We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Love this place” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Islander Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Islander Inn
Piedmont of NC
Level Contributor
64 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Love this place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 17, 2012

2nd trip to Ocean Isle and have stayed at the Islander Inn both times. We ABSOLUTELY love it!!!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Elygirl777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarnieWilliamson, General Manager at Islander Inn, responded to this review, May 22, 2012
Dear Valued Guest,
We are so pleased that you have enjoyed your time at the Islander Inn and are eagerly awaiting your next visit! We sincerely value repeat customers such as yourself and thank you so much for taking the time to write a review on our behalf. Your kind words about our property and staff are very much appreciated. Again, we look forward to seeing you very soon!
Warmest Regards,
Marnie Williamson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

488 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    214
    164
    67
    28
    15
See reviews for
173
198
17
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (150)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Raleigh, North Carolina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 17, 2012

I want to begin by complimenting Starla and Jessica on their outstanding customer service during a trip that my sister and I took last week. We had booked our room a few weeks before coming to celebrate her graduating, the end of another semester for me, and the start of summer vacation. Upon making the reservation, we weren't planning on bringing my sister's dog, Cali, so we booked a regular room. When we arrived (and early at that), however, we had decided to bring her along and completely forgot to see if they had pet rooms available! Instead of handling our situation like it was an inconvenience, Starla and Jessica were completely accommodating and were even happy to show us pictures of their own pets! Not only did they help us check in early into a pet-friendly room and switch our reservation around, they were more than happy to help us with a late check-out which gave us the opportunity to enjoy more time on the beach. If you are thinking about staying on Ocean Isle Beach, the Islander Inn is definitely where you need to go! The staff is super friendly and will go out of their way to make sure that you have a great experience and will make you want to stay there over and over again! (PS- don't forget to get that bowl of dog treats!)

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Angela C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarnieWilliamson, General Manager at Islander Inn, responded to this review, May 19, 2012
Dear Valued Guest,
We are so delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay! Thank you so much for taking the time to share your experiences with other travelers. Your kind words about our property are very much appreciated. We do hope we have the opportunity to serve you again on a future visit to beautiful Ocean Isle Beach!
Warmest Regards,
Marnie Williamson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Floyd, Virginia
Level Contributor
30 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 15, 2012

I spent 2 nights at the Islander Inn last week. My family gave me an early Mother's Day gift, a trip all by myself!! I called several days before coming and was able to book an oceanfront king room. No problem with check-in. The room was on the second (top) floor and was clean and spacious. It had a small refrigerator and a microwave. The balcony was wonderful, with 2 chairs and a small table. All staff was pleasant and helpful. Breakfast was fine, with bagels and waffles and good coffee. The outdoor pool looked good but was still cold. The beach is steps from the inn and is wide and clean.
For the price, I thought it was a fantastic value and I will certainly be back. I might even bring my family with me next time : )

Room Tip: Oceanfront, on the top floor, if possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank annabellesma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarnieWilliamson, General Manager at Islander Inn, responded to this review, May 19, 2012
Dear Valued Guest,
We are so delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay! Thank you so much for taking the time to share your experiences with other travelers. Your kind words about our property are very much appreciated. We do hope we have the opportunity to serve you again on a future visit to beautiful Ocean Isle Beach!
Warmest Regards,
Marnie Williamson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level Contributor
29 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 15, 2012

If you are looking to reserve a block of rooms, save yourself the aggravation and book elsewhere. You can find better accommodations with more professional staff anywhere else for the same price or better. The Islander staff didn't book my block of rooms correctly when I called a month in advance to reserve the block. Carla is the only staff member who handles block scheduling. When the rest of my block of rooms was released prematurely without warning, I learned my reservation was not booked properly. After going around in many frustrating circles with Carla, who was completely unapologetic, unwilling to help rectify the situation, and would not give me a straight answer as to how the problem occurred, I asked for a manager. Marnie, the manager, was not available. I asked for the corporate phone number. Carla actually refused to give it to me. She was even sarcastic to me -- I am still astonished by how rudely I was treated. Then after we went around in more circles, she hung up on me! I was in tears after I got off the phone with her -- with a week to go before my wedding. These are the excuses I was given by Carla for the premature release of my block of rooms, none of which I was advised during my initial call to reserve the block:

1.) It is up to management's discretion to release a block of rooms at any point
2. A block of rooms automatically releases after 45 days
3. Since I wasn't having my wedding at the Islander, Carla didn't actually have to book a block of rooms for me at all. Apparently they only block for weddings they are doing and family reunions held there. Which I was not told prior to booking my block of rooms.

Even though I had given my phone number for a manager to contact me back, I never got a call from Marnie or anyone else in management. Not a surprise. I literally had to Google the Islander's corporate office and call management myself. I was told by corporate that I should have received a room agreement when I booked the block -- never got it. Carla never even mentioned such a thing. At least I received an apology from corporate and some form of accountability, but the damage had already been done. There I am, in tears, forcing my guests to make alternate accommodations one week before their arrival in town. As a customer service supervisor, I can tell when the service I'm receiving is the bare minimum or less. My experience at the Islander was definitely less than bare minimum. No compensation whatsoever for all of my stress and inconvenience. I felt like they could care less about me as a customer and the thousands of dollars worth of guests I was bringing with me.

Oh, and my experience with the place itself -- when we checked in, right there in the lobby one of the housekeeping staff was having a discussion with her manager about mistreatment. Not such a resort-style ambiance after all. Also, the Soundfront rooms give you a view of the road, not the Sound. You would need your binoculars to get a good view of the Sound from the Islander. For the price, you can definitely find better accommodations and more professional staff anywhere else. In retrospect, I wish I had never, ever tried booking a reservation at the Islander Inn. I feel literally traumatized after such a terrible experience marred what was supposed to be a very special trip.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank ms-gnomie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Staunton, Virginia, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 14, 2012

I just visited the Islander Inn for my best friend's wedding and had the trip of a lifetime. The hotel was fantastic and the staff was friendly and attentive. One particular event made me truly appreciate the entire experience: upon returning from the wedding reception, we needed to store the remainder of the wedding cake in a refrigerator, which ended up being no small task. The front desk attendant, Maria, was so friendly and helpful. She cleared out a space in their personal refrigerator and reorganized countless shelves of food and drink to make space for the cake. After we finally got it into the refrigerator, we tried tipping her and she said she was just happy to help and no tip was necessary. Me and my friend and his new bride were all so happy and thankful to her for helping us out. I recommend The Islander Inn to anyone looking for a fantastic beach getaway!

Room Tip: The views from either side are great
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jjfallon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarnieWilliamson, General Manager at Islander Inn, responded to this review, May 15, 2012
Dear Valued Guest,
We are so delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay! Thank you so much for taking the time to share your experiences with other travelers. Your kind words about our property are very much appreciated. We do hope we have the opportunity to serve you again on a future visit to beautiful Ocean Isle Beach!
Warmest Regards,
Marnie Williamson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Concord, North Carolina
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 14, 2012

We took our 3 dogs to this property for a quick weekend anniversary get away. When I tried to book online, it said they were sold out but I emailed the property and Carla helped manage to get me in. She was most helpful and it was super easy to reserve, check in and check out. No long waits and we got early check in on Friday with no problem. The best part is that they are very pet friendly. They do it right here...all pets stay in building 7 and that is really great organization. The other tenants had their dogs so the occassional barking wasn't a problem. I must say that I am a clean freak and normally wont take my flip flops off in hotel rooms but here it was so clean I didn't mind. There wasn't one hair to be found in the bathroom :) (my pet peeve) If you are someone who needs elaborate furnishings in a room this place is not for you so go stay at a ritz carlton if thats what you seek (no offense). The Islander has a fridge, wetbar, and a microwave which is all we needed. Again the room was no thrills but was super clean but the rate reflects that. I thought this was a super value for the amenities the hotel provided. Every morning there is a breakfast you can help yourself too. Fresh fruit, waffles, biscuits, juice, danish, etc. Indoor pool/hot tub and an outdoor pool. The beach location IS PERFECT. The beaches here are super clean and wide. It was jellyfish season when we visited and there were a few ones around but nothing like myrtle beach thank goodness. If you like to collect shells, this place is for you. Hundreds of intact shells laying around everywhere. We will definitly be back to this perfectly located and pet friendly hotel. It was a great stay! (Only drawback is it tended to be a little noisy late friday night when the late comers were arriving at midnight. But if that is my only complaint...geeze Im good to go)

Room Tip: Book early to get Oceanfront or email property directly. We only managed to get soundfront but it w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jmdoucette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarnieWilliamson, General Manager at Islander Inn, responded to this review, May 15, 2012
Dear Valued Guest,
We are so delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay! Thank you so much for taking the time to share your experiences with other travelers. Your kind words about our property are very much appreciated. We do hope we have the opportunity to serve you again on a future visit to beautiful Ocean Isle Beach!
Warmest Regards,
Marnie Williamson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lagrange, New York, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 10, 2012

I booked the Islander Inn for our wedding at the Isles Restaurant in the beginning of April. I blocked rooms for all our guests there also. I absolutely love the Islander Inn and cannot wait to return. Our guests even raved about what a perfect place it was. Carla and Jessica were amazing!! They are very friendly and accomodating. The hotel rooms are extremely clean, housekeeping does an excellent job and the rooms have the most amazing views. They have a fantastic breakfast area with complimentary coffee, muffins, bagels, fruit, etc.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kelly L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarnieWilliamson, General Manager at Islander Inn, responded to this review, May 15, 2012
Dear Valued Guest,
We are so delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay! Thank you so much for taking the time to share your experiences with other travelers. Your kind words about our property are very much appreciated. We do hope we have the opportunity to serve you again on a future visit to beautiful Ocean Isle Beach!
Warmest Regards,
Marnie Williamson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ocean Isle Beach
0.0 mi away
Ocean Isle Inn
Ocean Isle Inn
#1 of 3 in Ocean Isle Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 646 reviews
15.7 mi away
BEST WESTERN Ocean Sands Beach Resort
BEST WESTERN Ocean Sands Beach R...
#3 of 53 in North Myrtle Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,369 reviews
11.8 mi away
The Prince Resort
The Prince Resort
#5 of 53 in North Myrtle Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 956 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.5 mi away
Econo Lodge Inn & Suites
Econo Lodge Inn & Suites
#2 of 3 in Shallotte
3.5 of 5 bubbles 57 reviews
6.4 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#3 of 3 in Shallotte
3.5 of 5 bubbles 69 reviews
13.9 mi away
Avista Resort
Avista Resort
#4 of 53 in North Myrtle Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,140 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Islander Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Islander Inn

Property: Islander Inn
Address: 57 W First St, Ocean Isle Beach, NC 28469-7508
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > Ocean Isle Beach
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Ocean Isle Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Islander Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
As an oceanfront hotel in Ocean Isle Beach, The Islander Inn overlooks one of the most pristine North Carolina beaches. The Islander Inn is conveniently located within walking distance to several restaurants, shops, an arcade, miniature golf, and museum. The Inn is also just a 10 minute drive from 25 world-class golf courses and hundreds of first-rate restaurants. Famous for its peace and quiet, this intimate oceanfront facility appeals to the young couple, vacationing family, golf enthusiast, or beachcomber who enjoys superior accommodations and breathtaking views of the most beautiful beach on the East Coast. All oceanfront rooms feature a 50in. plasma television. All rooms have a refrigerator, microwave, coffee maker, and telephone with voice mail capability. Room rates include daily housekeeping, deluxe continental breakfast, free WiFi, access to our outdoor oceanfront pool with Tiki bar, indoor heated pool and Jacuzzi and fitness room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Agoda, Reservation Counter, Travelocity and Despegar.com so you can book your Islander Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Islander Hotel Ocean Isle Beach
Islander Ocean Isle Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing