattresses were too soft for your liking and that our breakfast was not to your satisfaction. We take feedback very seriously and will address any issues we may find. We truly hope you will consider giving us a second chance on a future visit to Ocean Isle Beach!
Warmest Regards,
Marnie Williamson
General Manager We hope to have the opportunity to see you again on a future visit to the Islander Inn!
Warmest Regards,
Marnie Williamson
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 18, 2012

Walk into the lobby and meet the most helpful, courteous and truly considerate staff any property could have. They always try to accommodate your requests, and they have!!! The oceanfront rooms with the balconies help you leave all your troubles and stress behind. Just listening to the waves rolling in puts your mind at ease. The Islander Inn is located right on the ocean, but the beach area is not overcrowded. While we were there, a couple got married, that says a lot in itself. Give it a try, you will be completed satisfied.

Room Tip: Ask for ocean front.
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kathleen D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarnieWilliamson, General Manager at Islander Inn, responded to this reviewResponded August 29, 2012

Dear Valued Guest,
We are so delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay! Thank you so much for taking the time to share your experiences with other travelers. Your kind words about our property are very much appreciated. We look forward to the opportunity to see you again on a future visit to the Islander Inn!
Warmest Regards,
Marnie Williamson
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 18, 2012

Husband and I spent 2 nights at the Islander Inn and were very impressed - it was just what we were looking for - very clean, quiet and right on the beach. What was especially nice was the outstanding view of the ocean and being maybe 300 yards from the beach, with no huge sand dunes in between. The bed was super comfortable and the large flat-screen TV was a bonus - though we didn't spend much time in our room - much too nice on the beach! We enjoyed the continental breakfast and while I prefer Greek yogurt, they did offer Activia which was fine. I didn't think it was an old fashioned "throwback to the 50's" type of hotel, at least I never stayed in anything like this when I was a kid back then vacationing with my parents! No, it isn't 5-star hotel but we wanted a quiet place away from the high rise hotels and crowds. Monday was a perfect beach day. A vendor on the beach was renting big blue umbrellas and 2 canvas sling chairs for $25 for the day. We both agreed it was the best money we spent on our mini-vacation and we actually felt like we were in a Corona commercial! Everyone we came in contact with was super friendly, especially the female bartender at the Tiki Bar. We hope to be able to go back to the Islander Inn again soon!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Trackgirl99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarnieWilliamson, General Manager at Islander Inn, responded to this reviewResponded August 29, 2012

Dear Valued Guest,
We are so delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay! Thank you so much for taking the time to share your experiences with other travelers. Your kind words about our property are very much appreciated. We look forward to the opportunity to see you again on a future visit to the Islander Inn!
Warmest Regards,
Marnie Williamson
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews